Customer Reviews for

Written in My Own Heart's Blood (Outlander Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 430 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

109 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

Written in Blood

Come on! You people grousing about the delayed publication CANNOT be serious!!!
Have you never had to wait for anything before, I know this
Is the age of instant gratification, but you all cannot imagine how grievously spoiled and stupid you sound! After all Diana Gaba...
Come on! You people grousing about the delayed publication CANNOT be serious!!!
Have you never had to wait for anything before, I know this
Is the age of instant gratification, but you all cannot imagine how grievously spoiled and stupid you sound! After all Diana Gabaldon has given us with her writing her many books, can you not begrateful, shut up and be patient?
I especially love the "I don't care anymore I want my money back" comment - And I bet if you weren't allowed to bat first, you took your ball and went home too, huh?
Ridiculous!!!

posted by Bookgobblerjak on January 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 202 people found this review helpful.

another 6 months!!!

Went online today hoping to finally get to read it. Another 6 months!!! I'm outraged, love the series but Diana needs to get herself in gear and get on with it. I thought paying for a book 6 months before publishing was bad enough but then to get to the promised Decembe...
Went online today hoping to finally get to read it. Another 6 months!!! I'm outraged, love the series but Diana needs to get herself in gear and get on with it. I thought paying for a book 6 months before publishing was bad enough but then to get to the promised December 10th day and find I have to wait for another 6 months is nuts. I am not happy, almost to the point that I don't give a damn what happed anymore. I want my money back!

posted by trudi2 on December 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Written in Blood

    Come on! You people grousing about the delayed publication CANNOT be serious!!!
    Have you never had to wait for anything before, I know this
    Is the age of instant gratification, but you all cannot imagine how grievously spoiled and stupid you sound! After all Diana Gabaldon has given us with her writing her many books, can you not begrateful, shut up and be patient?
    I especially love the "I don't care anymore I want my money back" comment - And I bet if you weren't allowed to bat first, you took your ball and went home too, huh?
    Ridiculous!!!

    109 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Oh, come on!

    Diana posted weeks before the first publishing date that this would be delayed so it was only a surprise if you weren't paying attention. No one forced anyone to buy it 6 months ahead of time. We are ALL waiting- some more patiently than others!

    69 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Waiting

    All of you that are complaining about the delay on this book have forgotten one important thing ... Jamie Fraser is worth the wait.

    47 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The action begins, of course, where the previous installment, Ec

    The action begins, of course, where the previous installment, Echo in the Bone ended with Jamie, who was thought dead, returning to Philadelphia only to find Claire married to Lord John, while in 20th century Scotland Brianna's and Roger's son Jem has been kidnapped. Thinking his son lost in the past, Roger once again risks another journey through the stones to find him. However unlike Echo in the Bone which I thought rather disjointed and plodding, this latest installment returns to the bold adventure and high spirits of the best novels in the series. I found Roger's return to 18th century Lallybroch especially inventive. There he sees his home as it was before the battle at Culloden and encounters ancestors he has only met in Fraser and MacKenzie family trees. I also found Written in My Own Heart's Blood much easier to follow than Echo in the Bone. Though the plot is as complicated as any Outlander novel and the characters as numerous, Galbaldon divides the narrative in such a way that it took me only moments to determine the where, when, and who in each chapter of the storyline. And these storylines tie together at the end of the novel in a way I thought quite natural and touching, but also allows Galbaldon the opportunity to continue the series if she chooses to do so--a choice I hope she makes, since there is nothing for me quite like the sweeping romance and spirited adventure of the Outlander series.I enjoy this series because it is the perfect mix of history and excitement. The story takes place in 1778, when the British army is withdrawing from Philadelphia. While there is plenty of drama in that alone, the story focuses more on the people around the war. Jamie Fraser discovers that his best friend has married his wife. Claire is dealing with Benedict Arnold first had while trying to figure out if one of her husbands was murdered.I loved the Outlander series and read all the books up to this point. There was such a long space between the last one and this peek into what is coming that some of the threads of info got foggy for me. I had a bit of trouble following some of the new characters and wish the author had a page listing who all the characters are which would make it much easier. That said, I and still excited to read the good coming next. 

    38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Anything Diana writes is worth the wait. This book included. P

    Anything Diana writes is worth the wait. This book included. Please do NOT lower the books rating with your childish rants.. Wait until you have received and read it and then give an honest opinion.

    29 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    With all of the historical research it takes for Ms. Gabaldon to

    With all of the historical research it takes for Ms. Gabaldon to write just one of these books I believe each person who has a complaint really needs to shut up. Really? Are you serious? Ms. Gabaldon doesn't control the publication company and if there is something wrong with the book (the type, the cover, anything) and it was pushed out to the public anyway, then you'd be complaining about the poor quality of the book. Shut up. Grow up. Wait. Oh, and shut up!

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Gabaldon at her best!

    It doesn't let you down!!!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Well Worth The Wait

    Wow just finished this part in the Fraser lives and found it near perfect. It is easily as readable as the first book, which while I enjoyed the others they were at times difficult to get to the finish. Jamie and Claire lives continue on with the rich love they share for each other and their kin. As well the political intrigue and battles, both small scale and large that accompany them. Bree, Roger, Jem and Mandy have more their fair share of difficulties too and I really would have liked to see more of them. Lord John and his family make their presence felt. A neat trick in the middle of the Revolutionary War. One comment this book dosen't stand alone at all. Read the others first.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Ah, it is so good to be back with Jamie and Claire again.  Hands

    Ah, it is so good to be back with Jamie and Claire again.  Hands down my favorite literary couple of all time.  Diana is a masterful storyteller, as usual, and I can't put the book down. 

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Absolutely the most beautifully written and plotted series I've

    Absolutely the most beautifully written and plotted series I've ever been lucky enough to read...and then there's JAMMF. <3

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Diana does it again!

    Diana does it again!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    I HATED TO FINISH this wonderful book!  It took me a little whil

    I HATED TO FINISH this wonderful book!  It took me a little while to fall into the flow-- but, lots & lots of pages to become involved.  Think I will have to go back and reread the previous books again! :-).     Will patiently (LOL) wait for the next book!  Learned a lot of historical information, medical wisdom and lovedthe ending...... or beginning??

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Helper to get preorderedbook

    Archive preoreder. Turn off nook. Pull down from achive after opening.

    5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Loved It.......Ready for the next one!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was definately worth the wait. Who couldnt be captivated by Jamie and Claires story. It really draws you in. Right when your sighing and oohing over the impact of their love for one another, you find yourself biting your nails over a predicament theyve found themselves in.

    Apparently I was misinformed from an article I read, because it stated that this was the last in the series.........but it obviously is not. While I am absolutely thrilled.......I'm already giddy with anticipation for the next one. And I know the books require so much time because they contain so much information........but I so wish i could be Diana's fly on the wall and get the inside scoop.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    For all geneology and history lovers, for those wishing to take

    For all geneology and history lovers, for those wishing to take a heartfelt wander into the past, this is the next in a brilliant series of gripping story. You will love this newest addition!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Love the whole series

    I was so excited to finally get to continue the story, took my time.... spoiler alert, spent the whole book saying hurry up and get brianna and family back to claire and jamie. Not dissapointed, but now I am going to have to wait IMPATIENTLY(sorry Diana) for the next one. LOVED IT!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing printed compares to this series.  I'm reading this soo s

    Nothing printed compares to this series.  I'm reading this soo slow, even though I want to devour it.  But it I do that, then it's over till the next one.   Although I re-read the entire series at least x1 a year, nothing is like the first time;.  :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Just wonderful

    Wonderful. Just wonderful.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Best Series Ever! Love the characters, history and flow of th

    Best Series Ever!



    Love the characters, history and flow of the story. Keep them coming Diana...only faster please! Worth the wait.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    AWESOME!!! Jamie and Claire have enthralled me for years. My on

    AWESOME!!! Jamie and Claire have enthralled me for years. My only hope is this is not the end of their adventures, or Bree and Roger Mac or Young Ian. I need these people in my life, they are like my family and friends!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 292 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15