Customer Reviews for

Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eye-Opening

I only downloaded this book because it was free and had an interesting title. I never expected to get the education I received. Never would I have expected to be awakened to the possibility that such a large crime could be committed right under our noses. Read the book....
I only downloaded this book because it was free and had an interesting title. I never expected to get the education I received. Never would I have expected to be awakened to the possibility that such a large crime could be committed right under our noses. Read the book. Check the references. It will change your perspective on more than just the Aids epidemic. Government, media, statistics, history, etc. Thank you for opening my eyes!

posted by 3455002 on January 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Sorry but he's wrong...and it is killing people.

I'm usually the first to TP the pharmaceutical industry and the government's house but in this case this book is way off track. The first way he's wrong is in his assessment of how we diagnose HIV. We have to search for anti-bodies because viruses are too small. 100 tim...
I'm usually the first to TP the pharmaceutical industry and the government's house but in this case this book is way off track. The first way he's wrong is in his assessment of how we diagnose HIV. We have to search for anti-bodies because viruses are too small. 100 times smaller than bacteria. They can only be seen through an electron microscope. Think of searching something the size of Lake Erie one cubic yard at a time small. Viruses are so small that scientists still argue on whether or not they can be classified as living. So we search for the body's immune response to it. It's faster and doesn't cost 1 million dollars per test. Anti-bodies are created in response to an invader, not the successful eradication of an invader. He was wrong again. That happens when you don't actually talk to an immunologist when you write his part. Also AZT was originally a viral inhibitor. They experimented with it back when a working hypothesis was that cancer was caused by viruses. It was never like modern chemo drugs that depend on controlled doses of poison that weaken the body. Yes there are side effects and they are bad, but not the ones your thinking of. Further more retro viruses are unstable. Not really a problem for it when it can invade a cell and produce 1 trillion copies a pop. This is a problem for us because if one accidental mistake produces drug resistance, it can produce a few more million copies that promote that resistance. Even if it makes a lot of mistakes along the way. Because there was only one drug at the time they prescribed it at a higher dose because it was the only thing there was. Now we have a cocktail that can nail the virus multiple ways even if evolves resistance to one. Talk to your doctor, go to web md look at Wikipedia even. Grab a book about viruses and read yourself. South Africa adopted this policy of AIDS denialism and it killed thousands of people.
Oh yeah, the writing. Fair writing skill really he knows how to write about characters, but the whole thing is so David vs. Goliath cliched it's not funny. His character is a Mary Sue trope. He's writing with a political agenda and character development is riding in the backseat.

posted by Ian_Rook on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Sorry but he's wrong...and it is killing people.

    I'm usually the first to TP the pharmaceutical industry and the government's house but in this case this book is way off track. The first way he's wrong is in his assessment of how we diagnose HIV. We have to search for anti-bodies because viruses are too small. 100 times smaller than bacteria. They can only be seen through an electron microscope. Think of searching something the size of Lake Erie one cubic yard at a time small. Viruses are so small that scientists still argue on whether or not they can be classified as living. So we search for the body's immune response to it. It's faster and doesn't cost 1 million dollars per test. Anti-bodies are created in response to an invader, not the successful eradication of an invader. He was wrong again. That happens when you don't actually talk to an immunologist when you write his part. Also AZT was originally a viral inhibitor. They experimented with it back when a working hypothesis was that cancer was caused by viruses. It was never like modern chemo drugs that depend on controlled doses of poison that weaken the body. Yes there are side effects and they are bad, but not the ones your thinking of. Further more retro viruses are unstable. Not really a problem for it when it can invade a cell and produce 1 trillion copies a pop. This is a problem for us because if one accidental mistake produces drug resistance, it can produce a few more million copies that promote that resistance. Even if it makes a lot of mistakes along the way. Because there was only one drug at the time they prescribed it at a higher dose because it was the only thing there was. Now we have a cocktail that can nail the virus multiple ways even if evolves resistance to one. Talk to your doctor, go to web md look at Wikipedia even. Grab a book about viruses and read yourself. South Africa adopted this policy of AIDS denialism and it killed thousands of people.
    Oh yeah, the writing. Fair writing skill really he knows how to write about characters, but the whole thing is so David vs. Goliath cliched it's not funny. His character is a Mary Sue trope. He's writing with a political agenda and character development is riding in the backseat.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This has been one of the most informative books I have ever read. I lost two brother to AIDS. This book made me question many things proceding their death. I googled some of the characters in this book as well as the drug company involved. Inspite of the fact that the book is being protrayed as frictional is just to protect the innocent. I strongly recommend this book. To the reader, I suggest that you have an open mind, because if you ever had losts any love one to AIDS, it will piss you off.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Eye-Opening

    I only downloaded this book because it was free and had an interesting title. I never expected to get the education I received. Never would I have expected to be awakened to the possibility that such a large crime could be committed right under our noses. Read the book. Check the references. It will change your perspective on more than just the Aids epidemic. Government, media, statistics, history, etc. Thank you for opening my eyes!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Interesting read

    I found this book inlightening to say the least. I am in the medical field and find this disgracefull. If even half of this is true, it would be too mucn. Thank you for this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Makes you think!!

    Everyone in the world needs to read this book. Checked references and they are all there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Has potential but needs editing

    The storyline in this novel is ok, but it lacks polish. The biggest problem with it is that it is written in the present tense (unusual) with lapses (a paragraph or line here and there for no apparent reason) into the past tense. It seems to lack a specific voice. In short, this book reads like a draft of something that could be better with more editing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Eye opening

    I began reading this book without the pretense of accepting it as factual or purely fiction; only viewing it as entertaining. By the end of the book, I find myself very open to considering the possibilities not only of the well supported arguments made by the author regarding AIDS, but other potential scenarios in which the public is being deceived by those with the money and subsequent power.

    Though I do tend to be a bit of a conspiracy theorist. ;-)

    Excellent and informative book. Definitely food for thougjt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    A Good Education & a Great Read

    The author has written a dynamic book that will open your eyes to media, reporting and the medical profession. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Makes you Think

    This book was a really interesting read and wondered while reading if it wasn't a true story vs. being fiction. Made a lot of sense and how Pharmacy Companies and Gov't could control life and death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Wow.

    Keep an open mind. Look up the main scientists. Check the acts yourself. What a thought provoking book. Is it possible? The government cover yet another mess up?. I believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    My mind is forever changed

    This book is fascinating. I have no fear of contracting AIDS after reading this book. Thank you for enlightening me. I believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Good book overall

    I really like the idea of people doing their own research and not relying on the what the government or media tells them. This book depicts a great reason not to, although, the story itself is fiction, there is a clear message to be taken. I was not intrested in reading it to discredit the author's facts, I read it for what it is a work of fiction based in the court room.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Makes you think

    This book is a real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    A haunting story

    You will not want to put it down and it will stay with you long after you read it. A novel with some truth but the question is how much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Recommend

    I am not sure why I got this book. It isn't the type of book I would normally read, but once I started, I could not put it down!

    While the story is fiction, the author claims that it's based on fact. Facts that I was shocked to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    great read!!!!

    This book was amazing. Made me think and wonder. Highly recommend this book to anyone!!!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Wow

    Very good book. I do not know anyone with AIDS or HIV but i am furious all the same. You can find Dr. Duesberg and others on youtube. I highly recommend this book to anyone who cares about their family's health and the way bigbusiness decides whats best for you. Amazing story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    A rivitg page turner, no matter your opinion of the AIDS/HIV hypothesis

    This book rocked me to the soul. I have little contact with neitjer AIDS nor HIV other than the warning that birth control via pill won't prevent its spred. Who can forget the scare tatics of abstinace only educators who paraded AIDS victoms before high school students. I know I will never forget the presentor. This book does exactly what well written fiction should. It challenges preconcieved notions and leaves the reader searching for more information. The characters grow and satisfy the need readers have for the characters to end bettet than they began.

    I applaud the author for a well researced and reasoned book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Wow!

    A real page turner! I actually got emotionally involved in this book! If you know or knew someone with HIV OR AIDS, this book will make you think long and hard.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A page turner

    I recommned this book, couldn't put it down once I started. It makes youi think what our government and medical community are doing to us for the almighty buck

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7