Customer Reviews for

Written in My Own Heart's Blood (Outlander Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(419)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

125 out of 168 people found this review helpful.

Written in Blood

Come on! You people grousing about the delayed publication CANNOT be serious!!!
Have you never had to wait for anything before, I know this
Is the age of instant gratification, but you all cannot imagine how grievously spoiled and stupid you sound! After all Diana Gaba...
Come on! You people grousing about the delayed publication CANNOT be serious!!!
Have you never had to wait for anything before, I know this
Is the age of instant gratification, but you all cannot imagine how grievously spoiled and stupid you sound! After all Diana Gabaldon has given us with her writing her many books, can you not begrateful, shut up and be patient?
I especially love the "I don't care anymore I want my money back" comment - And I bet if you weren't allowed to bat first, you took your ball and went home too, huh?
Ridiculous!!!

posted by Bookgobblerjak on January 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 233 people found this review helpful.

another 6 months!!!

Went online today hoping to finally get to read it. Another 6 months!!! I'm outraged, love the series but Diana needs to get herself in gear and get on with it. I thought paying for a book 6 months before publishing was bad enough but then to get to the promised Decembe...
Went online today hoping to finally get to read it. Another 6 months!!! I'm outraged, love the series but Diana needs to get herself in gear and get on with it. I thought paying for a book 6 months before publishing was bad enough but then to get to the promised December 10th day and find I have to wait for another 6 months is nuts. I am not happy, almost to the point that I don't give a damn what happed anymore. I want my money back!

posted by trudi2 on December 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Conundrum

    How did the MacKenzie family get from 1738 Scotland to 1778 North Carolina? To me, this is a big hole in the plotline. Sure wish Gabaldon had included an explanation of this phenomenen--unless, of course, she's planning yet another book.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    good book

    good book

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    over the wait.

    Very disappointed that this book keeps getting pushed back. I preordered it 6 months ago believing it was only going to be a month. I really looked forward to receiving it and have been very disappointed to be let down for so long.

    5 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    I'm a die-hard Diana fan, but I was disappointed in this book.

    I'm a die-hard Diana fan, but I was disappointed in this book. It's still better than 92% of all books, but felt there was too many words and not enough of the action we all want to see (eg, going to find Roger's dad and Buck and his Mom were not things I cared about). I, and other readers (I think). are interested in the families' doings. I was disappointed enough that I had re re-read the two prior books to get my hit of Diana.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    I love this series and want to love this book as much as previou

    I love this series and want to love this book as much as previous ones.  I felt this one suffered from lack of structure.  There seemed to be an inordinate amount of time spent on tangents.
    There needs to be another book to tie up loose ends, like how the MacKenzies got there.  I just hope to see a little more balance.  I will read the books no matter what, I would just enjoy them more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    A goodread

    Enjoyed the book for the most part. Thought there were quite a few holes in the story and not the usual passion. I was really drawn into the other books in the series but felt this one, although enjoyable, left me feeling there should have been ..well, just more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Love the series, but this isn¿t of the series quality

    Love Gabaldon’s writings and waited a long time for this book to br released. Only half finished now, but it is a bit disapointing. Too much war and not enough of the Fraiser family. Hopefully it will get better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Not her best

    I was so excited to finally read this book, but I was sadly disappointed. I found the book did not keep my interest as the others did. I would recommend this book to anyone who's read all previous books. There were some redeeming qualities, the ending made it worthwhile reading. I read on Diana's website that there will be a book 9. I'm sure this will be the one to answer a number of questions and wrap up this wonderful series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Enjoyable - Missed Opportunity

    Although I enjoyed this book, I would have preferred to wait a few more months for it to be published to allow more time to edit the last third of the book. I know that Diana Gabaldon does not write in a linear fashion. However, I felt the last third of the book was a series of episodes that needed better links to one another. If you're a fan of the Outlander series, you won't be disappointed in this book. I just think this could have been one of the best books in the series had the various plot lines been better developed in the later chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    I have read all the books in this series. I enjoy historical fic

    I have read all the books in this series. I enjoy historical fiction but these books take it beyond history to what the people might have experienced during the time. The research is well done and the character development is wonderful. Even after you put the book down you will catch yourself thinking about the characters

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    Just wish that Jamie could "hear" the stones "tal

    Just wish that Jamie could "hear" the stones "talking" or what ever they do when Clare, Bree, Roger and the kids are near. Just so that 
    Jamie can see and experience the time from Claire and kids know. Also, so that he could get the medical tratment for his back and I think
    his hands.
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2014

    I always love Jamie and Claire, pretty much no matter what they'

    I always love Jamie and Claire, pretty much no matter what they're doing, but I found this book generally disappointing. The last book set up so many great story potentials, but I felt like none of them was really addressed to the extent that I was hoping. I also felt like the end of this book was kind of like a "and then I woke up" ending, but nothing had actually been resolved. I think Diana was forcing this one a little to get it out instead of taking the time to truly develop the plot lines that we've come to expect in the other books. I'm just hoping that more of the details and back ground in the missing plot lines in this book will be included with the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    It's time to move on! Claire and Jamie are in their sixties.  We

    It's time to move on! Claire and Jamie are in their sixties.  We'll all love them forever, but we need a conclusion that paves the way for another generation. Maybe we ought to skip Robert and Briana and go straight to Jem - he can hop back and forth between the two times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Still Good

    This book was too long, the story line dragged and was very repetitious, many phrases were repeated ad nauseam. The storyline involving Bree, Roger and the kids was interesting, with a nice ending to set up the next book in the series. There was also a surprising twist in the rules of time travel.

    Over all, not the best book in the Outlander series. But worth the read. It was fun to witness Claire and Jamie aging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Loose ends. Let down

    Not my favorite Outlander book. It was hard getting through the book at time but I kept plugging away. It just felt like this book was a summery of her other book.
    The story lines were a little disconnected at times. Good historical information though.
    If the family was not reunited it would have ben a waste of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    outlander series book

    I can't really give a review of the book due to it was a gift for someone else. but I would like to say something about the delivery of the book.
    POOR... they send it by ups who then gives it to the post office, who then takes there time in delivering it ( can we say 2 weeks). This was supposed to have a delivery in 3 days not 2 weeks, guess who couldn't bring a gift to the party.... I will only have books purchased and then sent to the store next time, never again to my house. Sorry Barnes & Noble, but this is a very bad delivery system.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    I was so excited to finally have the latest book. However I felt

    I was so excited to finally have the latest book. However I felt disappointed. There were story lines that seemed like filler (Fanny & Jane) & at times thought I was reading a Lord John Gray book. Not enough Brianna & Roger & not even enough meaty story lines even for Claire & Jamie. The previous books, to me, were so much better in all ways. That said I am going to wait a few months & re-read it.
    The ending sure did leave me wanting more.

    And for those of you complaining about delayed publication get a life! Your comments have nothing to do with the actual book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I did not care for the first parts of the book based in Philadel

    I did not care for the first parts of the book based in Philadelphia. There was a lot of repetition and felt forced inserting the characters in the time. I liked Roger and Bree and their story much better and wished more of the book was from their point of view. Not the best of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    not done yet

    I just started reading the book and was very confused. It had been so long that I forgot what had happened in the last book. Keep reading and you will eventually remember and things start to make sense. I am looking forward to good chemistry and to find out some answers to questions left in the last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Drivel like all the other books is the series.  How many times c

    Drivel like all the other books is the series. 
    How many times can you reuse a descriptive phrase?
    Same old stuff and another future book :(

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3