Customer Reviews for

X&Y

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good quality music. you must give X&Y a try.

    this is good stuff. i love the combination of passionate lyrics and stellar beats... chack it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Listening :)

    Just another Fantastic band to come from Britain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Band Everyone Imitated

    This may be a strange approach to a review but I actually like every odd number song, and less so the even numbered ones. The exceptions are the choral last half of "Fix You", which picks up the pace, and "The Hardest Part" (maybe my favorite track on the album.) The ¿odds¿ are buoyant, catchy marvelous tracks. The ¿evens¿ are slow and uninspiring. Not sure why the slow tempo stuff doesn¿t do it for me on this album. Maybe the up-tempo tracks are just too strong in comparison. The opener, "Square One", has a great guitar line and chugs along. Really opens the album nicely. Then, "What If" grinds everything to all halt, losing all momentum. The beauty of it is lost on me. I think they really blew the track order on this one. Luckily, "White Shadows" picks up the momentum again with more great guitar and layered keyboards. It's the best track on the album. Love the last minute ethereal ¿cool down¿¿nothing like a good organ. This is an A level track to match Square One and The Hardest Part. Throughout the album the guitar sound seems to be straight from U2¿s The Edge. While not absolutely top tier, "Low" keeps the tension high. "The Hardest Part" uses prominent piano to drive the song, reminding me of Bruce Springsteen¿s more rousing, full-band material. The catchy radio staple "Speed of Sound", another nice odd numbered track, reminds me most of Coldplay's previous work. Overall an excellent collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Elevator Music... Uninspired dreg.

    This is a quite disappointing album. The music is boring, every song sounds the same. And Martin's lack of lyrical ability is getting to be too much to handle. The same phrase rears its unorigional head many times in this album... "how do you know unless you try" "if you never try then you'll never know" blah blah blah... this is a good album for people who really have no interest in thought provoking music, or even creative music. Being simple pop background noise, much of this music will probably be found in movie soundtracks as their last album. Check out radiohead's In Rainbows if you're looking for something you've never heard before. it's more accessable than Kid A and Amnesiac for those who prefer more traditional rock/ alternative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautifully Composed

    This album is by far their best so far. I understand why it takes so long for them to write such beautiful songs. I couldn't stop listening to it once I got it. I don't get how you bone-heads can say something so deplorable about Coldplay's music. It makes you sleepy? All the songs sound the same?! Do you people even know what good music is? Have you even sat down and READ music? You don't know what the real meaning of music is. But anyway, Colplay rules. Their melancholy melodies are relaxing, and make you think. Yery good. Strongly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Music Makes Me Sleepy

    Recently went on a trip forgeting all my cds except this one, Although Im a fan of this band, I found all of the songs to sound the same, His voise is almost like one of the intruments, It doesnt really matter what he's saying It all sounds the same, To me it appears the made the album in a couple of hours, However Fix You is a genuinely Beautiful song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AAAH! BEAUTIFUL!

    So amazing! You couldn't ask for something better than X&Y! Chris Martin's tone is getting better by the day... And the lyrics and melodies are 10 times better than they ever have been before. What can I say? This album is inspiring, I am deeply moved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cold Play's music is so, Boring.

    Yes, this album along with all the other cold Play albums sucks. Im sorry to break it to ya but they are one of the most boring and underrated bands around today. Rock music hasnt been right for the last ten years, I dont know how anyone could enjoy a cd like this, some people who that listion to this say that classic rock is boring, but come on this album has no riffs, the piano sucks, the vocals are horrable and lame. And if you are a guy and you listion to this you might want to go see a docter quick you girly guy you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!!

    I loved this CD! Coldplay is the best! No bad words, just plain good music. My favorite songs are Speed of Sound, Talk, and Fix you. Fix You is so beautiful, and so is Speed of Sound. You should definetely go got and buy this CD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It gets better with each listening

    I agree with one of the reviews, the thing is that maybe we want something like the big hit in the style of U2 or The Beatles, but overall they have captured my attention thats for sure. Being a songwriter myself I can relate to this group a lot, I´m not saying they copied some of my stuff, but maybe they had the guts to put the music on record, and I didn't. In 1996 I wrote two songs very similar in structure, feeling and melody, and I thought they were ok but not as good as I wanted the music to be, because they came from a desparate place as well as passionate and with some remorse from what should have been. Thats were Coldplay is playing from and I can admit they are a hell of a good musicians. Hurray for them and I hope they get there, maybe they all ready have. On this record Speed of sound continues where Clocks left off, and literaly all the songs on the album are enjoyable and dreamy in a very nice way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ColdPlay is so great, i love it...

    I've loved "Speed of sound" since it started playing on the radio, and recently heard "Fix you" in the mall... i INSTANTLY fell in love with "fix you"...it was so pretty, i just stood there listening to it with my boyfriend (he thought I was nuts). And people say they don't like it because it's sleepy...but thats what makes it so beautiful! So...deffinately buy it, I am.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Coldplay's "X&Y" is a very brilliant album!

    "X&Y", Coldplay's latest album, deserves to be a classic. The music and the lyrics on all the 13 songs on this album sounded cool and brilliant. The song, "What If?" sounded so romantically beautiful with charming lyrics. "Speed Of Sound", "Talk", "Low", "Square One", "A Message" are very brilliant highlights on this album. I think that Coldplay has made their latest album, "X&Y", a very outstanding classic album since their previous albums, "Parachutes" and "A Rush Of Blood To The Head".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Outstanding

    Well, what can I say, I fell in love with this band while working at my department store because they played one of their older songs "Yellow" and I've been hooked. Coldplay is a breathe of fresh air. Currently, I'm listening to their new album X&Y while I'm writing this review and OMG! If you enjoyed their last 2 albums then you're definitely gonna love X&Y! Every song is Awesome. My favorites are Square One, White Shadows, Speed of Sound, Talk, Low and Twisted Logic, not necessarily in that order, but... Anyway, go out and BUY THIS ALBUM! You'll love it. They remind you of U2. They are truly a gifted group of musicians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What If I Wasn't There?

    I heard "What If" this morning while at the mall and fell in love with it.I didn't know I could fall in love with Coldplay again. I have thier second CD,A Rush of Blood to the Head and I can't stop playing it in my CD player. I think what I like about this album is that it's so tranquil,so peaceful.ROBTTH is by far the best album,but I think I will like X&Y more.I'd love to fall asleep to this CD,can you imagine how wounderful that would be?I can't believe the lousy ratings this CD has recived. I've been contemplating whether to buy it or not... I think I will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE ALBUM OF THE CENTURY

    This is the most beautiful album I have ever listened to in the whole entire world of music. This is by far proof that Coldplay gets better as time goes on. You can never get tired of these songs. I will listen to this album every day until I die. My favorite is Fix You, a very moving piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Complex.

    Someone said that the best way to be heard in a screaming world is to whisper, and Coldplay is just like that. I can understand why some people didn't like this album, and I'll admit I used to be one of them. I first heard it and all I heard was a messy blur of riffs and organ and cymbals that just seemed to repeat itself. The thing about this album is that it's deceptive. Each time you hear it, you notice a little more: the chords are actually building toward something, and behind the obscure lyrics is something very human and pragmatic, coming from Coldplay's urge to interpret all human emotion and offer solace. The magic of Coldplay lies in that they sing as though they are speaking to you, in a more poeticized way. "Fix You" has touched a lot of people because of this, as well as "Swallowed in the Sea". I believe that most of this album's weakness comes from the overall feeling of experimentation, that things were put in just to test out their sound, which is why I have high hopes for their next album. Although it's far from perfect, the best music is music that people can relate to, and I believe that Coldplay can relate to many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X&Y

    I have all the Coldplay CD's, and if you're in the same boat as me, you will definitely agree with me that the music of X&Y is something remarkably new for the band. But is it what the band needs to keep them going? I would say so. Probably my favorite thing about the band Coldplay is simply that they keep getting better. And that means they are improving on their strengths, and fixing their weaknesses. Parachutes I'd give three stars, A Rush of Blood to the Head four stars, and X&Y...five stars (obviously). It's gonna be hard for Coldplay to outdo themselves after the masterpiece they've created with X&Y. The album starts with a song that was an instant hit for me personally, "Square One". I think "What If" is my least favorite on the CD, probably becuase of the 100% falsetto chorus. "White Shadows" is a cool, crisp sort of groove. "Fix You", the power ballad of the CD, is a great range of sounds. "Talk" is the most unique track. "X&Y" is a mesmerizing song that makes you feel like you are floating in the middle of the ocean (at least to me). "Speed of Sound", the first single, is quite possibly the best on the CD. "A Message" is just plain sweet I love the acoustic sound of the beginning. "Low" is a very sensual and addicting track. "The Hardest Part" is a sort of filler song if you ask me-it doesn't seem to fit in my opinion-nevertheless it's good filler. "Swallowed in the Sea" is a sort of lyrically cryptic, but musically easy to grasp, song. "Twisted Logic" is one of my favorites because of the dynamic, forceful, and just all out awesome climax. "Til Kingdom Come", a not-so-hidden track, is an extremely likeable, almost folkish-sounding song that finishes the CD very well. Overall, every song on the CD has something to offer. By far, the best and most deserving-of-acclaim album of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    X&Y

    Coldplay's "X&Y" is hands down their best CD to date. Parachutes was a delicate, sort of unobtrusive album, but still enjoyable. A Rush of Blood to the Head was a big step up, but there was still something missing. In X&Y, Chris Martin and the gang have finally found what was missing, added it to all the things that were there, and came up with something quite remarkable. In my opinion the best songs are "Square One", "Fix You", "Talk", "Speed of Sound", "A Message", "Low", "Twisted Logic", and "Til Kingdom Come".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    swallowed in the sea

    ^best song. this is a great cd for ppl who like laid back rock. definitely get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Mellower Coldplay

    It always takes a little while for me to get used to a band's new material, especially Coldplay's. After about a month after buying this album I finally realized how good it really is. It is packed with solidly written tracks like "The Hardest Part" and "X & Y". It doesn't contain as many energy driven songs like "A Rush of Blood to the Head" and "Parachutes", but it certainly competes with those past two albums. I recently saw them live and can now appreciate these newly crafted songs a lot more than I had in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6