Customer Reviews for

Written in My Own Heart's Blood (Outlander Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(419)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

125 out of 168 people found this review helpful.

Written in Blood

Come on! You people grousing about the delayed publication CANNOT be serious!!!
Have you never had to wait for anything before, I know this
Is the age of instant gratification, but you all cannot imagine how grievously spoiled and stupid you sound! After all Diana Gaba...
Come on! You people grousing about the delayed publication CANNOT be serious!!!
Have you never had to wait for anything before, I know this
Is the age of instant gratification, but you all cannot imagine how grievously spoiled and stupid you sound! After all Diana Gabaldon has given us with her writing her many books, can you not begrateful, shut up and be patient?
I especially love the "I don't care anymore I want my money back" comment - And I bet if you weren't allowed to bat first, you took your ball and went home too, huh?
Ridiculous!!!

posted by Bookgobblerjak on January 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 233 people found this review helpful.

another 6 months!!!

Went online today hoping to finally get to read it. Another 6 months!!! I'm outraged, love the series but Diana needs to get herself in gear and get on with it. I thought paying for a book 6 months before publishing was bad enough but then to get to the promised Decembe...
Went online today hoping to finally get to read it. Another 6 months!!! I'm outraged, love the series but Diana needs to get herself in gear and get on with it. I thought paying for a book 6 months before publishing was bad enough but then to get to the promised December 10th day and find I have to wait for another 6 months is nuts. I am not happy, almost to the point that I don't give a damn what happed anymore. I want my money back!

posted by trudi2 on December 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Jaime and Claire are maturing as a couple as they age and circum

    Jaime and Claire are maturing as a couple as they age and circumstances (in this case the Revolutionary War, Claire's wound ) dictate
    yet that undying  and transcending love still shimmers between them which is what makes women swoon and continue to read the
    series.  This book just leaves the reader wanting more.  How much longer do Jaime and Claire have together?  I really like the character
    development of Ian and Rachel as they navigate their world and choices they have to make.  However, what really interests me is the
    relationship between William and his two fathers.  This book doesn't deal with that relationship, I so hope the next one does.  Then there
    is  Bree and Roger and their family as they have to cope with family, time travel and the modern world.  I want so badly for Jaime to have
     his children in his life.  Jem is so much like his grandda that I ache for that very special relationship.  Jem seems to have combined both 
    experiences of living in the past and the present to make him such interesting character.   I finished the book in two days and am ready
    for the next one.  Hurry Up Diana! 

    22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    It's June 10th

    Where is it?

    6 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    Like all the other Outlander fans, I hated having to wait for th

    Like all the other Outlander fans, I hated having to wait for the book. Unlike some others, I don't think that effects the literary rating I give it. I enjoyed this installment, enjoyed Gabaldon's dry sense of humor that comes through even in the chapter titles. I did feel like maybe the author felt rushed for this one as things didn't quite seem to tie together as well as they have in the past. (How did Brianna and Roger get to Fraser's Ridge in the right timezone? What was the point of the subplot with Jerry MacKenzie? Or that horribly uncomfortable thing with Buck and his birth mother?) With that said, I will wait patiently for the next one (there has to be a next one...what is up with William? And Ben's "wife?" And is Fergus a French aristocrat or not?) I would recommend the book and the series to anyone looking for a good read that keeps you involved.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    Well done

    Well done Diana G. I have now read books 1-4 twice (the 1st time 15-20 years ago) and have now caught up with the larger than life saga of Clair and Jamie. I have enjoyed this 8th novel, but not so much the emphasis w/ Lord John and his family. Still not sure what I think of William. Am anxious to learn how Bree & Rodger get back to the "right" time. If there should be a 9th novel, please Diana, do not kill off our hero and heroine, or I fear I will become as upset as Stephen King's Anne Wilkes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Diana Gabaldon┬┐, you minx, you! I just finished Written in My O

    Diana Gabaldon¿, you minx, you! I just finished Written in My Own Heart's Blood and you wait until the last TWO pages for what I had been waiting and watching for, oh, about 300 pages! We can always count on you to lull us into a peaceful state and then blow us out of the water! Thanks for another great addition to the saga! And loving the TV adaptation by the way. I will say it took me awhile to get into this book, I think because I was so anxious to get to the part about Brianna, Roger, and the kids and that didn't happen until part 2. But from that point on, I was engrossed. I know there are some complaints about the many characters in the book, but I like the side stories a lot. I do need to brush up on the folks on the ridge because I had forgotten a lot of their back stories. But most of that came back to me as well. There are enough ends left dangling that I will anxiously await the next book, but still very satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    It's nice to get past the cliff hangar from Echo in the Bone and

    It's nice to get past the cliff hangar from Echo in the Bone and not to be left with another huge cliffhanger in this installment of the Outlander series...just small ones. Less complicated and easier to read than some in the series. It was wonderful to read about so many of my favorite fictional characters again and already looking forward to the next book. Thank you DIana.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book - much more than Echo in the Bone.

    I really enjoyed this book - much more than Echo in the Bone. I like the author's writing style, humor and interesting facts. It did start to feel a bit rushed toward the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Where is it?

    Does anybody else have theirs today?

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2015

    The story moves on at a healthy clip. If you liked the last seve

    The story moves on at a healthy clip. If you liked the last seven books, this one won't disappoint you, but some vigilant editing would have been useful. How many times can Jamie call someone a "wee idiot"? How many times can someone make "a Scottish noise in the back of his throat"? Both are funny the first or second time around, but damn....

    Nonetheless, I look forward to Book #9. And I don't care if the book comes out late. Why the flame wars in the review section?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Written In My Own Hearts Blood

    Excellent as always!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2014

    So worth the wait! I laughed... & I cried... Jamie and Clair

    So worth the wait! I laughed... & I cried... Jamie and Clair have that affect on me. Thank you Dianna! :) <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Spoiler Alert

    I was very excited to read this book. And I love the series. I just wish the book and progressed a little more. I was disappointed when I got to the end when it ended with the excerpt I read in the previous book. I was expecting to read more about the family being all together again on the ridge.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Must read!!!

    I am still reading it with about 400 pages left. I don't want it to end and am dreading any possible deaths of main characters.

    Have read all of the series, and if you are a history buff, you'll love it! So many historical figures and facts--it's amazing how each exacting detail fills in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    yes!

    I so enjoyed this and now can't wait for the next one (of course, years?!? ahhhhwww)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    I LOVE this series.  I have been reading it for many years and f

    I LOVE this series.  I have been reading it for many years and feel like I know the characters (yes, I know that sounds crazy).  This was not my favorite book, but it was still solid and character based.  I am glad to have some of the answers to the cliffhangers from Echo in the Bone.  Looking forward to the next installment!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Finally!

    I love this series but the last 2 books have been a challenge. In book 7 I just could not believe how every major plot line was left hanging at the end of the book! I wanted to comp l ain that several chapters must have been missing from my copy. With this book, over 4 years later, there is so much that is alluded to, but not really explained or refreshed for the reader that now I am planning to go back and re-read book 7. More plots were tidied up at the end of the book but a few things were still left unresolved. Is still love the series and the characters, but I find myself wondering if there will be another book, and if so can I stand being teased for 4 years waiting for it to come out? If you are a fan, read it. If you havent really gotten into it, this book certainly won't do anything to make you a fan if you arent already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Would any of you like some cheese with your whine?? If any of yo

    Would any of you like some cheese with your whine?? If any of you can write as well and with that much detail have at it. Oh wait YOU CAN NOT. get over yourself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    As always a great read.

    Some parts drug on a little which is the first time I have said anything of the sort about any of her books. Is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I love Jamie and Claire and am excited about the next book where it looks like Brianna, Rodger and the kids are reunited with everybody else. Hate to wait four years for it though, will be salivating for it by then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Recommended

    Ms Gabaldon's writing style is almost lyrical; it touches you with with romance, deep familial love and devotion, loyalty to ones friends and comrades, the terrors of war and fleeing for your life all while keeping a deft eye on the whole. My complant with this book concerns the way it moved in so many directions; my interest kept wandering. Now, I'm just pushing myself to finish the final 300 pages. That said, this book is definitly worth reading. If it had been broken up into two books, perhaps I wouldn't feel like I need an outline of the plot. There are several plot points that would have provided very nice cliff hangers. As always, the characters are well developed and leave you with a clear sense of who they were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    I got the distinct feeling Diana ran out of time what with the d

    I got the distinct feeling Diana ran out of time what with the distraction of the imminent TV series and she does say her publishers just wanted it finished, therefore the sudden re-appearance of the Mackenzies looked rather rushed though it was a lovely way to end the book. The Lord John Grey story was left in limbo and though William has reached a sort of understanding with both his fathers his future is still uncertain. To be fair the whole book covers about four months in 1778. Plot twists referred to in Echo in the Bone such as Fergus's parentage, Claire's possible links to Fergus and/or the Compte de St. Germain did not materialise or if they did they did not develop very far. I enjoyed the book because I have read practically everything Diana has written but this is definitely not a book you could understand unless you had read the earlier books. Increasingly the story of Lord John Grey, to me one of the most interesting characters in the whole series, is being woven into the main story lines. I would at least recommend reading Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade to understand the Percy Beauchamp sub- plot. Diana has aged her characters well and with such depth you feel you know them. In addition the children are all growing up and becoming strong characters in their own right. The battle scenes are amazing - very graphic but conveying the fear and confusion that must have existed at the time. But please ... surely we don't have to wait another five years for Book 9.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5