Customer Reviews for

Writing to Change the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Dian

    I'm Diana. Hi! I'm writing a story at pol all results. It's called Raining Fire. I'd appriciate it if you read it and review it. Part 24 is out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Goldenshadow

    Hello everyone. I am making a new story soon. Hope you all wil l like it. Read Cinderpelts hope at Birds result one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Silvet

    Maybe Violet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Sweet Death

    Hey guys. I never wrote before. I'm too scared that they'll be a flop. But I have came up a gazillion fanfics in my head, mostly x-overs. Ok, I should leave y'all alone. Sweet Death out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Death Tide

    I said, stop using my freaking name. T.T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Kelsey

    I saw your ad in the warriors books. I am a young writer. But a middle school one who L O V E S fanfiction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Violet

    Could you peeps read meh storeh at unknown res one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Zack

    What is this place???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Misty to ALL

    Boook places are posted at res 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    This was an excellent book. I originally purchased it for hints regarding writing technique. That advice was covered to an extent in the book. However, it also covered the idea of why we want to write what we write, and the impact of that writing on the world. It really made me rethink how and what I may want to put on paper. Mary Pipher is a wonderful author. I also read her book "Reviving Ophelia" and she has an easy way of getting her point across.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine self help pr

    The underlying premise to this self-help book is that the pen (computer?) is mightier than the sword (weapons of mass destruction?). Mary Pipher assumes most people want to write what is on their mind but want to do so with clarity and passion. WRITING TO CHANGE THE WORLD explains what to do and not do with the latter perhaps being most critical as simple avoidable pitfalls can devastate a product. Ms. Pipher also explains when to use which format from letters to essays to blogs with the key being some homage to Mcluhan in that the medium is key to the message. Finally the book provides a step by step primer into the writing process supplemented by exercises and instruction. Well written and easy to follow, this reviewer picked up some tips on presenting reviews (similar to Ms. Pipher¿s Op-ed comments) especially her affirmation of the writer as ¿a moral agent¿ while staying focused on your objective. As Robert Brent Toplin points out in his book MICHAEL MOORE'S 'FAHRENHEIT 9/11': HOW ONE FILM DIVIDED A NATION: 'the most important message of Fahrenheit 9/11 is that the war with Iraq was unnecessary.¿ was somewhat distracted by controversial anecdotal sidebars that took viewers away from the director¿s main theme. Ms. Pipher provides advice on how to avoid that easy to fall into trap with this fine self help primer. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1