Customer Reviews for

Wuthering High (Bard Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    Heathcliff's Back!

    For those that have read and loved Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights, you'll surely enjoy this novel.
    I think the originality is great and the writing is humorous.
    This is a great book for anyone who is looking for something funny, nostalgic, and a little bit of teen romance. Oh, and let's not forget dead classic writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jocelyn Pearce for TeensReadToo.com

    WUTHERING HIGH is a novel by Cara Lockwood published by MTV Books, and I must say, the MTV Books are certainly much better than readers might expect from a name known mostly for reality television. In fact, these books are fabulous, no matter what you're expecting, and Cara Lockwood's story is no exception. In WUTHERING HIGH, Miranda Tate is a spoiled but still likeable character who, after a few mistakes involving her Dad's car and stepmother's credit card, is sent off to Bard Academy, a boarding school for misbehaving teenagers. <BR/><BR/>At Bard Academy, a few things happen that Miranda didn't exactly expect from what she thinks she knows about reform schools. She's having terrifying nightmares involving Kate Shaw, a girl who went missing from the school fifteen years earlier. When she tries to escape through the woods, she finds herself going in circles. One of her teachers, Ms. W., always leaves wet footprints. As if those little oddities aren't odd enough, there are some eerie coincidences concerning classics such as DRACULA, JANE EYRE, and WUTHERING HEIGHTS. For instance, there's Heathcliff, remarkably similar to the character in WUTHERING HEIGHTS, who seems to think that Miranda is really Cathy, another character from the novel. Something weird is most certainly going on, and Miranda and her new friends Hana, Samir, and Blade have to find out what it is--fast. <BR/><BR/>This is a book that is definitely worth reading! Ms. Lockwood's characters are interesting, well done, and realistic, and readers will be able to relate to Miranda's situations with her parents and friends (although perhaps not teachers). The character of Miranda also shows realistic character development instead of being the same slightly bratty fifteen-year-old throughout the book. Aside from her great characters, the story in WUTHERING HIGH is entertaining and original. It's better than just another overused idea with a few differences in details and characters. This novel is one that will keep readers hooked from the very first page to the end, and eagerly awaiting the next novel from Cara Lockwood about Bard Academy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Very Good

    I got this book on a whim and I ended really enjoying it. It's a great, quick read for anyone who loves literature and supernatural all rolled into one. The writing was good and the characters were well thought out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Wuthering High: A Bard Academy Novel

    Well, overall it was awesome, and well-executed... but it was a total cliffhanger at the end, like the set up at the end of Pirates of the Carribean 2. It was a smart tactic, but it really did not need it. Was it because the writer was not confident? I'm going too far. Fantastic plotline, something I look for. I know good writers when I read their books, so I hope this one keeps on. I'm excited about semester two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    loved this book

    this book was great, i can't wait for the next one to come out!! i really liked heathcliff, i hope she ends up with him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2006

    Magnificent Tale of Horror

    ...'REMEMBER WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THE LIGHTS GO OUT' should be plastered all over this book. This book is one of suspense, mystery, and for all the lovesick girls out there, a little romance. Wuthering High reveals the life of a spunky teen who finds herself living at Bard Academy, a place for 'misguided' teens. The main character, Miranda, learns she is battling fictional characters from books written by the greats: Emily Bronte, Earnest Hemmingway, and many others. While having to focus on school work and avoid her Satin-worshipping dorm mate, she has to worry about her love life. She falls for a fictional character known as Heathcliff and yet is entranced by the schools newest reform student- Ryan Kent - A gorgeous guy from her old school, where not everyone is 'different'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    never bored at bard.

    this story kept me interested the whole way through. i got creeped out a couple of times, but i scare easily. I bought it around 8 o'clock last night and i couldnt put it down! i read it all in one night, i finished it around 2 AM this morning. It was one of my candy books, as my mom calls them, a fairly easy read but one i didnt regret! Cara Lockwood has spun an interesting tale, and i wouldnt mind going to bard myself. I cant wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2006

    Wuthering High: A Bard Academy Novel

    Well, I must say that I did completely fall in love with Blade/Jill the instant I 'met' her... and I think Samir is soooo into her! I am excited about some kind of sequel... I mean, there's still another semester to go, isn't there!?! This was a fun read, and Lockwood did a marvelous job with the entire plot. Bravo, and encore! ps- The end is the best cliffhanger ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    A charming fantasy

    After maxing out her hated step-mother¿s credit card and stealing and crashing her father¿s BMW, both her mother and dad decide to send her to a school that deals with behavior problems. Bard Academy, located on Nowheresville Island off Maine is a dark and foreboding place, gothic architecture with gargoyles on every buildings give it a creepy atmosphere. Miranda knows she is going to hate it when she meets her roommate who has pictures of Satan on her wall and believes in vampires.----------------------- Strange things happen in Bard Academy starting with the light turning on in her closet with her and her roommate in their beds. A boy name Heathcliffe is fixated on her and calls her Cathy and rescue hers whenever a fire breaks out which happens when she hears a cackling laugh. Her school counselor is always wearing wet clothes and drips water wherever she goes. When Miranda learns the truth about what is happening at the school, she and her friends find themselves in danger.------------------ Miranda is angry at her father for abandoning her mother and marrying a bimbo nine years older than she is. Her misbehavior is a way to gain attention from her father who ignores her. The lessons at Bard Academy helps her accept her life as it is not as she would like it to be. She also learns that the only person she can change is herself. Cara Lockwood has written a charming fantasy that sends important messages to teens who will understand them because Miranda, using asides, explains them to herself. This reviewer wood love to see a sequel to WUTHERING HIGH.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2