Customer Reviews for

Wuthering Heights (Enrihced Classic Series)

Average Rating 4
( 880 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(440)

4 Star

(217)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

A Great Classic Read

This book will always and forever be one of my favorites. The characters are very unconventional in the fact that they are created as flawed and real human beings. The way that Catherine Earnshaw was such a selfish human was realistic to me. The way that Heathcliff was ...
This book will always and forever be one of my favorites. The characters are very unconventional in the fact that they are created as flawed and real human beings. The way that Catherine Earnshaw was such a selfish human was realistic to me. The way that Heathcliff was so cruel, but loved Catherine so much was realistic.
The structure of the book was beautiful as well as the writing.
I would suggest this to people who enjoy classic literature. I would not suggest this to most people who have read Stephenie Meyers' "Twilight" without them knowing that the love affair between Catherine and Heathcliff is not at all healthy and slightly disturbing. Its not like Edward and Bella.

posted by CatieCat75 on May 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

okay book

I read this book because it was mention in Twilight and because it was written by one of the Bronte sisters. I really was not that into it because it was so hateful and selfish.We all make mistakes but the ones they made were big ones. I would not recommend this book to...
I read this book because it was mention in Twilight and because it was written by one of the Bronte sisters. I really was not that into it because it was so hateful and selfish.We all make mistakes but the ones they made were big ones. I would not recommend this book to anyone who does not want to read about hateful people. This book shows the dark side about love and how their love and themselves destroyed them and the people around them.

posted by volleyplayer on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 887 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 45
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Have read before will read again!

    Love the Bronte sisters! Though must admit love Jane Eyre a bit better than Wuthering Heights, but great read and nothing like the sister's work! The Barnes and Noble Classice series is especially enjoyable as there are references and footnotes...worth the purchase! A classic for a reason...give it your time!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Idk

    Was I the only one who came looking for this book while reading the Harry Styles fanfiction called 'After'.? Haha if you like One Direction you should really read it on Wattpad.
    -Alyssaxx

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I don't understand all the rave

    I have read many a classic and this one is so far below par that it took me a week and half to force myself to stay awake long enough to finish. I have never read about more selfish characters in my life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I read the book after watching the movie. I found out that the movie has the same name and characters, but otherwise is very different from the book. The book is a very dark story, but extremely interesting and well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I know that many people love this book, I however cannot. I have

    I know that many people love this book, I however cannot. I have read this book several times at different points in time. There are many great qualities about the book, just not enough to take it out of the mud for me.
    The characterization is smart, yet not enough. There are many plot twists, however there is just too many peek-aboos that just doesn't add up and doesn't make sense.

    It's great to read the descriptions of the England moors, castles and different characters' depictions, unfortunately though depictions alone do not make the story. It's one of those classics that is a must read for the sake of learning that not everything that is written a long time ago is a great book. This I think was a great attempt at a great novel, unfortunately for us readers Bronte fell short of the threshold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Genius

    I loved this book. At first, it is a little slow and hard to understand, but as the story unfolds, you delve into the family history of The main characters Cathy and Heathcliff. Their character histories are so detailed that I felt like I knew them by the end of the book. The style of writing is very unique and interesting. The ending was unexpected (for me) and held a melancholy sort of happiness. Loved it! <3 I recommend another great book by the author's sister, Charlotte Bronte.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Can't argue with a classic

    The story-telling is incomparably eloquent, even though the story is one of brutal personalities commiting callous acts against a bleak, harsh landscape. Taken in the context of the circumstances and time when the story takes place, the unromantic nature of the Catherine and Heathcliff's love is understandable. Nothing about the story is going to warm your heart but this book qualifies as a must ready for me based on originality and writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Brithish Writing at it's Best

    Ms. Bronte was an excellent writer. I never read the book in high school so I decieded to read it now and it's wonderful. Highly reccomend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    The Best of the Classics

    Wuthering Heights is my personal favorite of all the wonderful "Classics" of great literature. While the diction may at times become confusing and unclear, upon finishing this book, the reader will most definitely LOVE it as I did (hopefully). A love story that does not end as one would think surpasses the simplicity and predictability of a "Romeo and Juliet" type of story. The twisting plot, though sometimes tedious, will in the end prove to be a well thought out and in my opinion geniusly written novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    Wuthering Heights

    I somewhat enjoyed reading Wuthering Heights. The characters and their stories are certainly some of the most complicated I have ever encountered. The whole story centers around the undying love between Heathcliff and Catherine and how their love affects their actions and others around them.
    I was not sure whether to hate or love the main characters, Heathcliff and Catherine. Heathcliff at first seems to be a crazed, cruel man who does not care about other people. As his history is revealed however, he transforms into a broken hearted lover intent on revenge. I sympathized with him up to a certain extent. His cruelty toward people who have never done anything to harm him seemed harsh. Catherine is a spoiled, arrogant, and headstrong girl. I disagreed with many of her actions, including the one to marry Edgar Linton. She did that, not out of love, but because she wished to gain social status; a decision I felt was selfish and shallow.
    Wuthering Heights is not the easiest book to read, especially considering the fact that it was written in the 1800's. Much of the language and culture of the story seems foreign to readers now. Although I had difficulty understanding the language of this book, I did not find it difficult to understand the themes of it. It seems that Emily Bronte's themes transcend the changes in culture and language. I clearly understood her theme of undying love represented in both Heathcliff and Catherine's relationship and Hareton and Catherine's (daughter of Edgar Linton and Catherine). The theme of revenge also runs strong. The later half of the story surrounds Heathcliff's vengeful actions.
    A feeling of ominous darkness surrounds the plot. I felt slightly depressed while reading this book. Ghostly appearances and the dark setting add to the mystery of the story. Although slightly perturbed by the disturbingly shallow and cruel characters, dark themes, and images in Wuthering Heights, I enjoyed the original plot of it. Although Wuthering Heights is confusing, it is a good book to read if you are hungry for a story about the fierce and dark passion between two people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wuthering heights

    i absolutely loved this book. i would highly recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I chose to read it!!!

    Unlike most, I wasn't required to read this novel in high school. It came to me with the writings in the book series of "Twighlight" and the novel "Evermore". It caught my attention that it was a book mentioned in both stories... Bellas's favorite :)... so to understand what they were talking about, I decided to read it for myself. It carried me away. The detail of characters... the depth of the story... the darkness with a silver lining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    Bah!

    Better than Jane Eyre?!? Yeah right! At least I can sympathize with those characters. Everybody in this book are useless, hateful creatures who invoke only pain to their both fellow characters, and the poor, sad readers who have to hear their stupid, whining complaints.<BR/>Don't read this book unless you have to.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    i was so disapointed!

    i bought this after my new years resolution to read all the classics and started with this book. i think it is the writing style and wording the threw me off with this book, it didnt seem to flow and was difficult for me to finish. and it is supposed to be one of the greatest books ever, ad i couldnt pick it up!! very disapointing, the way the story writes, is a good book but badly writen.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    My favorite book from the Bronte sisters

    Emily Bronte wrote a novel that is much better than Jane Eyre because Wuthering Heights deals with the complex relationships between the characters and is less far-fetched. Catherine and Heathcliff love each other but their love for one another is destructive to everyone else and each other. The supporting characters set up road blocks in Catherine and Heathcliff's relationship, but even if they were together, they probably would not have last since there relationship is so volatile. The dynamics of the relationships are engaging for the reader.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Absolutely Horrible in Every Way, Shape, and Form!

    Okay, so I am into classics. I often read people's reviews saying some are boring and I don't think anything of that person but that they are an complete idiot. Now, parts of this book were boring. But that is not the only reason it gets one star. Firstly, I hated the way it was told. I was at first confused at who was speaking, because I thought it would be third-person telling the story or first-person through Cathy or Heathcliff. Yet it's this guy who was never in the 'important' part of the story. I felt so disconnected from Cathy and Heathcliff as the narrator heard it from the servant who knew them, and disliked the hero and heroine! I am a reader who despises when people are complete idiots. Mistakes happen, yes. But its so frustrating when they act so stupid and rashly as these characters do! Even those who are emotional and passionate have SOME sort of common sense! I have no pity for the characters and could not relate to them at all, because they were so stupid and idiotic! I cannot agree with people who think its a story of 'true love' and blah blah blah. Sorry, but if you were REALLY in love with somebody, you wouldn't have done anything that Cathy and Heathcliff did. And to those of you who have read the Twilight series 'which I sure is many of you' I agree with Edward! To quote him, 'It's not a love story, it's a hate story.'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a difficult book for me to read. The wording and style

    This was a difficult book for me to read. The wording and style was different from other Barnes and Noble Classics that I've read. It took me a while to get through it. But once I did, I really started to appreciate it. It was a darker look on romance and I like how the real story was told by his caretaker. Overall, a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Considering the difficulties getting published

    How did they manage before typewriters and good postal service? What family of writers could do the same today? Very modern story of disfunctional family with abused wife an alcoholic wreck a sadistic rags to riches recluse and film noir in each scene including the lover's ghost. Pagecounter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

      Emily Bronte¿s Wuthering Heights set in the late 16th century

      Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights set in the late 16th century and the early 17th century had many aspects that made it both effective and ineffective.
                With a fluctuation of narrators in Wuthering Heights, a fluctuation of perspectives are also present. Throughout the story, Lockewood and Nelly serve as the two main narrators. Between their stories, readers are granted with both different points of views and different versions of the lives of Wuthering Height’s characters. In addition, other characters’ narrations, like Heathcliff’s and Isabella’s, allow the reader to delve deeper into the internal thoughts, motives, and emotions of Wuthering Height’s most crucial characters. However, as more narrators contribute to the story, such as Heathcliff and Isabella, confusion and disorganization are prone to develop.
                Bronte provides a wide variety of literary techniques, like imagery and metaphors, which make the story effective. Wuthering Heights and Thrushcross Grange are compared to one another with a sufficient amount of detail through imagery. Wuthering Heights is pictured as a home on top of a hill that has a very dark and evil look to it and is where an abundant amount of bad, stormy weather takes place. This helps the reader better understand why the residents of Wuthering Heights are vastly associated with abuse, revenge, and mistreatment. Thrushcross Grange is described as the home that is down in the valley and is well decorated. The home’s description helps the reader understand why social status and mannerism is important in that home. With the description of the two homes metaphors comparing the two are drawn. 
                A prominent literary device that Bronte uses throughout the story is the repetitive use of flashbacks that end up being so heavily needed. Nelly, a servant, explained the relationship between Healthcliff and Catherine along with the Earnshaw’s and Linton’s to Lockewood through the use of flashbacks. These flashbacks allow Lockewood along with the reader to gain knowledge about what pre-occurring events took place. Without the addition of these flashbacks the reader wouldn’t have insight on the relationships between the characters. The main importance of this literary device is to inform the audience and explain the plot thoroughly.
                Emily Bronte is very effective through her use of doubling throughout the novel. Bronte shows the similarities between Catherine Earnshaw and her daughter Cathy Linton. Even though the mother died in labor they resemble one another in that they are both head strong, imprudent, and egotistic. In the story they are shown to double with one another when the narrater explains that Catherine has slapped Edgar and later on Cathy slaps Hareton. Another form of doubling in the story are the houses. Wuthering Heights and Thrushcross Grange are both surrounded by gates and moors. Both properties are separated by gates which keep the estates away from the outside world and more importantly one another. The moors also surround both houses which shows that the properties are secluded and uncultivated. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Firepelt

    Sorry have to go to bed for reals bye see ya at 9:00 tomorrow kk ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 887 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 45