Customer Reviews for

Wuthering Heights (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 815 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(108)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A Great Classic Read

This book will always and forever be one of my favorites. The characters are very unconventional in the fact that they are created as flawed and real human beings. The way that Catherine Earnshaw was such a selfish human was realistic to me. The way that Heathcliff was ...
This book will always and forever be one of my favorites. The characters are very unconventional in the fact that they are created as flawed and real human beings. The way that Catherine Earnshaw was such a selfish human was realistic to me. The way that Heathcliff was so cruel, but loved Catherine so much was realistic.
The structure of the book was beautiful as well as the writing.
I would suggest this to people who enjoy classic literature. I would not suggest this to most people who have read Stephenie Meyers' "Twilight" without them knowing that the love affair between Catherine and Heathcliff is not at all healthy and slightly disturbing. Its not like Edward and Bella.

posted by CatieCat75 on May 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

okay book

I read this book because it was mention in Twilight and because it was written by one of the Bronte sisters. I really was not that into it because it was so hateful and selfish.We all make mistakes but the ones they made were big ones. I would not recommend this book to...
I read this book because it was mention in Twilight and because it was written by one of the Bronte sisters. I really was not that into it because it was so hateful and selfish.We all make mistakes but the ones they made were big ones. I would not recommend this book to anyone who does not want to read about hateful people. This book shows the dark side about love and how their love and themselves destroyed them and the people around them.

posted by volleyplayer on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    okay book

    I read this book because it was mention in Twilight and because it was written by one of the Bronte sisters. I really was not that into it because it was so hateful and selfish.We all make mistakes but the ones they made were big ones. I would not recommend this book to anyone who does not want to read about hateful people. This book shows the dark side about love and how their love and themselves destroyed them and the people around them.

    9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not my cup of tea.

    Well. That was a downer. Big surprise, I know. Was that a love story? A warning? A testimony to cousins marrying? The story of Catherine and Healthcliff, and Heathcliff's revenge on her family. I don't understand why he's such a romantic character. Is it because any piece of humanity he may have had was destroyed by her and yet all he wanted was to be with her in death? Is that romantic? I thought he was a terrible, terrible man. The pages I enjoyed most were approximately the last twenty. I very much enjoyed Hareton and Catherine's relationship, but the rest made me sad and gloomy, which seems to be the predominate theme. I could understand and relate to it much better now than when I first read it, at twelve, but it's not the type I'd read for pleasure again.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I know that many people love this book, I however cannot. I have

    I know that many people love this book, I however cannot. I have read this book several times at different points in time. There are many great qualities about the book, just not enough to take it out of the mud for me.
    The characterization is smart, yet not enough. There are many plot twists, however there is just too many peek-aboos that just doesn't add up and doesn't make sense.

    It's great to read the descriptions of the England moors, castles and different characters' depictions, unfortunately though depictions alone do not make the story. It's one of those classics that is a must read for the sake of learning that not everything that is written a long time ago is a great book. This I think was a great attempt at a great novel, unfortunately for us readers Bronte fell short of the threshold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Next Res

    Next Res

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Upsetting

    I made myself read this novel because of its good ratings and the brilliance of the author. Aside from this, the story is just upsetting because of the selfish and mean attitudes of the heroine and her Heathcliff. Never in my life had I read about such ego-centric main characters that made themselves miserable and destroyed the happiness of everyone else around them. I finished reading it more out of duty than entertainment, as it just made me angry at the actions the characters took in each situation. They just reveled at their helplessness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I never understand why classics with such strange & evil a story can be highly rated

    I thought this was just a strange and outlook on love. Everyone is so evil to each other. It has some times when it's enjoyable and interesting but overall I couldn't really get into the feelings of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    highly disappointing

    I'm a bookworm and have read wide and large both in english and spanish and also in french and this is the first claassic thad deeply disappoints me. I'm struggling to finish it, had it been by a contenporary author i would have put it down already. To me there is no plot, no characters per se, no love story. The only things I have truly enjoyed are cathy's masterpieces of love both in the kitchen with nelly and just before she dies with heathcliff, If the hole piece had been written in the same stile of passion and anguish it would have been a very different pie. But as it stands i can see no love story. Sorry folks. I'll keepo enjoying Jane Austen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Okay Book- wouldn't recommended

    I would not recommend Wuthering Heights to anyone. It has a lot of drama in it. If you like drama this is a book for you. It was very hard to read. I would recommend teenagers to read it when they are older. It has a lot of different characters in it. The author uses different names for the same character. For example: Ellen, Nelly and Mrs. Dean are the same character. At the beginning of the book it was really confusing. The book just jumped right into the story; it didn't explain what was happening. I figure out what was happening at the end of the book. Also the beginning was really slow, I got really bore. Most of the book is flashbacks. There are a lot of deaths in the book. Some of the main characters are: Heathcliff, Catherine, Mr. Linton, Cathy, Linton, Ellen, Hareton, and Mr. Lockwood. Mrs. Dean is telling the story of Wuthering Heights to Mr. Lockwood. The whole story is from Mrs. Dean, the servant, point of view. I think it would be better if the story were told by a different character's point of view. The setting is in England, 1800s, and mostly takes place at Thrushcross Grange and Wuthering Heights. The story is basically about Heathcliff who loves Catherine but Catherine doesn't love him back. Catherine marries Mr. Linton. Catherine gets sick then she dies giving birth to Cathy. Heathcliff seeks revenge and makes Cathy's life, as miserably has possible. Like I said it has a lot of drama in it. It is just like the story Romeo and Juliet. Cathy never disobeys her father but she has been stuck on her land for all her life. She never has been to town and she is thirteen years of age. When her father leaves to take care of his sister who is sick, Cathy takes her horse and rides to a cave that she has been told of but never has been there. She stops at Wuthering Heights for a rest. Ellen finds that she is gone and walks to Wuthering Heights were Cathy is. Cathy finds that she has a cousin there. Ellen hurries and drags her home. Ellen told Cathy that she is never to go to Wuthering Heights again. The same is with Juliet she has never disobeyed her father but she has never seen the world. When she meets Romeo she disobeys her father because love can't be broken. The word choice is okay, there are occasionally a few swear words but other than that, the words weren't great or bad. The words could use a little "spice," but maybe that is just me. It says on the back of the book "One of the most haunting and atmospheric love stories ever written." But I disagree with it; I don't see the love story in it and it is not haunting. The reason I didn't like it is because it had a lot of drama, and it wasn't modern day, so it was confusing to read. The story was written in the time 1800s, so the customs are different.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    Absolutely Terrible

    I think this book is a bluff. I have heard nothing but good reviews from friends and other books that reference it. It stinks. This book is the kind of book you read if you have no other book or if you are extremely bored and have A LOT of time on your hands. This was a hard nay extremely painful and slow plot and the characters had no depth or real meaning. I think this book is a waste of time. Also on top of that, i was forced to read it in 2 days. There were some good parts but over all i really did not like this book. I never in my life have hated a book, but there is a first time for everything. I personally think those who love this book are either trying to be like Bella (twilight), extremely demented, or just interesting, but everyone has their opinions. On the contrary, I suggest reading it for the enticing vocabulary and because it is a classic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    At a loss to explain why this book is considered a classic

    Reading this book was a chore.I only finished it because I hate to leave things I start unfinished.

    The story is not entertaining. The characters lack the depth needed to make it interesting, and they are not very likeable so its hard to muster the energy needed to care about whats happening to them. The "world of Wuthering Heights" is disfunctional, devoid of beauty and charm, and depressing. I am giving it 2 stars instead of 1 because all things considered its not the worse book I ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A challenging read, but dark

    I found this first book of our book club dark. Revenge is the main characters whole purpose throughout the book. Characters are pushed into situations that they would rather not be in just because of one man vengance behavior. Sad story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Surprisingly boring

    I am usually very open minded about such 'classic' books, but this one just doesn't make sense. The characters are hard to like and don't have much motivation for their actions. It's a bunch of crazy people running around making each other miserable. On the bright side, the way the story is told in the first half or so, is better than later on. The story loses steam. I couldn't pay attention any longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    Too boring for words to describe

    I have read many of the books from the classic titles. I have thoroughly enjoyed all but this one. As I began reading this book I wasn't surprised that it being a classic, started out a bit boring. But as I continued reading, I lost hope that the slow plot line and mundane mood of the story would cease. 'A boring book' no story should ever be summarized so bluntly, except for this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Waste of Time

    If I wanted to be emmersed in disappointment, frustration, and spite, I would turn on the news. Can you die of pure insanity? What exactly did people die of in this book? spite? a broken heart? sadness? I didnt think the book was realistic enough to be interesting. Everyone was miserable from the time they were at born to the time they died (misteriously of a broken heart) I wasnt satisfied with the ending, and the story led me to a place I dread to even emagine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3