Customer Reviews for

Written in Stone (Books by the Bay Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    Any book that evokes all five senses is an awesome read. Ellery

    Any book that evokes all five senses is an awesome read. Ellery Adams takes us on a journey of self-discovering as the lead protagonist opens herself to love and feel love. Watching this journey had me quickly turning the pages in this mystery that I could not put down. Olivia is confronted with another murder and a past that was superbly written with plenty of twists and turns with an outcome that touched my heart. The camaraderie among this eclectic cast of characters brings you into their world and you never want to leave. Ellery had delivered yet another great adventure in Oyster Bay and I can’t wait for the next book in this wonderfully charming series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you haven't tried this series, start now. For local color, in

    If you haven't tried this series, start now. For local color, intriguing characters and surprising plots the Books by the Bay series is a breath of fresh air. The subplots of writers' group works in progress also add a layer of fun. Besides all that you get delicious food descriptions to drool over.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    Written In Stone is the 4th book in the Books By the Bay series

    Written In Stone is the 4th book in the Books By the Bay series by Ellery Adams. IMHO, this is the best yet. This is one series that I feel should be read in order. In this book we learn more about Olivia's background and the reader is able to get a better understanding about her character and emotions. The development of Olivia's character was so well done by the author

    Olivia is having breakfast at Grumpy's Diner when Dixie the roller-skating waitress informs her that the local recluse/"witch" of Oyster Bay, who Olivia has never met, wants to see her. Even though Olivia is quite busy getting ready for the Coastal Carolina Food Fair and the Foodie Channel taping of a segment at The Boot Top, Olivia's restaurant, she decides to visit Munin. With the help of a park ranger she goes to visit Munin in a dense forested area. When she is ready to leave, Munin presents her with a clay memory jar. Munin's parting words to Olivia were: "Death is coming to this forest. It doesn't want you, but it'll take you if you get in the way." The jar has many items sticking in the clay, one being a necklace like she gave Munin for letting her visit. Olivia knows that this is something special, but doesn't know the significance of all the items on the jar and with Munin's parting words, she know she has to find the answer quickly..

    Just as the Food Fair is getting under way, her sous chef, has trouble breathing, collapses and dies. The sous chef was a member of the Lumbee Indian tribe that is having a huge powwow next to the food fair. Olivia's chef can have a bit of temper, but she is sure that he had nothing to do with the death. With the help of her good friend(and getting better) Sawyer Rawlings, the police chief, and her book critique book, Olivia is off to learn just what all the items on the jar.

    Very much looking forward to the next book in this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Olivia Limoges has been summoned to see Munin Cooper, known as t

    Olivia Limoges has been summoned to see Munin Cooper, known as the witch of Oyster Bay. Munin tells Olivia that death is coming. Neither woman realized that is was Munin's death that was imminent. When her body is found Olivia instincts tell her there is something more sinister than a mystical force at work.

    Finding Munin's killer takes top priority for Olivia even though she needs to be getting ready for the Coastal Carolina Food Festival. Munin had given Olivia a memory jar that she had made and Olivia knows that if she can just figure out what the keepsakes mean she will be able to identify the killer. She enlists the help of the Bayside Book Writers to help her solve the pottery puzzle and help her to catch the culprit before he claims another victim.


    Ellery Adams just keeps topping herself. Each book is better than the last. This is definitely one of the best books I have read this year.

    One of the mysteries of this series has been the star character herself and we are finally really getting into the heart of her life in this installment. Plus the character is evolving and moving forward in the most wonderful ways.

    In this story we also learn about the Lumbee Indian Tribe. The Lumbee are one of eight state-recognized Native American tribes in North Carolina. The author took the history of this tribe and wove it right into Olivia's world. I really love the way she does this because added to the enjoyment of the story we get a little education as well. The memory jug with the keepsake clues added that additional element every great mystery needs. The puzzle to figure out, not just trying to pick up clues from what the characters say or remembering something at at that climatic moment.

    To fully appreciate this story it is necessary to read all of the books in order. Only then can the reader enjoy the growth of all the characters.

    Kudos Ellery!!! Bring on Poisoned Prose!! I can't wait!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love the "Books by the Bay" series. I love the chara

    I love the "Books by the Bay" series. I love the characters, the town, the beach, the restaurants--in other words, everything.  I hope the next one comes out soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There isn't much that's light and airy in this series and that's

    There isn't much that's light and airy in this series and that's okay. I think it's more amateur sleuth than cozy.
    Olivia has a lot on her plate with her restaurants and her newly found family and now there's the Foodie Network coming to town for the Coastal Carolina Food Festival.
    The death of one of her sous chefs has her investigating again, along with the Bayside Book Writers, her writing group, since it ties in with something she's found out about her past.
    It all melds into a superb mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!! Ellery Adams has delivery a sensation

    LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!! Ellery Adams has delivery a sensational book , Written in Stone is the 4th book in the books by the bay series and if you havent read this series I highly recommend it!! With the murder of Munin and the memory jug,Olivia and Captian Haviland are kept busy trying to find out what happened. Will the murder be solved? Will Michel find love in the new pastry chef? What will happen between Olivia and Sawyer Rawlings? Pick up the book today and find out for yourself, you will love it! Ellery is amazing and her series is one of the best I have read!!!!!!! WAY TO GO ELLERY!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    this is the 4th in this series, and it's just as good and intrig

    this is the 4th in this series, and it's just as good and intriguing as the first, if not better. it deals with a warning from the local witch for olivia. olivia had no idea the woman existed or even knew about her. as the story unravels there are many twists and turns. just as soon as you think you know where it is going and who done it, it shifts again. you will never guess the culprit until miss ellery reveals the ending. i truly had a very hard time putting this story down. there are so many puzzles to try to figure out, that you just have to read on! please don't miss this very good cozy!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    I finished number 3 in this series just a couple of days ago and

    I finished number 3 in this series just a couple of days ago and loved it so I just had to read number 4 . And I was not disappointed ! This one got more into Olivia and her friends . Another great mystery for Olivia and Rawlings . Now I have to wait till October for the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ellery has done it again!

    I love this series. Ellery does not disappoint in this book as a matter of fact I think it's one of the best in the series. Full of twists and turns and surprises. New characters, and new surprises. Who is that man that looks so much like Olivia's dad? is there really a witch living in Oyster Bay? If Munin is a witch what does she want with Olivia? How could she possibly of known Olivas mother? Of course the Bayside Book Writers club is needed to help solve the mystery of the jug. So much is going on in this book it is hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Very amusing

    -zo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    KEN STOP

    NOW

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    KENS' STORY ~CHAPTER 13~

    Hdhgeyhduf.???????FHHGDHWEMM?????????MFHHHTWTGSQQQQQQQQQQQQQQQ??M???????????)))))))))?????????????????????????77$-4*373*628*%-$637%+%+%76+++++++++++++++++??????????????????XXXXXXXDDDDDDTETTTTTTTTTTTTTREDGWHFGBQQQQPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP??????????????????????????????????IDDD???DHDEHH

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1