Customer Reviews for

Wuthering Heights (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 814 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(107)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A Great Classic Read

This book will always and forever be one of my favorites. The characters are very unconventional in the fact that they are created as flawed and real human beings. The way that Catherine Earnshaw was such a selfish human was realistic to me. The way that Heathcliff was ...
This book will always and forever be one of my favorites. The characters are very unconventional in the fact that they are created as flawed and real human beings. The way that Catherine Earnshaw was such a selfish human was realistic to me. The way that Heathcliff was so cruel, but loved Catherine so much was realistic.
The structure of the book was beautiful as well as the writing.
I would suggest this to people who enjoy classic literature. I would not suggest this to most people who have read Stephenie Meyers' "Twilight" without them knowing that the love affair between Catherine and Heathcliff is not at all healthy and slightly disturbing. Its not like Edward and Bella.

posted by CatieCat75 on May 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Buyer Beware! NO illustrations!

I purchased this classic book over other less costly ebook editions because it was advertised as including "beautiful illustrations". IT DOES NOT HAVE ANY ILLUSTRATIONS! I was very disappointed, and with ebooks, once you click on "buy", you are stuck with the book! Sham...
I purchased this classic book over other less costly ebook editions because it was advertised as including "beautiful illustrations". IT DOES NOT HAVE ANY ILLUSTRATIONS! I was very disappointed, and with ebooks, once you click on "buy", you are stuck with the book! Shame on the publisher for deceptive advertising!

posted by 5958835 on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Classic Read

    This book will always and forever be one of my favorites. The characters are very unconventional in the fact that they are created as flawed and real human beings. The way that Catherine Earnshaw was such a selfish human was realistic to me. The way that Heathcliff was so cruel, but loved Catherine so much was realistic.
    The structure of the book was beautiful as well as the writing.
    I would suggest this to people who enjoy classic literature. I would not suggest this to most people who have read Stephenie Meyers' "Twilight" without them knowing that the love affair between Catherine and Heathcliff is not at all healthy and slightly disturbing. Its not like Edward and Bella.

    43 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this story

    It is the classic crazy love story. The two main charcaters, Cathy and Heathcliff, are madly in love with each other, but both feel it is an impossible love. Cathy marries money in hopes to help Heathcliff, Heathcliff runs off to better himself in hopes to deserve Cathy. It is a mixed up story full of fantastic charcters and an ever twisting plot. And it has, I believe, one of the most romantic endings ever written. I highly recommend this book!

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Gothically spellbinding!

    Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights is my favorite gothic romance classics of all times!<BR/><BR/>I like the format in which the narration is structured, where the story was shared between Ms. Dean and Lockwood. Bronte did a great job of balancing the narrative in a way where I was never confused on who was telling the story. At times, I sensed Nelly's biased toward certain characters, but her detail and recount was thorough and engaging. Telling it in Nelly and Lockwood's perspective allowed me to see more into the characters and their desires, motives and struggles, even after the climactic event of Catherine's death. This could not have been possible if it was told in Heathcliff or Catherine's perspective.<BR/><BR/>I noticed throughout the novel how Bronte used parallel elements to compare and contrast people, places and things in her story. For example, Wuthering Heights was painted as an unrefined and dark home, where Thrushgrove Grange was described as polished, gentle and inviting similar to the inhabitants of each residence. In addition, Cathy and young Catherine were different, yet very similar in many ways. She used this style throughout her novel; these are just two examples that help paint a well-rounded picture of the events and the overall storyline.<BR/><BR/>Most of all, the novel is such a passionate tale of a doomed love between two people who can never be together in their life time. Even though Heathcliff is portrayed as a malicious and vengeful person, my compassion for him never wavered. At times, I found myself being a proponent of his efforts, especially when enacting revenge upon Hindley. He was my favorite character throughout the novel despite his acts because I could sense Heathcliff's passion and true love for Cathy even after her death when he was more determined to pose revenge on those who kept them apart. If it were merely lust for Cathy, his efforts would have ended when she died. This is truly a love story that cannot be fulfilled in their lifetime. <BR/><BR/>Overall, I was glad to see Bronte structure a happy ending by joining young Catherine and Hareton because in a sense it was like she joined Heathcliff and Catherine and gave them their happy ending.<BR/><BR/>This is a novel I will read over and over again!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Enjoyable classic romance

    The reading was a bit hard to follow in the beginning but as I read on and got more aquainted with the characters it began to become easier to read. I read it in two days the book was that good. My first instinct with to loathe Heathcliff and Catherine for there relationship, but in the end I realized that circumstances were hard and that love did win out.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    More then skin deep.

    After reading some of the scathing reviews on this book I had to put in my two cents. Wuthering Heights is by no means a dainty, happy book. But it has a deeper meaning in my opinion. I believe when Emily Bronte wrote this she was giving an example of an extreme. The pain one would incur from unrequited love and the misery of unchecked revenge. I think she speaks to the sensible side of all who read her works. To caution against foolish inclinations and to show how you should react to situations and what could happen if you reaction is unreasonable. For those of you who have read it, I am comparing Heathcliffe and Cathy with Hareton and young Cathy. For those of you who haven't, just pay attention, look deeper, see what you think. But please, don't take this work as a sad work of fiction, look beyond the surface and see how this could apply to your own life. See how even though things could be unfair, cruel, and hard that life can still be worth living because you never know what could be waiting for you in the end.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    hands down best book ever written

    I don't think I can express how much I love this book! Heathcliff and Catherine's love story is so passionate and so much more different than any other I have read. The characters seem so real, it's hard to imagine that they only exist in writing. Every time I read this I find myself falling more and more in love with it--and I catch myself finding things that I missed before. You can't fully appreciate this novel unless you read it more than once! Bronte's writing definitely challenges readers but it is well worth it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Superb in Every Way

    This is one of the best books I have ever had the pleasure to read. Emily Bronte's masterpiece thoroughly captivated my attention for its entire duration, never dulling for a moment. Without spoiling a plot of epic proportions, it is sufficient to say that this is perhaps the best novel involving tragedy and romance ever written.

    Character development is wonderfully descriptive in Wuthering Heights, while still being concise and clear in reference to which person is being referred to. The brilliance of the landscape was beautifully portrayed and added considerably to the agenda of the plot. Furthermore, the manner is which the story was told was equally satisfying.

    Wuthering Heights was an all-around fantastic read. Personally, I can find no faults with it whatsoever. I -highly- suggest this novel for anyone. It will always be an absolute fixture in my library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    Love This Book

    I loved this book! I heard about it in Twilight and couldnt put it down. At first the old fashioned talk was hard to understand but i got used to it soon. I love how unlike in Twilight, there really isnt a happy ending. Heathcliff and Catherine are made for each other but they make each other miserable too. I love how Heathcliff is so unlike Edward in Twilight. I think this book is just as romantic as Twilight but different. Its amazing and everyone should read it!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    Have read before will read again!

    Love the Bronte sisters! Though must admit love Jane Eyre a bit better than Wuthering Heights, but great read and nothing like the sister's work! The Barnes and Noble Classice series is especially enjoyable as there are references and footnotes...worth the purchase! A classic for a reason...give it your time!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Idk

    Was I the only one who came looking for this book while reading the Harry Styles fanfiction called 'After'.? Haha if you like One Direction you should really read it on Wattpad.
    -Alyssaxx

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Wuthering Heights: A Glimpse into Heathcliff

    Wuthering Heights is a classic novel of the 1850¿s which portrays the idea of how time can change a character. Heathcliff is one of the main characters in the novel, whom at first seems to be illustrated as the protagonist in the novel. As the novel develops, Heathcliff's character slowly drifts away from the protagonist role which makes him the most unusual hero. The story is narrated by one of Heathcliff's caretakers, she tells the story of Heathcliff's life to a tenant(Lockwood). The first encounter the reader has with Heathcliff is when he is brought home from the streets. Heathcliff was an orphan who was taken in by Mr.Earnshaw who has a daughter named Catherine. Heathcliff eventually falls in love with her. Catherine marries Linton and that single event impacts Heathcliff in such a way that redefines your average love story.

    Heathcliff in the story develops unpredictably throughout the book. Initially, the reader is lead to believe that Heathcliff is strong individual.This is proved by the fact that he came from such humble beginnings and is able to raise his status to a wealthy gentleman. However,after a brief encounter with Heathcliff, the tenant describes him as a ¿solitary neighbour that I shall be troubled with¿. This shows that he Heathcliff seems to have a dark side that one should be aware about.

    Emily Bronte lets us know that Heathcliff isn¿t an average character. The reader sees this point of view through the eyes of Linton; he describes how his ¿black eyes¿ withdraw suspiciously under his brows at Linton¿s approach.His dark side evolves through his desire to get revenge and the horrible things he commits.This can be seen by him kidnapping Catherine's daughter. Such inconsistent actions keeps the readers engrossed with Heathcliff's character but they never really get to understand the true essence of Heathcliff.

    His mysterious behavior intrigues the reader to such a point that the novel cannot be put down. The impact that Catherine's rejection had on Heathcliff was immense, she not only denied his proposal but also ridiculed him for it because of the difference of their social status. The resentment of Catherine's refusal results in a new vengeful attitude that takes over Heathcliff which subsequently causes his self destruction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Brithish Writing at it's Best

    Ms. Bronte was an excellent writer. I never read the book in high school so I decieded to read it now and it's wonderful. Highly reccomend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    The Best of the Classics

    Wuthering Heights is my personal favorite of all the wonderful "Classics" of great literature. While the diction may at times become confusing and unclear, upon finishing this book, the reader will most definitely LOVE it as I did (hopefully). A love story that does not end as one would think surpasses the simplicity and predictability of a "Romeo and Juliet" type of story. The twisting plot, though sometimes tedious, will in the end prove to be a well thought out and in my opinion geniusly written novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    Wuthering Heights

    I somewhat enjoyed reading Wuthering Heights. The characters and their stories are certainly some of the most complicated I have ever encountered. The whole story centers around the undying love between Heathcliff and Catherine and how their love affects their actions and others around them.
    I was not sure whether to hate or love the main characters, Heathcliff and Catherine. Heathcliff at first seems to be a crazed, cruel man who does not care about other people. As his history is revealed however, he transforms into a broken hearted lover intent on revenge. I sympathized with him up to a certain extent. His cruelty toward people who have never done anything to harm him seemed harsh. Catherine is a spoiled, arrogant, and headstrong girl. I disagreed with many of her actions, including the one to marry Edgar Linton. She did that, not out of love, but because she wished to gain social status; a decision I felt was selfish and shallow.
    Wuthering Heights is not the easiest book to read, especially considering the fact that it was written in the 1800's. Much of the language and culture of the story seems foreign to readers now. Although I had difficulty understanding the language of this book, I did not find it difficult to understand the themes of it. It seems that Emily Bronte's themes transcend the changes in culture and language. I clearly understood her theme of undying love represented in both Heathcliff and Catherine's relationship and Hareton and Catherine's (daughter of Edgar Linton and Catherine). The theme of revenge also runs strong. The later half of the story surrounds Heathcliff's vengeful actions.
    A feeling of ominous darkness surrounds the plot. I felt slightly depressed while reading this book. Ghostly appearances and the dark setting add to the mystery of the story. Although slightly perturbed by the disturbingly shallow and cruel characters, dark themes, and images in Wuthering Heights, I enjoyed the original plot of it. Although Wuthering Heights is confusing, it is a good book to read if you are hungry for a story about the fierce and dark passion between two people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    wuthering heights

    i absolutely loved this book. i would highly recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    My favorite book from the Bronte sisters

    Emily Bronte wrote a novel that is much better than Jane Eyre because Wuthering Heights deals with the complex relationships between the characters and is less far-fetched. Catherine and Heathcliff love each other but their love for one another is destructive to everyone else and each other. The supporting characters set up road blocks in Catherine and Heathcliff's relationship, but even if they were together, they probably would not have last since there relationship is so volatile. The dynamics of the relationships are engaging for the reader.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Firepelt

    Sorry have to go to bed for reals bye see ya at 9:00 tomorrow kk ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Tomcat

    Ok follows gleefully

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Oaktree

    Stealthly pads along with the other cats

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    WispFang

    Sits down slowly. "You were just here, sleeping."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20