Customer Reviews for

X Marks the Scot

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Scottish Historical that hit's the mark second time around! Re


Scottish Historical that hit's the mark second time around!

Read on February 06, 2013




BOOK SYNOPSIS








He was a Highland rogue—
wicked with a bow and just as wicked with the ladies.




Declan MacGregor hadn’t a care in the world beyond finding a soft bed and...

Scottish Historical that hit's the mark second time around!

Read on February 06, 2013




BOOK SYNOPSIS








He was a Highland rogue—
wicked with a bow and just as wicked with the ladies.




Declan MacGregor hadn’t a care in the world beyond finding a soft bed and willing woman…until he had to escort Lady Liadain Campbell to the English court. The woman needles him at every turn, but he can’t just abandon her to that vipers’ nest without protection.




She never asked for a bodyguard…




Liadain wasn’t thrilled to be left in the care of her clan’s archrival. It was as if the man never had a lady tell him no before! And yet as whispers of treason swirl through the court and the threat of danger grows ever sharper, her bitter enemy soon becomes the only one she can trust…




My Thoughts








Second book much better than first, connected with characters and enjoyed all the twists and turns of this engaging story.




After reading book 1, Temptation In A Kilt , I had reservations about continuing with this series. Should have known better, book 2 X Marks The Scot was exactly to my liking and a heck of a fun read to boot!




Declan MacGregor is a beautifully handsome typical rogue whose physical beauty allows him to hide that he is also a man who has a compassionate, caring nature as well as a strong sense of honor and duty that he chooses to employ only when he is forced to as it is easier to be footloose and fancy free!




Liadain Campbell is the half-sister of one of Declan's families sworn enemies, an enemy slain by his older brother Ciaran when there was no other recourse after Archie Campbell kidnapped his brother's wife and newborn son as well as Lady Rosalia Armstrong in a bid to start a war that would allow Archie to seize the MacGregor's holdings.




In the previous book Liadain aided in the escape of the hostages and then came to court to petition with King James so she could present proof to prove the innocence of wrong-doing that was laid at Ciaran's feet, the fact that she has no living male relative has left the King with no other option than to make Liadain a ward of the court and so she spends her days wondering when she can leave.




Declan has been sent to court with the admonition to keep an eye on Liadain, he finds her intriguing but at the same time cannot stand the thought of her family name which makes for conflicting interactions between the two. On the one hand Declan sees a beautiful, spirited woman whom he would enjoy spending time with and on the other all he sees is an enemy who he would love to get as far away from as possible. This push/pull behavior is emotionally confusing to Liadain who just wants to leave court and it's pampered privileged inhabitants but has no idea when or if that will ever happen.




As a lover of historical romance set in the Highlands I expect certain things to happen, the male lead must be handsome and devilishly arrogant as well, the female lead must be either a damsel in distress or quite capable of taking care of herself and has a skill set that at some point ends up getting her in hot water. I have both these things in this book, Declan fills the role of the roguish gent to a T and Liadain is someone whose healing skills eventually bring about suspicion of witchcraft which in turn puts her in peril of being tried and condemned by the King if the rumors ever reach his ears.




Add to that mix the background schemes that are set in motion as a plan comes to light that there are those who wish to cause King James removal from the throne and you have the political scandal that I also expect from a book set in this time period.




All in all the romance elements are again part of a formula, what sets it apart is the fact that these two characters really do mesh well with one another when they interact no matter if they are sparring with each other agitatedly or sharing a passionate encounter they are likable and believable together. The secondary plot, the pacing, the character development, the humor, the emotional highs and lows as well as the world building and the action all come together beautifully this second time around and I am now able to say that I am so thankful to have given the series a second chance as this book surpassed my expectations and was very enjoyable reading!




The author's ability to create a story that engages the reader wholly from start to finish has come to life in this tale. Now that I have enjoyed the 2nd book there is hope that the third,whenever it may release, is just as good.












[EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

posted by JackieBCentralTexasJB on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good

This was a good story in my opinion. But it was not marked as part of a series. I think it is at least the second, but more than likely the third in a series and I would be very interested to read the series in order.

posted by 10422909 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Scottish Historical that hit's the mark second time around! Re


    Scottish Historical that hit's the mark second time around!

    Read on February 06, 2013




    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    He was a Highland rogue—
    wicked with a bow and just as wicked with the ladies.




    Declan MacGregor hadn’t a care in the world beyond finding a soft bed and willing woman…until he had to escort Lady Liadain Campbell to the English court. The woman needles him at every turn, but he can’t just abandon her to that vipers’ nest without protection.




    She never asked for a bodyguard…




    Liadain wasn’t thrilled to be left in the care of her clan’s archrival. It was as if the man never had a lady tell him no before! And yet as whispers of treason swirl through the court and the threat of danger grows ever sharper, her bitter enemy soon becomes the only one she can trust…




    My Thoughts








    Second book much better than first, connected with characters and enjoyed all the twists and turns of this engaging story.




    After reading book 1, Temptation In A Kilt , I had reservations about continuing with this series. Should have known better, book 2 X Marks The Scot was exactly to my liking and a heck of a fun read to boot!




    Declan MacGregor is a beautifully handsome typical rogue whose physical beauty allows him to hide that he is also a man who has a compassionate, caring nature as well as a strong sense of honor and duty that he chooses to employ only when he is forced to as it is easier to be footloose and fancy free!




    Liadain Campbell is the half-sister of one of Declan's families sworn enemies, an enemy slain by his older brother Ciaran when there was no other recourse after Archie Campbell kidnapped his brother's wife and newborn son as well as Lady Rosalia Armstrong in a bid to start a war that would allow Archie to seize the MacGregor's holdings.




    In the previous book Liadain aided in the escape of the hostages and then came to court to petition with King James so she could present proof to prove the innocence of wrong-doing that was laid at Ciaran's feet, the fact that she has no living male relative has left the King with no other option than to make Liadain a ward of the court and so she spends her days wondering when she can leave.




    Declan has been sent to court with the admonition to keep an eye on Liadain, he finds her intriguing but at the same time cannot stand the thought of her family name which makes for conflicting interactions between the two. On the one hand Declan sees a beautiful, spirited woman whom he would enjoy spending time with and on the other all he sees is an enemy who he would love to get as far away from as possible. This push/pull behavior is emotionally confusing to Liadain who just wants to leave court and it's pampered privileged inhabitants but has no idea when or if that will ever happen.




    As a lover of historical romance set in the Highlands I expect certain things to happen, the male lead must be handsome and devilishly arrogant as well, the female lead must be either a damsel in distress or quite capable of taking care of herself and has a skill set that at some point ends up getting her in hot water. I have both these things in this book, Declan fills the role of the roguish gent to a T and Liadain is someone whose healing skills eventually bring about suspicion of witchcraft which in turn puts her in peril of being tried and condemned by the King if the rumors ever reach his ears.




    Add to that mix the background schemes that are set in motion as a plan comes to light that there are those who wish to cause King James removal from the throne and you have the political scandal that I also expect from a book set in this time period.




    All in all the romance elements are again part of a formula, what sets it apart is the fact that these two characters really do mesh well with one another when they interact no matter if they are sparring with each other agitatedly or sharing a passionate encounter they are likable and believable together. The secondary plot, the pacing, the character development, the humor, the emotional highs and lows as well as the world building and the action all come together beautifully this second time around and I am now able to say that I am so thankful to have given the series a second chance as this book surpassed my expectations and was very enjoyable reading!




    The author's ability to create a story that engages the reader wholly from start to finish has come to life in this tale. Now that I have enjoyed the 2nd book there is hope that the third,whenever it may release, is just as good.












    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By: Victoria Roberts Published By: Sourcebooks Casablanca Age



    By: Victoria Roberts
    Published By: Sourcebooks Casablanca
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 4
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: Bad Boys of the Highlands #2
    Review:

    "X Marks the Scot" by Victoria Roberts was a good 'Scottish Medieval historical romance and is the second in this series: 'Bad boys of the Highlands #2. This was a fast paced read and will kept you hooked all the way through the novel. The plot coming from both point of views was quite intriguing and I found all of the characters so well developed in this story. I loved the way this author put these two different people finally together (hero & heroine)coming from two different clans. This is were we find Declan(bad boy) not liking the Campbell clan. How will this turn out...you will have to pick up "X Mark the Scots" to find out. Be prepared for a lot of twist and turns. However, before our hero and heroine can come together there was a lots of angst between the two clans and then you have the kings involvement. Being a Highland read you will get many issues such as the arranged marriages, the consequences of treason that went on in that era. I will say there was never a dull moment and if you like a ' Scottish Highlander' where a lots will be going on I would recommend "X Marks the Scot" to you as a good read.


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    I read TEMPTATION IN A KILT and loved that book. Would you belie

    I read TEMPTATION IN A KILT and loved that book. Would you believe me if I said this one was even better? I have found my new favorite author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Good

    This was a good story in my opinion. But it was not marked as part of a series. I think it is at least the second, but more than likely the third in a series and I would be very interested to read the series in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    posted on Romancing the Books blog reveiwed by Robin review

    posted on Romancing the Books blog reveiwed by Robin review copy from Netgalley As a big fan of Highland stories, I jumped at the chance to read this one. You can never read too many. But, as it seems to happen at times sometimes you choose a book by the picture, title or even the name of the author thinking this is going to be great and although you tried to find the greatness it just didn’t capture your heart like you were hoping. It was a good story, but nothing special that stood out.

    In X Marks the Scot, we find strong willed Lady Liadain. Being surrounded by many strong willed men Liadain proved that she was just as good as any of the men. She wasn’t one to lie down and get walked all over. She stood her ground. Not only was she strong but she was just feisty enough that she kept men off kilter not knowing what to expect. But when all is said and done she is gentle just a woman should be.

    Declan even though he tends to be portrayed a little immature most of the time, he also has a sweet yet funny side to his personality. He is also portrayed as a bit of a lady’s man. His take on things is that if the ladies are willing why then shouldn’t he help them out.

    Having been thrown together in a marriage of convenience he blamed Liadain at first. The more time spent together he soon learned she wasn’t to blame for their situation. Declan always the one to look after the ladies feels that Liadain needs to be protected. She soon shows him otherwise. The longer they are together the spark/chemistry grows. To me it seemed rather a slow process. Which at times can be nice but…

    Overall I enjoyed Ms. Roberts Highland story of X Marks the Scot. This is the second in her series of bad boy highlanders. Anyone who is a fan of highland stories will fall in love with this even if it is slow in spots and somewhat predictable. So grab this story when it comes out and travel to court with Liadain and Declan as they find themselves thrown together as he starts off as her bodyguard and moves to being her husband.














    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    X MARKS THE SCOT by Victoria Roberts is an exciting Scottish Med

    X MARKS THE SCOT by Victoria Roberts is an exciting Scottish Medieval historical romance. #2 in the "Bad Boys of the Highlands",but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Temptation in a Kilt". Declan MacGregor,is wicked with the ladies as well as with a bow,which could be deadly. Lady Liadain Campbell,a healer,whose brother was a traitor and an evil man. Follow them on a journey of treason,betrayal,danger,Scottish Highlanders,secrets,intrigue at court,passion and love. As treason is on every corner, Liadain and Declan find something in each other,and the King does too. Liadain is a healer,but some will call he a witch at court,which causes, Declan to make himself her bodyguard. The MacGregor and Campbell clans are bitter enemies,but the King needs the two clans to unite. With passion,they can no longer deny, Declan and Liadain will find they must unite,stop an assassination attempt,save Declan from being accused of treason,accept the King's wishes and save a clan. Fast paced from the first page to the last. Ms. Roberts has written another amazing Medieval Scottish story you won't want to miss. If you enjoy Highlanders, Scotland,the goings on at Court,an action filled story, you will want to read "X Marks the Scot". I loved this story. Ms. Roberts' characters are engaging,enduring,and her plots are intriguing. A not to miss. Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    Another author I recently discovered and love. Though I'm not in

    Another author I recently discovered and love. Though I'm not into historical romance I did find Ms. Roberts wrote a wonderfully told story. You can't help but fall in love with all of her characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    3.5* This is an enjoyable story with a suspenseful story line an

    3.5*
    This is an enjoyable story with a suspenseful story line and a cast of fun and lovable characters but was a bit of a slow read. Declan does not want to escort Liadain to English court but with no family left, but he can’t just abandon her to that vipers’ nest without protection. Declan and Liadain had great chemistry. Declan's protection of Liadain at court which she felt was unneeded, their banter and sexual tension was fun to read. The secondary characters to me made this book more enjoyable. Declan's brothers Ciaran and Aiden and their wives Rosalia and Aisling also James Montgomery are from the first book "Temptation in a Kilt". I'm looking forward to reading "To Wed a Wicked a Highlander"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2014

    This story was very exciting! Declan and Liadain made a very int

    This story was very exciting! Declan and Liadain made a very interesting pair! I enjoyed watching them spar back and forth with each other because they are both very witty and feisty. I read this book right after reading the first book in the series, and it stood on its own very well, but it was so nice how well it was connected to the first book. I loved all the characters so much, seeing more of them made me love this book even more. This book, like the first had plenty of humorous moments, as well as emotional ones. The dialogue in the book really helped suck me into the Highlands and the people that live there! I almost have to catch myself from answering "Aye!" when someone asks me a question. I just didn't want to leave the Highlands. Oh, and it was very easy to imagine Declan and his roguish looks. Victoria Roberts did a great job with all the characters! Her way with words makes it so easy to envision them and their mannerisms! I absolutely loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Great

    I loved Declan and Liadain's book ! All the MacGregor brothers and their ladies stories were fantastic. A great job by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good............................................. Liked t

    Pretty Good.............................................
    Liked that they seemed to be able to communicate.   They tried to talk it out .  In so many romance novels they spend the whole book misunderstanding each other and never say anything.  This book had dialogue.  Liked that about it.  Declan could be a clod at times but she called him on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    A

    Good story, but rambled quite a bit. I didnt like his scorn for Lia. Especially his, no need to consummate, youve already been consummated. I mean come on, this guy was a total man whore! He was mean almost to the end then he loved her. Sad, disconnected part about Anna and John, but maybe theyre in a future book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Victoria Roberts has done it again! This is the second book in h

    Victoria Roberts has done it again! This is the second book in her Bad Boys of the Highlands series and it was just as good as the first. The personalities of these characters are really great and you can picture the scenes in your mind so easily. The hero knows he can get any woman he wants, but there is one woman who could care less if she has his attention or not. 

    Declan MacGregor is the youngest of three brothers, and takes advantage of not having any responsibilities as much as possible. With no plans of marrying any time in the near future, he is happy drinking his ale and constantly flirting with, and possessing the lasses. His brother has put him in charge of escorting their neighbor, Lady Liadain Campbell to the English court. She is a pain in his neck, and he cannot wait to leave her there, but while he is still there he does not have the heart to leave her on her own to deal with all the knaves that are present at court.

    Liadain is not happy to have Declan watching her every move. She only wants to move on with her life and help heal the sick. Hushed words start traveling through court shortly after the first time she treats someone, quickly changing to rumors and before they know it the accusations of witchcraft. Danger comes to both of them when more whispers concerning treason spread. Can they join forces to find the truth and clear their names? Is it possible that working together will allow them to see the real person they have hidden from others? 

    I won a print copy of this book through a contest that Victoria had for her newsletter subscribers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Even better than the first. Loved!

    Even better than the first. Loved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    I really liked her first Highlander but Declan is awesome! Staye

    I really liked her first Highlander but Declan is awesome! Stayed up all night reading this. I had to find out what happened next. Tonight is Alexander's story Can't wait. You will really like this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    LEADERS DEN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    X Marks the Scot More Scottish Highlanders, adventure & mys

    X Marks the Scot

    More Scottish Highlanders, adventure & mystery. 

    We met Declan MacGregor in Temptation in a Kilt.  Declan is the youngest brother to Ciaran.
     Declan had a way with the wenches and was almost always in his cups.

    Declan winds up winning Castle Campbell and as a "bonus" King Hames commands he marry Liadain.  
    His reason being he hopes this will stop the feuding between the two clans. 

    Neither are happy about this arrangement.


    Lady Liadain Campbell appeared toward the end of Temptation in a Kilt.
    She is a healer. Not to mention "A Bloody Campbell" whom the MacGregor's do not like.

    At court she meets Rosalia's mother and the man she was supposed to marry. 


    To find out more about this couple and their story please read and enjoy.

    I recommend this story.  You will laugh, cry and cheer.
    Victoria Roberts wrights so you feel you are a part of her stories.

    I can not wait for her 3rd book to come out and read more about Bad Boys of the Highlands 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    First I have read from this author and I will look up her other

    First I have read from this author and I will look up her other work. This must have been the 2nd or 3rd in a series since there was a some back story with the bros I thought I was missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Very Good Read!

    – Declan MacGregor escorts his clans archrival’s Liadain Campbell to the royal court. There is a competition that Declan wins and his reward is to receive Liadains home castle and her as a wife. The adventures the two get involved in make this a very good read. To find out what happens one will have to read the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    Great Book- love Highlanders you have to get this book!!

    Victoria hit the "Mark" with this book, love her hero's and the way she gets her characters together. Second book in the series- make sure to read Temptation in a Kilt first. Love the bad boys!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3