Customer Reviews for

The Writing Circle

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Lyrical prose combines with witty dialogue to keep you reading from the first page. The Writing Circle follows a group of writers and their social and moral struggles over the integrity of their work and of their attractions. Love and friendship end up leading to both...
Lyrical prose combines with witty dialogue to keep you reading from the first page. The Writing Circle follows a group of writers and their social and moral struggles over the integrity of their work and of their attractions. Love and friendship end up leading to both happiness and disaster. Various pieces of writing presented by the different members create another textual layer, alongside the clever dialogue and an alternating point of view. The final events spiral out from one another, forcing us to examine the boundaries between life and art, as well as the consequences of ambition. I highly recommend this as a summer read.

posted by KLOKO on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

The Writing Circle presented very real people to me. They all had flaws and insecurities. They were not perfect people, acting perfectly. How they lives become related drives this story. This book is still making me think as I reflect on the characters or the storyline...
The Writing Circle presented very real people to me. They all had flaws and insecurities. They were not perfect people, acting perfectly. How they lives become related drives this story. This book is still making me think as I reflect on the characters or the storyline. Everyone in the book discussion I was in had very strong feelings and very different feelings about scenes and characters in the book. This all makes a good book.

posted by pen21 on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 30 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Characters and Exciting Ending

    I loved the mix of charcters and the twist at the end!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I enjoyed reading this novel as part of the First Look book club. The book opened very dramatically and then changed tack. We learned a little bit about each character and how their relationships intertwined. There was a diverse mix of characters and personalities. The book drew me in and held my attention and it was not overly long, so a quick read. I was not satisfied with the ending, but I can't comment without revealing too much.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Nice read for Book Clubs

    The Writing Circle starts out grabbing you attention right away. I really was drawn to the characters and their development throughout the story. However I felt that the ending left you hanging and needed more resolution. Great book for discussions.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Writing Circle

    I enjoyed this book overall. I loved the development of the characters but wished I had more time with some of them. (Some characters could have been left out to create more time with the others.) I found the first part of the book a bit slow. It was hard to figure out how the writers were going to mesh to become a solid group. The more I read the more the characters meshed. The ending was a surprise for me that I did not expect.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good story with a satisfying ending.

    This book was weird. I really liked it, but I didn't really connect with the characters. I understood what they were going through (well, except for Gillian) and I liked them (again except for Gillian) but I just didn't connect with any of them.

    I liked Nancy, she was pretty grounded. I liked Virginia, she seemed liked someone I could be friends with. Bernard was an odd character, as was Adam. I felt so bad for Adam, I could tell he was in love with Gillian, but I didn't fully understand why.

    The story wasn't slow, but the big stuff didn't really start happening till near the end. Even though Gillian was a bit of a witch, I didn't really think she had the gull to do what she did. Just after that curve ball I did become slightly endeared to Nancy, but as the story jumps between characters I moved onto the next character's emotions.

    The writing was good. The story jumps between the characters, and just when I would start to connect with one character the story would jump to another. It didn't really detract from the story, but I think it kept me from really connecting to any one character.

    I liked the idea of the writing circle. I'm not an author, but I think it would be nice to belong to a group of other authors that can give you advice about what you're writing. I know I like my knitting group because I can bounce ideas and get feedback on what I'm doing, I would imagine a writing group would be similar.

    I'd say this was well worth the read. It didn't really take all that long to finish, and the end was satisfying...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Incomplete Circle?

    This novel starts out by pulling the reader into the past. Then we are privy to what may come in the future. These two segments are great at piquing an imagination. The novel actually starts by introducing the reader to the myriad of characters in the story. Then the reader is immersed into their individual stories and we learn about them and their relation to one another. The story progresses until the climactic ending. However, I feel that something within the last portion of this story is lacking depth and dimension. The first part of the story goes to great lengths to draw me in, as a reader. I feel as though the ending was rushed to closure. A good read, but not entirely satisfying.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 30 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2