Customer Reviews for

The Writing Circle

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Lyrical prose combines with witty dialogue to keep you reading from the first page. The Writing Circle follows a group of writers and their social and moral struggles over the integrity of their work and of their attractions. Love and friendship end up leading to both...
Lyrical prose combines with witty dialogue to keep you reading from the first page. The Writing Circle follows a group of writers and their social and moral struggles over the integrity of their work and of their attractions. Love and friendship end up leading to both happiness and disaster. Various pieces of writing presented by the different members create another textual layer, alongside the clever dialogue and an alternating point of view. The final events spiral out from one another, forcing us to examine the boundaries between life and art, as well as the consequences of ambition. I highly recommend this as a summer read.

posted by KLOKO on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

The Writing Circle presented very real people to me. They all had flaws and insecurities. They were not perfect people, acting perfectly. How they lives become related drives this story. This book is still making me think as I reflect on the characters or the storyline...
The Writing Circle presented very real people to me. They all had flaws and insecurities. They were not perfect people, acting perfectly. How they lives become related drives this story. This book is still making me think as I reflect on the characters or the storyline. Everyone in the book discussion I was in had very strong feelings and very different feelings about scenes and characters in the book. This all makes a good book.

posted by pen21 on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Writing Circle

    I had the opportunity to read this book as a part of B&N's First Look club. I had a difficult time getting into the story, and blamed it in part as I was having difficulty reading it on my iTouch, so it ultimately took me quite awhile to read. I did not enjoy the fast changes in the short peeks in each characters lives. About halfway through, I finally did get wrapped into the story, all the way to the shocking ending. It was, in the end for me, a satisfying read, and will recommend it for book clubs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great book for discussion

    I read this book for the First Look Book Club. The story is about the memebers if the Leopardi Circle, a writing group. At first I must say the book was not holding my interest. I couldn't seem to even care about the characters in the book. The short little peeks into the lives of the members didn't seem to be enough in the beginning of the book. As soon as I was learning about a character, the chapter would end and the story would move on to the next character. These characters are very dysfunctional and flawed. Somewhere after the middle of the book, the story drew me in and I read straight through to the shocking ending. If you can get passed the beginning and don't mind an ending that leaves you both speechless and bewildered, you will enjoy this book. I did wish the ending was a bit more wrapped up. I had many questions after the ending which would make this ideal for book club discussions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Great choice for your book club

    I was able to read this book as part of the First Look Book Club and by the end, I really enjoyed the story. I also appreciated how the book was set up, with each chapter concentrating on one main character. The Writing Circle would be an excellent pick for your own book club. There are so many focal characters that most in your club could identify with at least one of them. The story moves along slowly at the start of the book and it did take me several tries to get started, but the characters eventually drew me in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable read

    The Writing Circle was an enjoyable read. I couldn't put the book down. I wanted to find out what happened to each of the characters. The story pulled me in from the beginning. I thought the idea of the characters being a part of a writing group was a different idea and it worked. I did feel that the ending was a bit rushed and that some of the characters could have been a bit more fleshed out. All and all an interesting and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the characters

    I thought the book started out really slow. There are a lot of characters to introduce to the reader. I did find the character development the best aspect of this book. Whether you like or dislike the characters, I thought they were well written. At the end of the book there was a plot twist that I had not expected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    This novel forces the reader to face the issue of making good choices or bad ones. We are all faced with that dilemma in our own lives. Which do we choose and why?

    At first read, The Writing Circle seems to be an easy beach read with an uncomplicated plot but it develops into an interesting mystery with many surprises in store for the reader. Once you are drawn in you will want to read until the end.
    The book is about a group of writers who come together to discuss their work, supposedly to help each other by sharing and brainstorming ideas. Many of the characters are dysfunctional or come from dysfunctional families. Some are driven by blind ambition without a thought for the consequences while others are driven by the opposite need to do right by the world. They seem to be, but they are not, random strangers, since they are interconnected by a variety of circumstances.
    It was sometimes a difficult book to follow because there were so many characters introduced and they often seemed at cross purposes. Their connections were hard to tie in to the whole story and/or to each other. I found that if I read it as if it was a series of short stories, I was not as disappointed when a character was not as fully developed as I hoped or when its connection to the main theme was difficult to ascertain. Sometimes, in a later chapter, the character was re-introduced and the plot became clearer, other times it became even cloudier.
    The book could be seen as a study in unethical behavior vs living with a "moral compass" and in the end I was left with the feeling that justice is not always served very well. The just are not always rewarded with the success they deserve and often the unjust are not punished for the actual crimes they commit. Like a Pollyanna, I suppose I wanted the book to punish the guilty and reward the innocent. I wanted it to end with all the loose ends tied up neatly and justly but life is not a fairy tale even in a novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    A Rainy Day Read

    While the book was well written, I had a hard time keeping track of some of the characters with the jumping around. the start of the book was a little slow but it did pick up in the middle and the end. I cried at the ending of the book because of what happened to one of my favorite characters.

    The book does center around the themes of fidelity to others, trust, love and jealousy. I think Corinne is an author to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    The Writing Circle

    The Writing Circle gives us a wonderful insight to the creative world but disappointed me in the lack of time we got to spend with each character. It left too many questions unanswered. There were too many substories that were never developed. I was disappointed it the way the story ended. I felt the author rushed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great cover

    The "Writing Circle" was an enjoyable book. There are a lot of characters and sometimes it was hard to keep the story organized in my mind. The first part of the book was rather slow but the story picked up the pace in the middle and end. I would have preferred the story include more time with the characters interacting at their writing circle. I thought the cover art was great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Writing Circle

    I really enjoyed the style and the story of this book. I thoroughly enjoyed the changing perspectives, although I always wanted more and more time with each character. Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down, needing to know how the story would develop.

    I sincerely hope the author follows up with another book, I want to know what happens next in so many of their lives...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    Good, but...

    The Writing Circle is the story of the families of several writers brought together to critique each other's work. The reader is brought into the world of each character, creating several plot lines. This book offers up many questions of moral character and is a great book for discussion, especially among book clubs. It is a good read but the ending just leaves so many things unfinished, making the reader wonder why some scenes were put in the book in the first place.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I expected

    I had a lot of hope for this book but it kind of fell short for me. It had a lot of stuff going on and part of me wishes I had more time with the characters. I enjoyed the story but as I mentioned, I almost feel like there were so many other sub stories we never got a conclusion too. Maybe if we had less of the sub stories and more of just the main plot, it would have worked better for me. All in all it wasn't a bad read, just not what I had expected.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Builds into a good read.

    I found this book hard to get into. There are two false starts before the story proper really starts up (and though they're both relevant to the overall arch of the plot, it's hard to place them in their proper context at first), and once the story does start, I felt bombarded by all the different characters. Some of the characters are more fully developed than others--and the women definitely felt rounder than the men (Chris, for example, has a she-demon of an ex-wife who does everything in her power to keep him from seeing his kids. She's so bad to him and the kids that she feels like a caricature.) By the end of the book the plot was rolling along, and I liked the considerations of the themes of responsibility, revenge, plagiarism, and selfishness. Although there are still some bumps to be worked out, this book is a fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2