Customer Reviews for

Wuthering Heights

Average Rating 4
( 1395 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(706)

4 Star

(295)

3 Star

(166)

2 Star

(79)

1 Star

(149)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

A good read

I decided to read this book after I saw it mentioned several times throughout the 'Twilight Series' by Stephenie Meyer. In the book 'Eclipse', Bella compared herself to the character of Catherine and being that I had never read 'Wuthering Heights' I thought I would give...
I decided to read this book after I saw it mentioned several times throughout the 'Twilight Series' by Stephenie Meyer. In the book 'Eclipse', Bella compared herself to the character of Catherine and being that I had never read 'Wuthering Heights' I thought I would give it a go. I'll have to admit that it was hard to read at times because the language back then was so different yet beautiful as well. I could definitely see similarities between the love triangle that exists between Catherine, Heathcliff, and Edgar compared to that of Bella, Edward, and Jacob in 'Twilight'. I think it was a good story and I'm glad that I did read it because now I can go back through the 'Twilight' books and know what Bella means when she mentions the different characters from the story. Good stuff...

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

just don't get it!!

In college, I was a literay snob and only read things written before the 20th century. I absolutley adore Pride and Prejudice, loved Jane Eyre, really enjoyed Tess of the D'Ubervilles. I have read 'Wuthering heights' 2.5 times- just hoping it would get better as I got o...
In college, I was a literay snob and only read things written before the 20th century. I absolutley adore Pride and Prejudice, loved Jane Eyre, really enjoyed Tess of the D'Ubervilles. I have read 'Wuthering heights' 2.5 times- just hoping it would get better as I got older. It didn't. I abhor books with such despicable characters as Heathcliff and Cathy. The plot meandered. I really wanted to enjoy this book, b/c I loved the other Brote sister's books so much, but I could not recommend this book, at all.

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Absolutely the worst book I have ever read, no joke.

    I could not get through this. Hard to follow, made no sense, very depressing. I hope no one ever has to suffer through the horrendous experience of reading this ever, ever again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    Withering heights

    Hard to understand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    I tried.

    There are so many introduced errors I could not read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Derpderp

    Never read it never will sounds too sad :( lol dont care

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Confused

    I cant get passed the spelling and grammer. I mean transfering the words from a classic and not getting it right is just a blow. Will I ever get to read this story in its orginal form. Who knows but it wont be on my nook with this version. Seriously I'm confused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    This book suck too many mispelled words

    This book suck too confusing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    This sucks

    Why cant i get into this book.........it is so boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    To each his own...

    I love angst. I love classic literature. I should have loved this, but to my personal taste it was just awful. The writing style is poor, the pacing is ridiculous and the characters entirely self obsessed and utterly unlikeable. And I'm not picky! Poe, Hugo, Austen, Wilde, Verne, Lovecraft, Wells and so on and so on, I love them all dearly. But this mess was so distasteful and empty, I felt like I was reading a childrens book written by an illiterate teenager with severe emo tendencies. But in respect to those who are genuine fans, I do reccomend giving it a try. One can trust only oneself and as my opinion appears to be in the definite minority, maybe my tastes are more pessimistic than yours will be. Grab the free trial and judge for yourself, this is just my two cents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Test headline

    Test review text

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Test headline

    Test review text

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    It would probably have been great

    If only the whole book had downloaded, and if only it didn't take half an hour to turn the page. this always seems to happen to me with larger volumes. this has happened to me with text books as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Absolutely HATED this book!

    I read Wuthering Heights through to the end, hoping with each page that it might get better. It did not. Heathcliff is an evil, vile person, with no concience or moral code.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    terrible

    this book is horrible, and one of the most confusing books i have ever read. i had to read.it for bookclub, and we didnt even know if the main character wa a boy or girl!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    bare-bones ebook

    No ability to jump to specific chapters, just the title page/cover, and the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    ebook warning!!!

    For those of you looking for an ebook version of Wuthering Heights to download, please note that many of the ebooks promise bonus material(on the features tab) such as:
    -introductions and forwards
    -hundreds of pages of critical analysis essays
    -reading group discussion guide

    This seems to be some sort of copy-paste, completely false information, as you will see if you download the samples. Many of the most inexpensive ebook editions not only do not have these bonus features, but they also do not provide the ability to jump to different chapters or sections.

    If you're just looking for the basic text of the book, don't worry about it, download the most inexpensive version. If you're looking for some bonus features and some ability to move around to different sections, do beware which edition you are purchasing--go with one that is published by a major publisher.

    Unfortunately, (and perhaps I just haven't figured out how to do this yet) I cannot review each edition specifically, so I'm posting this as a review to the ebook editions, not the story itself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    bare-bones ebook (revised)

    disregard the previous review, BN doesn't customize reviews for specific editions, what a shame!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Second to worst book I have ever read.

    Emily shares NONE of her sister's writing talents. There is no discernable plot, and the story just goes on and on and on. 97% of the book is someone telling the history of other characters in a very confusing way. And, I'm sorry, but you have to be dilusional to actually like Heathcliff. I'm a fan of Victorian writing, but this is one book I wouldn't mind ripping to shreads out of pure loathing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    A Disappointing Read

    I don't understand why everyone raves about this book. I had a hard time getting through it. I didn't like any of the characters, especially not Heathcliff. I think it was probably one of the worst books I've read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    This book is weird

    This book is weird. The character Healthcliff digs up the grave of his beloved so he can lie on her and hold her again. He holds his beloved locked up in his house against her will. He trys to kill anyone who trys to come against him.This is not true love, this is a guy who needs to be locked up in a padded room. I read the classics and enjoy them, but his book is bizarre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    A Classic?

    Whenever I have an urge to read a novel, but can't seem to find anything new that interests me...I venture to the classics. You can't go wrong with a classic, right? Wrong. I had to force myself to finish this book. Usually, I like darker novels...but this was practically unbearable. Two people love each other so much, that they hate each other...and that hate is spread like a virus. I don't understand what makes this novel such a beloved classic. I would never recommend this novel to anyone...its not worth the time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 149 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8