Customer Reviews for

Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

This has been one of the most informative books I have ever read. I lost two brother to AIDS. This book made me question many things proceding their death. I googled some of the characters in this book as well as the drug company involved. Inspite of the fact that t...
This has been one of the most informative books I have ever read. I lost two brother to AIDS. This book made me question many things proceding their death. I googled some of the characters in this book as well as the drug company involved. Inspite of the fact that the book is being protrayed as frictional is just to protect the innocent. I strongly recommend this book. To the reader, I suggest that you have an open mind, because if you ever had losts any love one to AIDS, it will piss you off.

posted by izziebelle on March 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Sorry but he's wrong...and it is killing people.

I'm usually the first to TP the pharmaceutical industry and the government's house but in this case this book is way off track. The first way he's wrong is in his assessment of how we diagnose HIV. We have to search for anti-bodies because viruses are too small. 100 tim...
I'm usually the first to TP the pharmaceutical industry and the government's house but in this case this book is way off track. The first way he's wrong is in his assessment of how we diagnose HIV. We have to search for anti-bodies because viruses are too small. 100 times smaller than bacteria. They can only be seen through an electron microscope. Think of searching something the size of Lake Erie one cubic yard at a time small. Viruses are so small that scientists still argue on whether or not they can be classified as living. So we search for the body's immune response to it. It's faster and doesn't cost 1 million dollars per test. Anti-bodies are created in response to an invader, not the successful eradication of an invader. He was wrong again. That happens when you don't actually talk to an immunologist when you write his part. Also AZT was originally a viral inhibitor. They experimented with it back when a working hypothesis was that cancer was caused by viruses. It was never like modern chemo drugs that depend on controlled doses of poison that weaken the body. Yes there are side effects and they are bad, but not the ones your thinking of. Further more retro viruses are unstable. Not really a problem for it when it can invade a cell and produce 1 trillion copies a pop. This is a problem for us because if one accidental mistake produces drug resistance, it can produce a few more million copies that promote that resistance. Even if it makes a lot of mistakes along the way. Because there was only one drug at the time they prescribed it at a higher dose because it was the only thing there was. Now we have a cocktail that can nail the virus multiple ways even if evolves resistance to one. Talk to your doctor, go to web md look at Wikipedia even. Grab a book about viruses and read yourself. South Africa adopted this policy of AIDS denialism and it killed thousands of people.
Oh yeah, the writing. Fair writing skill really he knows how to write about characters, but the whole thing is so David vs. Goliath cliched it's not funny. His character is a Mary Sue trope. He's writing with a political agenda and character development is riding in the backseat.

posted by Ian_Rook on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A page turner

    I recommned this book, couldn't put it down once I started. It makes youi think what our government and medical community are doing to us for the almighty buck

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    This book is thought-provoking and riveting. Everyone should take time to read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    would recommend

    I found this book very interesting. It was not till the very end when I found out this book was based on fact. There were parts that I thuoght sounded familar,but still didn't put togeather. I am going to reread it. It will really get you thinking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    REALLY come onp0

    When i read the title i knew it wasnt a book for me. Of corse i didnt read it but it sounds jacked up.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    WOW!...

    The only reason I read this book was because I was recommended to read it. Im very GRATEFUL I experianced this book. It has opened my eyes to the medical community which I suspected some are in it for the money. Im not in the medical community but I do have a basic knowledge of many things, even tho this book is "fiction" it was based on "facts" which sounds to me can DEFINATLY be a reality. I couldnt put this book down and there were plenty of times the "Whoa" factor took place. The way the book was written really grabbed your attention while giving useful information, without it being "boring". I have recommended this book to anyone whos willing to listen and after you read I think you would too :0). Thank you for opening our eyes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Anyone who loves science and medicine and the hidden agendas will love.

    This book far exceeded any expectation that I had from the start. Knowing only the basic information provided to us on the subject of HIV/AIDS, I walked into this book open-minded, and I now believe that well, I don't know what I believe. This book is fiction; based on fact, and if you are like me with the common knowledge only of HIV/AIDS, these facts will blow your mind. Written as a court trial, this book is FANTASTIC!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great book with great sadness

    this book opened my eyes wide and my heart goes out to all who was affected by this tragedy. I never knew anyone nor do i yet that was diagnosed with HIV or AIDS but i feel as if i'm taking it personally and need to right a wrong or take a stand and picket somewhere! I am a little less ignorant now at least having read this book and hope many people to come will read it and see that EVERYTHING eventually comes out in the open and to make the right decisions on their journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    Everyone Should Read This Book!!!!

    This is hands down the BEST and most informative book I've read in a really long time. Davis manages to keep you intrigued and learning all at the same time! If you haven't done so already, please take the time to read this book!!!! Although it's fiction, the information provided can be proven as truth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    Anyone who thinks that HIV has been proven to cause AIDS and that antiretroviral drugs have made AIDS a manageable disease should read this book. Those who have already learned better will nevertheless find points of interest as well as enjoyment here.... It is in the nature of novels in this genre, which intend direct instruction on matters of substance, that the characters are ready-made rather than individually developed--think of Upton Sinclair, Sinclair Lewis, Ayn Rand, Michael Crichton in 'State of Fear.'... I began reading this book with no inkling that I would be comparing it to those of the just-mentioned writers.... But I did not want to put this book down before I had finished it. It is well paced. It stops how and when it should stop, truly a rarity.... What a movie this could make! ... In the meantime, there is this book to savor. (Full review to be published in the December issue of the 'Journal of Scientific Exploration.')

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    Congratulations Mr. Davis, you actually pulled it off and created a legitimate page-turner from the debacle of HIV/AIDS. I am delighted, and a bit surprised as well :). I even learned new dirt about Gallo, in addition to discovering the exact number of annual AIDS deaths post AZT (Harry Barrow indeed!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Something new under the sun

    Simply put, this novel is an impossibility. What author could take a straight-forward, all dialogue, scientific exposition and somehow infuse it with the crackling tensions of '12 Angry Men', the sublime discoveries of the 'Microbe Hunters', and the numbing absurdities of 'The Pentagon Wars'? And toss a jolting plot twist into the middle of it all? And casually append a 70-page 'Plaintiff's Exhibits' (a reference bibliography) as if it were something common to all novels? Behold, that impossibility is here made manifest. To note just one chapter, you've never heard of SMON, have you? Well, you'll be glued to your seat, discovering how Japan's deadly SMON fiasco foretold the far more deadly AIDS fiasco, and you'll marvel that you never heard of it and that a book could bring science so vividly to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    As I read Stephen Davis's remarkable book I said to myself, 'This could have happened. This should have happened.' Having followed and participated in the debate surrounding HIV as the cause of AIDS from the very beginning there is no doubt in my mind that the death of a generation of young men and some women who had been diagnosed HIV antibody positive took place, caused by AZT. No one survived the high dose regime of 1,500 milligrams a day. The truth behind Peter Duesberg's challenge to the HIV/AIDS hypothesis would have emerged through the public arena of the courts had a few lawyers had the courage to pursue the cases of drug injury put before them. Duesberg will attest how the initial enthusiasm shown by the lawyers who were approached soon cooled as they checked in with the ruling scientific orthodoxy who told them of the 'overwhelming evidence' that HIV causes AIDS. It was hard for lawyers to take the risk as the very few independent scientific voices on this issue were drowned by the cacophony from the National Institutes of Health and from academics across the United States whose departments were receiving money from the pharmaceutical industry for running their multi-centre clinical trails for AZT. Davis's book is disturbing but also deeply satisfying to read, as through his fictitious narrative he slowly 'gets the villains'. The hero, prosecuting lawyer Benjamin Mesick, is a cross between Don Quixote and a samurai warrior. He calls witnesses from the scientific orthodoxy who require a subpoena, scores his points off them and leaves the defence struggling. The villain is Dr Robert Gallo who claimed to have 'discovered' HIV as the cause of AIDS. Davis recounts all the political shenanigans surrounding the deal brokered by Chirac and Reagan when Gallo was accused by French scientist Luc Montagnais of having stolen his virus. The book is also all the more juicy for an British reader as UK libel laws would, as I understand it, prevent the real names of scientists like Robert Gallo, Anthony Fuci and also the names Burroughs Welcome and the National Institutes of Health to be used in such a pejorative context. As for accuracy, the book is minutely reached with hundreds of references. As well as sticking closely to documented fact it introduces an important imaginary scenario which, if implemented today, could provide a solution to the current veil of secrecy and censorship in the scientific community. Davis introduces a witness, a scientist from Japan who describes the way a mysterious illness involving paralysis and blindness had gripped the Japanese people (and others across the world) in the 60s. It was called SMON - Sub acute Myeloid-Optic Neuropathy. This disease was initially thought to be infectious, caused be a virus. When Japan realised that this could affect their hosting of the Olympics they decided to set up a multidisciplinary commission to investigate. In an academic climate where virologists and organisations controlling infectious diseases did not hold sway, some solid epidemiological detective work took place and it was discovered that the cause of this dreadful malady was the toxic effect of anti-diarrhoeal drugs containing variations of clioquinol which severely damaged the nervous system. Once a multidisciplinary team is set up to investigate the science behind the infectious hypothesis for AIDS it will not take long for the verdict on the cause AIDS to be declared a toxic one. In other words the erosion of the body's immune system caused by risk associated conditions such as poverty, malnutrition, recreational drug use and certain clinical conditions like haemophilia. This book is important on many different fronts but perhaps the most important is its presentation of the way in which scientific inquiry can become derailed by financial an ultimately political interests. It will take more careful documentation and chronicling, at times a fictitious presentation of

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    After eighty-plus years of life, I understand that sometimes truth is hard to find. But you'll find it with complete enjoyment in this novel by Stephen Davis, 'Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial.' One word of caution: Be sure to allow yourself enough time, because you won't put it down until you finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    I worked as an HIV/AIDS counselor for nine years. I watched all my friends shrivel up and die of AIDS, but after reading this book I know now it was from the HIV medications they were taking and not from the HIV. Although I am HIV-Positive, I never took any of the medications myself. I¿m convinced that¿s why I¿m alive today. I made a promise to my friends that I would help find the people responsible for killing them. This book exposes those people for who and what they are. I hope every gay man, and especially every HIV-Positive in the world reads this book. You need this information in order to understand the truth behind HIV and AIDS. And you need to save your own life by not listening to those around you who try to intimidate you in taking the HIV medications. You need to do your own research and decide for yourself. This book is a great place to start, because it¿s so easy and interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    Stephen Davis', Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial, is the sort of book described as a 'page-turner' by professional book reviewers. It is also the sort of book that could get an author sent to jail on trumped-up charges ¿ or worse. In order to expose a vitally important truth, Davis uses the device of fiction in the manner of George Orwell, Ayn Rand, James Michener, John Grisham, and even William Shakespeare. In this case it is a hidden but tremendously important truth about AIDS and HIV that HIV does not cause AIDS, that 90% of all AIDS cases in the 1980¿s and `90¿s were caused by the ¿treatment¿ drug AZT, and that the genocide continues today in places like Africa ¿ that much of this is known and, until now, effectively covered up. As we know all too well, media exposure of the epidemic levels of corporate and political corruption in high places has become commonplace. So too has media cover-up of certain corporations and politicians. It is precisely for this reason that good writers must turn to novels in which thinly-veiled truths may be presented in ways that can penetrate a kind of thick-skinned indifference so many Americans have developed due to an over-exposure to the overwhelming magnitude of the crimes. Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial is one of those books that comes up seemingly from nowhere and, through word-of-mouth, spreads outward in concentric circles that become larger instead of smaller. One might also describe it as a shape charge that will blow a whole through the cover of the thickest kind of medical, scientific, or corporate bunker. The time has come for Davis' vital message to be heard!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    This is a powerful book, a story that needs to be told, and a subject that has to spread to every person with a social conscience. A complicated issue that is written in a way that anyone can understand. If this book doesn¿t get your radical juices flowing, then you're part of the problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    Six months ago, I was one of those who believed that HIV equals AIDS - the story we've all been told for over twenty years by the media and the so-called medical and scientific experts. Then a friend introduced me to an article in Harper's Magazine and challenged me on some of the scientific assumptions, and started trying to educate me about the actual facts of the matter. It wasn't until I read Davis's book that I really got it. Davis has taken some very complex concepts and made them so simple to read and understand. Not only that, but it's a book I couldn't put down. Even the plot is captivating and well constructed. So not only do I feel like I finally know the truth about HIV and AIDS and AZT, but I also have something concrete I can use when I talk to other people - more than 900 scientific and medical references that are included in the back of this book for anyone to check out Davis's sources. That's more than I can say about almost anyone who claims that HIV causes AIDS all they do is call people names and make illogical assumptions without any actual science to back them up. Wrongful Death brings the whole HIV/AIDS story into sharp focus and in my mind should be required reading for everyone who wants to really see what has happened to our medical and scientific industry in this country, and how the big pharmaceutical companies have gained such a foothold and corrupted so many otherwise well-meaning people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    The medical explanation is presented very well here. The use of courtroom drama in a fictional story is a great way to explain a complex issue and drive it home. I am someone that got lost in biology in high school....but this was easy, and fun, to comprehend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    Mr. Davis creates an intelligent and thoroughly riveting story-line that combines the drama of a courtroom with the ¿fictional¿ account of government cover-up with big Pharma¿s true motives. Although it was difficult to put down the book after I started it, I found myself leaving Mr. Davis¿ novel, from time to time, to go online and research Mr. Davis¿ research myself. This lead to an entire shift in my perspective about what really goes on behind the scenes and how our perceptions are continually being manipulated. Although some might argue with Mr. Davis¿ conclusions, ¿Wrongful Death¿ is a fantastic read and provides very tasty food for thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Wrongful Death: The AIDS Trial

    What a great book. I was told no one has been able to put it down until they were done. Such is my case. I started reading while I was in Florida for a wedding and read during the flight back to Indiana, which seemed to take about ten minutes. I found it a little upsetting, finishing the book and having to come back to reality. Hopefully this book can change that reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7