Customer Reviews for

A Child's Garden of Verses

Average Rating 3.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A 53 year old Grandmother

I read this book as a child and read my copy to my own children. Somewhere along the way I lost my book. When my first grandchild was born nine years ago, I tried to find it again in the bookstores. It was not available and I turned to another, similar book. It is not n...
I read this book as a child and read my copy to my own children. Somewhere along the way I lost my book. When my first grandchild was born nine years ago, I tried to find it again in the bookstores. It was not available and I turned to another, similar book. It is not nearly as good. I am thrilled to find "A Child's Garden of Verses" again. It is wonderful literature and our children today need that. I can still recite some of the poetry even after all these years. Kudos--don't ever let it go out of print.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a review from a fith grader read the review it is very interesting

This dumb book does not i repeat does not even a little bit intrest me at all yeah bye

posted by 7257206 on July 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    A 53 year old Grandmother

    I read this book as a child and read my copy to my own children. Somewhere along the way I lost my book. When my first grandchild was born nine years ago, I tried to find it again in the bookstores. It was not available and I turned to another, similar book. It is not nearly as good. I am thrilled to find "A Child's Garden of Verses" again. It is wonderful literature and our children today need that. I can still recite some of the poetry even after all these years. Kudos--don't ever let it go out of print.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Beyond Outstanding!!

    This poetry is not only for children to read, but also for them to relate to and learn from. All children should own this book.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    The wonder of childhood....

    Poems are perfectly chosen words which are a pleasure to read. Writing them is a true art and Robert Louis Stevenson is able to perfect this art by remembering his own childhood. These poems were written between 1881 and 1884. This is a selection from the most popular collection of poems about childhood in the English language. Each poem is accompanied by evocative paintings, which are as vibrant as the words in each poem. The paintings are impressions of color and light and show children and a few animals on beautiful canvases of cities, gardens, meadows and seas. The poems are about flying kites, cows which give cream to enjoy with apple-tart, flowers where fairies live, children sitting in the warm sun, children on a swing, children playing with toy boats and children playing in gardens who will never grow up as they are frozen in time in the beautiful pictures. Here is an example of part of the first poem in the book. THE WIND I saw you toss the kites on high And blow the birds about the sky; And all around I heard you pass, Like ladies skirts across the grass- What lovely poems to share with a child. Highly recommended!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    Childhood Memories

    This book was read to me as a child, I in turn read it to my sister, then to my children. Twenty years later, I am buying one for my first grandchild! I have searched resale shops and libraries for the very edition I had as a child, and this is it! I remember all the wonderful illustrations and poems so well. Looking at the pictures and words brings back so many fond memories and I can't wait to pass that on to my grandchild!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    Timeless children's poetry

    This is my favorite children's book because it grows with a child. An infant loves to be read poetry because of the cadence, a toddler likes hearing familiar words, and an older child enjoys the story. The poetry is classic.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    timeless

    My mother read this book to my brothers and I. I am now reading it to my daughter. I read several poems to my 13 mo. old daughter every night. The rhythm of each verse calms her and gets her ready for bedtime.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    I purchased the hardbound version of this book from B&N and

    I purchased the hardbound version of this book from B&N and this is just a beautiful book. I tend to read several pages a night with my four year old. We love the illustrations by Gyo Fujikawa and would recommend many other books that she did. Of course, Robert Louis Stevenson’s poems are classic and a wonderful introduction to poetry for the very young. I will be giving this version as a gift to other parents of young children who enjoy reading together.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Sweeeeeeeeeeeet!

    Awsome book for people of all age's.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    fun to look back

    I had this book when I was a kid...a long long time ag

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Great book

    All around great book for the price its offered at.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    This is a wonderful book - from preschool through perhaps the fi

    This is a wonderful book - from preschool through perhaps the first two or three grades. Nowadays older children read adventure, suspense, and the like. If they have been introduced to Stevenson's poetry as young children, they will continue to love it, but in 5th grade they are too sophisticated to love the poems simply for what they are, and too young and immature to appreciate them their philosophy of life and simple beauty.  I would say, try again when you are in senior high school or college  from an entirely different perspective. Tasha Tudor's illustrations are uniquely beautiful. Give this book as a gift to a little kid - or to yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Who wrote, "The world is so full of a number of things, I'm

    Who wrote, "The world is so full of a number of things, I'm sure we should all be as happy as kings"? Did you guess Robert Louis Stevenson? Poetry is not my favorite form of literature. However, Stevenson is one of my best-loved authors, and I have always liked his poetry because, unlike some other poetry that I have read, it makes sense to me. One of my favorites is “The Swing”:
    How do you like to go up in a swing,
    Up in the air so blue?
    Oh, I do think it the pleasantest thing
    Ever a child can do!
    Of course, one would buy this edition of A Child’s Garden of Verses not only for Stevenson’s poetry (this is not a complete version but a newly revised selection) but also for Brian Wildsmith’s gorgeous, whimsical illustrations. Wildsmith, born in 1931 at the mining village of Penistone in Yorkshire, England, has been called one of the greatest living children’s book illustrators. Stevenson’s poems perfectly capture the make-believe imagination of childhood. What child has not pretended at one time or another that his bed is a ship sailing the wide seas? And Wildsmith’s stunning, colorful paintings perfectly capture the joyful childhood innocence of Stevenson’s poetry. While the language may be upper class Victorian England, the appeal is universal. This would make a wonderful book for a parent to read aloud while the child gazes at the pictures.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Beautiful Classic

    It was a gift. It was most appreciated.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Lovely poems, beautiful illustrations!

    This is an old classic and full of lovely poems that I remember as a child. The illustrations are old fashioned and charming. I bought this for my 8 year old daughter who loves poetry, and I enjoy reading them with her. It's a lovely book, it would make a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Barnes and Noble must die 3

    I use the knife and Alfie the unicorns horn (after cutting it off) to chop down a tree and I make a bow and run to the next b and n store but I am stopped by some flowers but cut them up then shoot the guy running the store and escape...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I bought this for my granddaughter because I want her to learn some of the poems that my mother taught to me and to her elementary school students. The illustrations are so beautiful!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    Memories of my childhood

    I had a copy of Child's Garden of Verses when I was a child and still have it but love Thomas Kinkade paintings so bought this book recently. Now I am buying one for my 2nd greatgrandchild due in August as both granddaughters asked for books at their baby showers to start a library for their babies. One came in January and the next one is coming. It has my favorite poem by R.L.S. called Where Go The Boats as I lost my darling brother aged 8 on my 6th birthday-May 5th, 1933 so Mom always said at the end of the poem-other little children shall bring my boats ashore. Very nostalgic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Enjoyable for young and old alike.

    I felt the selection of Stevenson's work was very good for age range. The illustrations are very enjoyable for the adult sharing the beautiful book with the child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2