BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Wrong Hostage (St. Kilda Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is The RIGHT book

This story is a page turner. No doubt about it. The story is crisp, the dialog is excellent, the suspense is chilling, the romance is great. The characters are so well written that as a reader you start to believe they are actual people. Storyline wise, this could have ...
This story is a page turner. No doubt about it. The story is crisp, the dialog is excellent, the suspense is chilling, the romance is great. The characters are so well written that as a reader you start to believe they are actual people. Storyline wise, this could have came right off a Newsweek cover story. Politics, drugs, money. Perfect.

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book but slow starting...

The first few chapters were hard to get through but then it was easy to follow and finish. Although I've never read Elizabeth Lowell I thought that her writing style for drama and thrillers was great but I don't think she should mix too much romance into her stories.

posted by Sunflower6_Cris on December 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    This is The RIGHT book

    This story is a page turner. No doubt about it. The story is crisp, the dialog is excellent, the suspense is chilling, the romance is great. The characters are so well written that as a reader you start to believe they are actual people. Storyline wise, this could have came right off a Newsweek cover story. Politics, drugs, money. Perfect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Elizabeth Lowell's The Wrong Hostage

    This book was awesome, I could harldy put it down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Good book but slow starting...

    The first few chapters were hard to get through but then it was easy to follow and finish. Although I've never read Elizabeth Lowell I thought that her writing style for drama and thrillers was great but I don't think she should mix too much romance into her stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Great Novel

    I am a big fan of Elizabeth Lowell's. Having read all of her recent novels, I thought this was one of the best plots. Although I found the first two chapters difficult to engage, once I got passed that, I couldn't put the book down. Great job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Best of the Best

    This is by far the BEST Elizabeth Lowell novel. You won't be disappointed in the writing, the dialog or the story line. Grace Silva is a California judge whos son is being held in Mexico. With the clock ticking, she contacts St Kilda Consulting to get the help of Joe Faroe. Together they have to unravel her ex-husband secrets and bargain with devils on both sides of the boarder in an attempt to save an innocent child. But will Faroe still help her when he learns Grace has secrets of her own? Elizabeth struck gold with this story line. She hooked you in from page one and tugged at your heart and mind until the last page was turned. Her characters were so real it was scary, and yes there were times I wanted to reach through the book and slap a few people. I couldn't put the book down. I hope to see more St Kilda books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Seriously, this needs to be a movie. Would suggest Matthew Mc. f

    Seriously, this needs to be a movie. Would suggest Matthew Mc. for Joe. I was feeling the stress of the chases and the angst of the mother/son issue. I would have thrown the ex to the dogs VERY early in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I LOVE IT

    I enjoy this book very much,the good guys and the bad guys.Can't have one without the other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Wow!!!!

    Oh my! I feel so hot and sexy! And everything in the book was so... whoa!! You should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    OK Thriller

    OK, but plot seemed to be in discrete sections (separate adventures) thus seeming to jump a lot from situation to situation and lose continuity (and strain credulity). Would have been much more fun if the boy had been in the plot more, with his computer skills (I got the book because I'd read the first chapter, about him!). Not sure I'd read another by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Elizabeth Lowell's The Wrong Hostage

    Elizabeth Lowell's The Wrong Hostage

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Loved it

    Cannot wait to read #2. Loved the characters, the story, the suspension. Great read. Couldnt put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    Highly recommended!

    This was an awesome book! It was very difficult to put the book down...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Romantic thriller - drug trade/border issues

    Others have summarized the plot.I found the point of view more compelling than some others of Lowell's books - she tells the story from both the mother's perspective and the son's perspective (the mother being focused on getting her son out of Mexico and the son focused on how he can survive as a hostage and still find out what's going on). Lowell paints a pretty graphic picture of the drug trade and the oppressive poverty and hopelessness that can lie in border towns. As always with thrillers, one needs a fast-paced plot and reasons to keep reading. Lowell supplies these. It's odd that her St. Kilda Consulting series is so uneven. This title, and her very recent title of "Death Echo" are so far the strongest. Recommended for those who enjoy R-rated romantic thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really a Thrilling book to read

    It kept you in guessing the whole book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    It was alright!

    I love her as Elizabeth Lowell or Ann Maxwell. The story itself was good but other than the son the charcters couldn't hold my attention. I could barely finish the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    Best Book of the Year

    The plot was well done through out the book. Enjoyed every page. Just terrific.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2006

    couldn't get into it

    normally i really enjoy elizabeth lowell -i love the donovan series- but i couldn't get into this book. i thought the idea was interesting but it just wasn't quite as believable as her others, not that they are that much believable but still. the romance also fell flat for me. there was barely any background about the characters so it just seemed forced.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    chilling word portraits and realistic dialogue

    Grace Silva is quite a woman - attractive, intelligent and successful. Little in her background indicated that she would one day be a respected district judge in line for an appointment on the federal appeals court. The press calls her Hispanic, but she considers herself to be 'the perfect all-American mongrel, ' a blend of Irish, and Kazakh. She had been raised by her grandmother in a Santa Ana barrio - she left and never looked back. 'She'd spent her adult life forgetting the gutter, ignoring it, not looking back, climbing high and fast to a place where the air was clean and the nights were safe and women didn't have to be arm candy to be allowed into the halls of power.' But, now she's going to have to crawl back into that gutter in order to save her son's life. Fifteen-year-old Lane is a student at All Saints School, a private high school on the beach a short way from Ensenada. He's a good kid, smart, athletic but he's been sent here as a reprimand for turning his Fs into Bs on the school's computer, and a few other online pranks. When Grace receives a call from Carlos Calderon telling her she has to be in Ensenada in three hours, something about Lane, she doesn't hesitate. In too short a time she realizes that Calderon, one of the most powerful men in all of Mexico, is acting for someone else - Hector Rivas Osuna who heads a vicious crime family in Tijuana. Lane is, in effect, a prisoner at the school and will be killed unless Grace returns the millions of dollars stolen form Osuna by her former husband, Ted. She has two days to accomplish this and Ted is nowhere to be found. Pushed to the breaking point, Grace goes to Joe Faroe, a former lover who may be the boy's biological father. Once a kidnaping specialist for a Manhattan based firm, he knows his way around the underworld. Lowell has crafted a page-turner spiced with danger and romance. Thanks to her husband who covered immigration and crime for the L.A. times, the author has a knowledge of the drug trafficking world as well those who live and die in it. She has painted chilling word portraits and penned realistic dialogue. Those who like their thrillers ringing with authenticity will relish The Wrong Hostage. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    Can't put down

    This book has two loves stories--that of a man and woman and of a mother and son. St. Kilda Consulting is a great storyline and hope more books will appear with its agents. Maybe with Mary as a heroine? This is one of Lowell's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3