Customer Reviews for

Wronged (Book 1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting plot that would make the series The Curvier Widows a

Interesting plot that would make the series The Curvier Widows a good  and memorable read, highly recommended to all lovers of a good romance mixed with suspense. Jean Curvier was found dead in a hotel room, his young bride the obvious suspect in the room with him then ...
Interesting plot that would make the series The Curvier Widows a good  and memorable read, highly recommended to all lovers of a good romance mixed with suspense. Jean Curvier was found dead in a hotel room, his young bride the obvious suspect in the room with him then came the twist as two other women also known as Mrs. Curvier stepped in. This immediately set the pace for the first book in the series Wronged. 
Marian Curvier the official Curvier widow according to the law is left behind with all the mess, sorting out the failing business as well with two small children, seeking answers and been harassed by children who had no idea what the truth was. Her distrust in men was turned to her dead husband's partner Louis Fournet. This lead to interesting scenario's through out the story line.
Since she did not trust him she decided to be part of the business during a time that women simply did not work. Creating quite a stir in the business and with the community.
Strong willed, stubborn and very determined to know the shipping business she settled into her husband's old office and since Louis and the staff did not want to help her she turned to all the ledgers. Spending her days familiarizing her self with the ins and outs and at the end because of this knowledge she faced furious clients and staff making sound decisions that was beneficial to all involved. This turned the staff in her favor and she was accepted as a real partner.
Louis Fournet had his own agenda, trying to convince Marian to sell the business to begin his own dream he did everything in his power to side track this strong woman but found himself more intrigued with this determined young widow. Soon sparks flew and romance blossomed between the two as they both came to terms with the past. Becoming the healing balm to a crushed spirit.
All the characters in the story had their own personality that complimented the two main characters, highlighting them as believable people. 
Beautifully written, faced pace with moments of laughter and passion mixed into the plot to keep it entertaining as it unfolds page upon page. 
But the question remained who killed Jean Curvier?

posted by LynelleClark on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The disappointment

After reading the reviews, I had expected to enjoy this book. However, the ending seemed very disappointing and unrealistic. There were quite a few spelling and grammatical errors, and I had to force myself to read all 187 pages. There were quite a few *ahem* mature sce...
After reading the reviews, I had expected to enjoy this book. However, the ending seemed very disappointing and unrealistic. There were quite a few spelling and grammatical errors, and I had to force myself to read all 187 pages. There were quite a few *ahem* mature scenes that seemed to go on for too long, and all near the end of the book. Louis was a jerk. I have no idea what she saw in him. All in all, I would not recommend this book to ... anyone, really. - Alexandria PattErson

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    The disappointment

    After reading the reviews, I had expected to enjoy this book. However, the ending seemed very disappointing and unrealistic. There were quite a few spelling and grammatical errors, and I had to force myself to read all 187 pages. There were quite a few *ahem* mature scenes that seemed to go on for too long, and all near the end of the book. Louis was a jerk. I have no idea what she saw in him. All in all, I would not recommend this book to ... anyone, really. - Alexandria PattErson

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Unlikable characters............................................

    Unlikable characters........................................................
    ..............Not a bad premise but------Marian was dull. Her dead husband a total jerk. His business partner and her next romantic interest was a louse. Started out with a good but could not find one interesting character in the book. If you want a good book on a bigamist try I Do, I Do, I Do by Maggie Osbourne. The women are spunky and you can understand why they marry him.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    UGH

    I had a hard time getting interested in this book and i tryed to read it two diffrent times and could not get past the tenth chapter

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Interesting plot that would make the series The Curvier Widows a

    Interesting plot that would make the series The Curvier Widows a good  and memorable read, highly recommended to all lovers of a good romance mixed with suspense. Jean Curvier was found dead in a hotel room, his young bride the obvious suspect in the room with him then came the twist as two other women also known as Mrs. Curvier stepped in. This immediately set the pace for the first book in the series Wronged. 
    Marian Curvier the official Curvier widow according to the law is left behind with all the mess, sorting out the failing business as well with two small children, seeking answers and been harassed by children who had no idea what the truth was. Her distrust in men was turned to her dead husband's partner Louis Fournet. This lead to interesting scenario's through out the story line.
    Since she did not trust him she decided to be part of the business during a time that women simply did not work. Creating quite a stir in the business and with the community.
    Strong willed, stubborn and very determined to know the shipping business she settled into her husband's old office and since Louis and the staff did not want to help her she turned to all the ledgers. Spending her days familiarizing her self with the ins and outs and at the end because of this knowledge she faced furious clients and staff making sound decisions that was beneficial to all involved. This turned the staff in her favor and she was accepted as a real partner.
    Louis Fournet had his own agenda, trying to convince Marian to sell the business to begin his own dream he did everything in his power to side track this strong woman but found himself more intrigued with this determined young widow. Soon sparks flew and romance blossomed between the two as they both came to terms with the past. Becoming the healing balm to a crushed spirit.
    All the characters in the story had their own personality that complimented the two main characters, highlighting them as believable people. 
    Beautifully written, faced pace with moments of laughter and passion mixed into the plot to keep it entertaining as it unfolds page upon page. 
    But the question remained who killed Jean Curvier?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    It was good

    It was good but did not hold my attention. Will probably still read the rest of triliogy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    I am thoroughly enjoying this series. I have loved each of Sylvi

    I am thoroughly enjoying this series. I have loved each of Sylvia's books and was pretty positive I would love this one as well. I love romance and a good mystery as well! Thank you Sylvia for writing another awesome series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Marian is called to a Hotel in New Orleans, her husband is dead.

    Marian is called to a Hotel in New Orleans, her husband is dead. Although, they are still married, their relationship is almost nonexistent. The real surprise is there are now two Cuvier wives...and then three. Can't even imagine, how does one man keep track of three wives? Without the others knowing of each other?
    Then on top of three wives, they find out that their husband Jean, has been murdered. Marian has been married to Jean for twelve years, and has two children by him. It turns out that she is his legal wife.
    When the will is read, the other two wives Layla and Nicole, are left nothing. Turns out Jean is a rat, for lack of better words.
    Marian is left her husbands share of the Shipping Business, the other half belongs to his partner Louis Fournet. A very handsome man, who really wants to sell the business. Marian appears at work, and all are shocked...women stay home and take care of the home! They do not belong in business.
    Louis goes about trying to persuade Marian to sell, he is also very attracted to her. Louis is a playboy...he has woman dropping into the office all the time. You will be laughing hysterically, when one of them comes in and he asks Marian to tell her he isn't there! Sooooo funny!
    Will Marian be able to trust another man after Jean, and the way he treated her. Her Children are being taunted by others, they make remarks about their father having three wives.
    I enjoyed the late 1890's look at LA, and life at that time, the only problem I had with the book was some graphic sex. I got passed that, and enjoyed the story. We are also left with a lot on unanswered, but the answers are to come in two additional books, each focused on Jean's other two wives.

    I received this book through Innovative On Line Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2015

    Ok

    I liked the storys it was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2014

    Love, sex and a good story

    Romance, love, sex and a good story; what more do you want?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Good

    I enjoyed this story. Good characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Typical hysterical romance, 200 pages

    This is the typical formuliac hysterical romance. The only new rwist was the deceased husband had three wives. No other fresh input. One hot sexual encounter. 200 pages. Happily ever after conclusion. Chick lit. For ages 18 and up due to adult content.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Loved

    I couldnt put hi one do

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Enjoyable read.

    Good book. Will look for the other two in this series. Not a high adventure book. Written in a slow methodical way. Definitely worth staying with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Enjoyed it well

    What's NOT to enjoy? It was an enjoyable read and lengthy enough; I always look for longer books. Good story.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Wronged

    Very good story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2