Customer Reviews for

X&Y

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Band Everyone Imitated

    This may be a strange approach to a review but I actually like every odd number song, and less so the even numbered ones. The exceptions are the choral last half of "Fix You", which picks up the pace, and "The Hardest Part" (maybe my favorite track on the album.) The ¿odds¿ are buoyant, catchy marvelous tracks. The ¿evens¿ are slow and uninspiring. Not sure why the slow tempo stuff doesn¿t do it for me on this album. Maybe the up-tempo tracks are just too strong in comparison. The opener, "Square One", has a great guitar line and chugs along. Really opens the album nicely. Then, "What If" grinds everything to all halt, losing all momentum. The beauty of it is lost on me. I think they really blew the track order on this one. Luckily, "White Shadows" picks up the momentum again with more great guitar and layered keyboards. It's the best track on the album. Love the last minute ethereal ¿cool down¿¿nothing like a good organ. This is an A level track to match Square One and The Hardest Part. Throughout the album the guitar sound seems to be straight from U2¿s The Edge. While not absolutely top tier, "Low" keeps the tension high. "The Hardest Part" uses prominent piano to drive the song, reminding me of Bruce Springsteen¿s more rousing, full-band material. The catchy radio staple "Speed of Sound", another nice odd numbered track, reminds me most of Coldplay's previous work. Overall an excellent collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It gets better with each listening

    I agree with one of the reviews, the thing is that maybe we want something like the big hit in the style of U2 or The Beatles, but overall they have captured my attention thats for sure. Being a songwriter myself I can relate to this group a lot, I´m not saying they copied some of my stuff, but maybe they had the guts to put the music on record, and I didn't. In 1996 I wrote two songs very similar in structure, feeling and melody, and I thought they were ok but not as good as I wanted the music to be, because they came from a desparate place as well as passionate and with some remorse from what should have been. Thats were Coldplay is playing from and I can admit they are a hell of a good musicians. Hurray for them and I hope they get there, maybe they all ready have. On this record Speed of sound continues where Clocks left off, and literaly all the songs on the album are enjoyable and dreamy in a very nice way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Coldplay's "X&Y" is a very brilliant album!

    "X&Y", Coldplay's latest album, deserves to be a classic. The music and the lyrics on all the 13 songs on this album sounded cool and brilliant. The song, "What If?" sounded so romantically beautiful with charming lyrics. "Speed Of Sound", "Talk", "Low", "Square One", "A Message" are very brilliant highlights on this album. I think that Coldplay has made their latest album, "X&Y", a very outstanding classic album since their previous albums, "Parachutes" and "A Rush Of Blood To The Head".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Complex.

    Someone said that the best way to be heard in a screaming world is to whisper, and Coldplay is just like that. I can understand why some people didn't like this album, and I'll admit I used to be one of them. I first heard it and all I heard was a messy blur of riffs and organ and cymbals that just seemed to repeat itself. The thing about this album is that it's deceptive. Each time you hear it, you notice a little more: the chords are actually building toward something, and behind the obscure lyrics is something very human and pragmatic, coming from Coldplay's urge to interpret all human emotion and offer solace. The magic of Coldplay lies in that they sing as though they are speaking to you, in a more poeticized way. "Fix You" has touched a lot of people because of this, as well as "Swallowed in the Sea". I believe that most of this album's weakness comes from the overall feeling of experimentation, that things were put in just to test out their sound, which is why I have high hopes for their next album. Although it's far from perfect, the best music is music that people can relate to, and I believe that Coldplay can relate to many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Mellower Coldplay

    It always takes a little while for me to get used to a band's new material, especially Coldplay's. After about a month after buying this album I finally realized how good it really is. It is packed with solidly written tracks like "The Hardest Part" and "X & Y". It doesn't contain as many energy driven songs like "A Rush of Blood to the Head" and "Parachutes", but it certainly competes with those past two albums. I recently saw them live and can now appreciate these newly crafted songs a lot more than I had in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In Two Words.....Great Album!

    Anyone who is a Coldplay fan should buy this record! Vocalist, Chris Martin, pushes his vocals to new heights and delivers promising hooks that are certain to please new and old fans alike. The album is great from start to finish, and although it is not my favorite album from the band, it is a very safe buy. It gives listeners a new and long-awaited fresh taste of the band, and it doesn’t diverge too far away from the sound of the band’s previous records. I must say that at first I wasn’t too crazy about the album in its entirety, but after a few times through, the album quickly became one of my favorite records to come out this year. With tracks like “Square One,” fans will see a more rocking “U2-esque” side of Coldplay than on previous albums, while tracks like “What If?,” and “Fix You” show a more delicate/lovesick side of vocalist Chris Martin (if that’s even possible). Another track of note would be the bonus track that the band wrote for Country Legend, Johnny Cash (I got chills the first time I heard it). Great album from a great band! Go buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, but not their best.

    To give this album five stars would be a bit presumptuous. First, you must compare X&Y to the two previous albums (Parachutes, A Rush of Blood to the Head), both of which are deserving of a 5 star rating (the first moreso than the second). While I enjoy this album , it is not as good as the music they made before they were on constant rotation on every radio station in the country. Stop trying to be the new U2 and go back to being the old Coldplay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome!!

    I was not a big Coldplay fan before, but this album has me hooked. Chris Martin's voice is deeply expressive and the music is addictive. I can't stop listening to Speed of Sound. whatever it is that makes a tune hypnotic, I'm hooked. It's particularly incredible in headphones. Try it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2