Customer Reviews for

Wuthering Heights

Average Rating 4
( 1385 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(701)

4 Star

(294)

3 Star

(166)

2 Star

(77)

1 Star

(147)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

A good read

I decided to read this book after I saw it mentioned several times throughout the 'Twilight Series' by Stephenie Meyer. In the book 'Eclipse', Bella compared herself to the character of Catherine and being that I had never read 'Wuthering Heights' I thought I would give...
I decided to read this book after I saw it mentioned several times throughout the 'Twilight Series' by Stephenie Meyer. In the book 'Eclipse', Bella compared herself to the character of Catherine and being that I had never read 'Wuthering Heights' I thought I would give it a go. I'll have to admit that it was hard to read at times because the language back then was so different yet beautiful as well. I could definitely see similarities between the love triangle that exists between Catherine, Heathcliff, and Edgar compared to that of Bella, Edward, and Jacob in 'Twilight'. I think it was a good story and I'm glad that I did read it because now I can go back through the 'Twilight' books and know what Bella means when she mentions the different characters from the story. Good stuff...

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

just don't get it!!

In college, I was a literay snob and only read things written before the 20th century. I absolutley adore Pride and Prejudice, loved Jane Eyre, really enjoyed Tess of the D'Ubervilles. I have read 'Wuthering heights' 2.5 times- just hoping it would get better as I got o...
In college, I was a literay snob and only read things written before the 20th century. I absolutley adore Pride and Prejudice, loved Jane Eyre, really enjoyed Tess of the D'Ubervilles. I have read 'Wuthering heights' 2.5 times- just hoping it would get better as I got older. It didn't. I abhor books with such despicable characters as Heathcliff and Cathy. The plot meandered. I really wanted to enjoy this book, b/c I loved the other Brote sister's books so much, but I could not recommend this book, at all.

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1390 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 70
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A story that never ends!!

    i'v heard much about this book from many people,decided to finally read it. had a hard time keeping names straight and who's who. and who was the strory teller. once i finally caught on to how the book was written i enjoyed it the whole time. i didnt want to put it down. i cant believe how much drama was put into one book. i think i will read it again soon. it wont be a disapointment to anyone reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Do Not Download

    I'm all for the classics being free, but this version of the book is impossible to read. When they digitized it the software filled it with nonsense typos; for example: "...i I think that circumstance determined me to accept the itatk>n: I fett* interested in a man<wbo seemed more exag*^tedly...". So, if you want to read page after page of that, go ahead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    Audio Version Helps Students Get Through This Book

    This book was on my son's summer reading list. He was having a hard time getting through the book as it didn't appeal to him at all. I finally bought the audio version. He listened & followed along with the reader. He finished the book & made an A on his project. YEA!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Amazing book

    Emily Bronte really captured The immensity of Love in this book. It is a great story of heartache, unbreakable love, and romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best classic I've ever read

    From a 14 year-old's point of view:
    Lately, I've been reading lots of classics for the sake of a wider vocabulary and knowledge for the future, blah blah blah.
    When I found 'Wuthering Heights', I made a point to read it. As I got into the story with Nelly as my guide to the past, I was hooked.
    Heathcliff's love for Catherine, spread over 3 generations, was unbelievable. Sometimes, I just wished that he'd die, but sometimes, I was swooned over by his undying love for Ms. Earnshaw.
    Basically, 'Wuthering Heights' was the best classic--not contemporary novel, mind you--I have ever encountered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    Timeless

    Just what the doctor ordered !

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Okay...

    The only reason I read this book was because it was mentioned in the Twilight Saga and I was curious. It was extremely difficult to understand at times but the story was pretty easy to pick out.Its depressing and im guessing the moral is to not seek revenge and live life but I already knew that.I mean I dont regret reading it, it was a good book and more entertaining than others ive read but it wasnt amazing. Good book, recommend if you have extra time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Classic Tale of Love and Misery

    Wuthering Heights, first published in 1847, is a must read piece of literature. From the often dismal but beautiful setting of the Yorkshire moors, to the harrowing, violent history of Heathcliff, this book is outstanding. It begins when Mr. Earnshaw brings home an orphan he found starving on the streets of Liverpool. He raises the boy as his own, naming him Heathcliff. Mr. Earnshaw favors Heathcliff over his own children, Catherine and Hindley. This causes discord in his family, and Hindley grows to resent his father and hate Heathcliff. Meanwhile, Cathy and Heathcliff become friends and grow passionately devoted to each other. Their relationship is interrupted, when the Earnshaws' lives become entangled with the Lintons. So begins this tale of passion and a history of abuse in a family. The story is effectually told several years later to a stanger in the area. The narrator of the tale is a secondary character, the servant Nelly Dean. This novel, though exquistely written, is deeply depressing and painfully realistic, with hardly a light hearted moment. But if you plough on through all the sorrow and abuse, you'll be left pondering this question: Is Wuthering Heights a love story or a hate story?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Thought It Would Be Better

    This novel, Wuthering Heights, is an interesting novel to say the least. The novel¿s purpose was to show the reader that love can always transcend time no matter how disturbed and unsettling it is. Catherine and Heathcliff are extremely good examples of this purpose. These two are very troublesome characters who seem to cause a lot of trouble for the people around them even after death. Catherine causes Heathcliff uneasiness after she dies only because Heathcliff is left with regrets about not taking her as his own. That is a very selfish regret indeed. The purpose of this novel seems to have been achieved, but it¿s not what made this novel interesting. What made it interesting was the fact that it was realistic. People died and peace was never constant. Whenever peace seemed to take place near Wuthering Heights, Heathcliff or Catherine would throw some sort of tantrum that would disturb the entire premises. This doesn¿t at all mean that I completely enjoyed this novel. I had a hard time reading this without falling asleep. It has amazing language and grammar that shows that the author knew what she was doing, but the story and Catherine and Heathcliffs¿ pasts seemed to go on forever without an end. This book will definitely be read by many people to come, but I wouldn¿t want to read it a second time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Absolutely the worst book I have ever read, no joke.

    I could not get through this. Hard to follow, made no sense, very depressing. I hope no one ever has to suffer through the horrendous experience of reading this ever, ever again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Wuthering Heights a classic letdown

    Throughout the duration of this book, I was confused. Characters with similar or the same names were commonly introduced without any notice and it was very hard to not get them confused and distinguish between who was who.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Difficult But Fascinating

    Unrequited love, high level of emotional drama an amazingly different read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Not as great as it sounds.

    Evrybodys heard tje title wuthering heights so.ehwere. so i got it an i was just like wat the heck why mot its free. Well now i can tell why. Its a really high level of reading. Im 13 years old. I barely got past page one before i was completly and utterly lost. I didnt understand a lot of it so i just stopped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Not worth the praise

    I decided to re-read Wuthering Heights. I thought maybe it might make more sense to me as an adult than it did when I was a teen. It does, but not much. It's good, it's interesting, and it's morbid. If it were written today, it probably wouldn't be published.
    That doesn't mean that it shouldn't be published.
    It is worth reading, but if it dragged it might not be. I enjoyed it, but I wasn't left wishing the story didn't end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Re: Should i read this

    Same question as you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Should I read this?

    Idk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    I tried.

    There are so many introduced errors I could not read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Fans

    Are you all fans of warrior books or what

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    DashingFire

    Thanks floats out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Your welcome

    ~~~IR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1390 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 70