BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wuthering Heights (Fourth Edition) (Norton Critical Editions)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I read Wuthering Heights in high school, and when I saw the paperback I wanted to read it again. I enjoyed it even more years later. I suggest revisiting books that were required reading in school.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    Where is the love?

    I started reading this book and did not really know what to expect. I tried to come into it with an open mind since I am not much of reader. I think that Emily Bronte structured this book with sheer genius. For being her first and only book the structure is quite complex. I was a little overwhelmed in the first 5 or 6 chapters because it took a while to get use to the writing style of the book. The reading is fairly tough because of the time period it is set in; especially when a character named Joseph starts talking. I think that the characters are well represented are gone into in quite detail. It is sad that the characters that are immature, unstable, self-absorbed and hell-bent on revenge. This is to be considered one of the greatest love stories ever told. Ironically there is not much love exhibited throughout the novel from anyone. It is more of a tragedy than anything and if you are into tragic love stories and genius novel structure than this book would be for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Great Book Depending on the Reader

    This book is very complex for an average person to read. The plot itself is interesting as towards the end you want to find out what happens. One strength that this story has is that you feel for the characters that are in the story. A great book is one that the reader can zone in on a character and understand the emotions that the character is going through. The main characters Heathcliff and Catherine are very relatable. Women can feel for Catherine as she struggles to find her true love and tries to find the right man. Ultimately, though, she picks the wrong one. Men can feel for Heathcliff as well. He is a guy who struggles to find success but ends up finding it, even if he takes a toll getting there. One negative that I feel the book has is that it is very hard to read. For example, in the first five chapters, the author was very descriptive to the point where she was overly descriptive. Also, at certain chapters, it is hard to figure out sometimes who is talking as pronouns were used more than proper nouns. All in all, if you like reading books, then this book could be your cup of coffee but it you are a casual reader, you might get bored and confused with this book quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Good Read!!

    It was a difficult book to get into at first to be honest. Not an easy read for me until I got past the first couple of chapters, not something I strongly favor in my choice of reading. As the story started to develop though, I found it a very active and intriguing novel, something I truly do love when it comes to books. I think Wuthering Heights is a very good discussion book, as I read it was easier to understand while discussing and interacting with the character as they developed through others understanding. One character Joseph was very hard to understand, he spoke in a broken English type of slang, but the version of the book that I had, actually had a notes to the text portion to the novel which explain what Joseph said. I really appreciated that assistant to the book. All in all I really did like reading Wuthering Heights, I thought it was a great story and loved how it was pulling me in more and more. It is very much a mystery novel, trying to figure out who loves who, and which children belongs to which couple, what Heathcliff will do next, and why certain characters act how they do. If you like an intelligently written novel that keeps you guessing, Wuthering Heights is the novel for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    A True Classic

    As expected, this classic tale by Emile Bronte was a wonderful read. The Norton edition added to the enjoyment. The critiques from the time this was originally published were interesting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Timeless Theme

    There are two academic reasons why Wuthering Heights is a "must read" novel:

    Wuthering Heights portrays insight into the Romance literature written during the early Victorian Period, (1837- 1870), and the paradigm shift that defines literature written during this period.

    Wuthering Heights should be a "must read" because of its insight into timeless human frailties typically highlighted during the Romantic Period. The novel reveals the destructive, malignant, oppressive underbelly of rigid social class formalities. Emily Bronte gives the reader the opportunity to walk alongside three generations of characters who survive by treading water in a sea of absurdity while gasping for air in the wake of an almost total void for human compassion and understanding. One philosophical response to the text is to ponder the questions concerning the needs and preferences of the individual, and to decide if human dynamics should be considered valid and important elements to one's life journey equal to the demands of the social class roles established through biological birthright, or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3