BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wuthering Heights

Average Rating 4
( 1389 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(701)

4 Star

(296)

3 Star

(166)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(148)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

A good read

I decided to read this book after I saw it mentioned several times throughout the 'Twilight Series' by Stephenie Meyer. In the book 'Eclipse', Bella compared herself to the character of Catherine and being that I had never read 'Wuthering Heights' I thought I would give...
I decided to read this book after I saw it mentioned several times throughout the 'Twilight Series' by Stephenie Meyer. In the book 'Eclipse', Bella compared herself to the character of Catherine and being that I had never read 'Wuthering Heights' I thought I would give it a go. I'll have to admit that it was hard to read at times because the language back then was so different yet beautiful as well. I could definitely see similarities between the love triangle that exists between Catherine, Heathcliff, and Edgar compared to that of Bella, Edward, and Jacob in 'Twilight'. I think it was a good story and I'm glad that I did read it because now I can go back through the 'Twilight' books and know what Bella means when she mentions the different characters from the story. Good stuff...

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

just don't get it!!

In college, I was a literay snob and only read things written before the 20th century. I absolutley adore Pride and Prejudice, loved Jane Eyre, really enjoyed Tess of the D'Ubervilles. I have read 'Wuthering heights' 2.5 times- just hoping it would get better as I got o...
In college, I was a literay snob and only read things written before the 20th century. I absolutley adore Pride and Prejudice, loved Jane Eyre, really enjoyed Tess of the D'Ubervilles. I have read 'Wuthering heights' 2.5 times- just hoping it would get better as I got older. It didn't. I abhor books with such despicable characters as Heathcliff and Cathy. The plot meandered. I really wanted to enjoy this book, b/c I loved the other Brote sister's books so much, but I could not recommend this book, at all.

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Horrible

    We read this book for book club, and it took everything I had to make it through this book. I do not see the fasination with it honestly. They were more like brother and sister then lovers, and if it was anything it was lust that is it! Heathcliff is a horrible person and to even want to root for him and catherine I don't see it. He is so abusive to other women is this what we want our daughters looking up to, I don't! I want her to have a true love and find the person of her dreams, but not one that abuses women to get there! Hate this book!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Fans

    Are you all fans of warrior books or what

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    EnderNight ((Going to try my name this way!))

    She pads in. "Can i join?" ((Winterstar, is it you? Do you know Moonfur? Or Stormwing?))

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    AutumnStar

    "What is going on here?!" She roared, storming in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Darkkit

    Hissed bac and stalked away, his tail twitching. ~Darkkit.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Destructivekit

    Yawns(anybody still up?)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Destructivekit

    She is standing in a beautiful field of bright green grass. She looks around and spots a beautiful honeycolored she cat with stars in her fur. Mommy! She bounds up to the she cat and nuzzles her. I missed u so much! The she cat smiles and looks at her kit. U dont belong here. Go back to ur new clan. But mommy... all of a sudden, the she cat disapoears and the field fades to nothing. She gradually starts to feel something on her side, and realizes tht she is laying down. She opens her eyes a slit to see her clanmates crowded around her. She groans with sudden pain.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Frostkit

    The white shekit sits next to her mother, Crystal, and she watche her mother worriedly. She had a bad feeling that crystalflight would die soon

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Glowingpaw

    She leaps at the evil cat and slices her throat open. She bite the evil cat throat and doesnt release

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Glowpaw

    The white and cream colored shecat crouches down as the two leaders fought.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Winterstar

    "You will find me in sunclan...my dearest kit."*she dissapears

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Lighrscree to quickstar

    "THAT is anpther thing we need to correct apps xannot have kits and kirs cant have mates either i have seen enough of that."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Deathheart

    Screeches in pain.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Dec

    He smiled as he wrapped an arm over her shoulders

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Bad formatting

    Please update.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    unlikeable characters

    The love between catherine and Heathcliff is sort of scary. they both keep making the wrong decisions. This is a love story that sets the example of what not to do. I really did not have the sympathy i think i am suppose to have for the main characters. I will give it credit though- it is highly dramatized which makes it an okay read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Difficult to read

    Unable to enjoy because of the horrible mistakes due to translation from paper to digital. I will delete and choose a better free version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Hard to read

    This version is difficult to read becsuse of the way it was typed. Paragraphs are run together, stars are used for several punctuation marks. I purchased, read and enjoyed a different version that eas free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Do Not Download

    I'm all for the classics being free, but this version of the book is impossible to read. When they digitized it the software filled it with nonsense typos; for example: "...i I think that circumstance determined me to accept the itatk>n: I fett* interested in a man<wbo seemed more exag*^tedly...". So, if you want to read page after page of that, go ahead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not my kind of book

    It's a twisted, sick and cruel kind of love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8