Customer Reviews for

XO (Kathryn Dance Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Everyone that loves books about mysteries, suspense, drama and dynamic charactors must read Jeffery Deavers' books!

I love the Kathryn Dance series. Wait on pins and needles for the next one!

posted by 16851877 on December 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Though a big Jeffery Deaver fan, this book was very disappointin

Though a big Jeffery Deaver fan, this book was very disappointing. It might have been a better short story. It definitely needed some editing. Sadly, I simply cannot recommend it.

posted by AndyAC on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Though a big Jeffery Deaver fan, this book was very disappointin

    Though a big Jeffery Deaver fan, this book was very disappointing. It might have been a better short story. It definitely needed some editing. Sadly, I simply cannot recommend it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Mel

    I have to agree with anonymous from June 25th. I cannot stand books with a political agenda. Mr. Deaver, an undocumented alien is an ILLEGAL! I have read all of Dance and Rhyme series, were all 5 star but you should have left yourself to writing fiction and not portray youself as a left wing liberal. Sorry Im finished with you books.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    not very good

    i cant stand a book with a political agenda!!!

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Hit by Deaver

    XO is classic Jeffery Deaver. Deaver keeps the pace moving constantly and true to his style, the ending has some great surprises.

    This was also an insightful glance into the music industry. Deaver has done his homework. I actually have a friend who is a grammy nominated pop star, Heather Schmid, who has had experiences similar to Kayleigh Towne’s in terms of her experience as a female pop star and with fanatical fans (though nowhere near as extreme) so when I say Deaver is accurate, I'm speaking from personal knowledge. Kathryn Dance is (of course) awesome in her role and anyone who is a fan of hers (or Lincoln Rhyme) will love this book. The great thing about Deaver's series is that each book advances the timeline in his world and it's been fun watching his characters evolve. I'm just sad he only writes one book per year!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Truly Awful

    Written for, perhaps by, 13 year old girls (no insult to them intended). I really hated this book. The story is contrived and strains credulity. The abundant metaphors are eye-rollingly bad; appallingly trite like the author lacks both imagination and a thesaurus. What a waste of (my) time and (our) trees.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Everyone that loves books about mysteries, suspense, drama and dynamic charactors must read Jeffery Deavers' books!

    I love the Kathryn Dance series.
    Wait on pins and needles for the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Deaver indulges himself

    Having read all of Deaver's books I think he's becoming formulaic. The early Lincoln Rhymes stuff was very good, but in this one the author indulges in topics he's researched intently (in this book it's country music, musical instruments and songwriting mainly). The stalking issue is forced since no serious law inforcement officer would let things proceed as they do in the book. There is no major character development-this plot is convoluted and he provides about 20 or more songs he's written (really I'm not into lyrics and the main character's bursts of ideas for lyrics)and his kinesics information is pretty ordinary. Beach reading-not substantial enough for me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    XO is the third book in the Kathryn Dance series by American aut

    XO is the third book in the Kathryn Dance series by American author, Jeffery Deaver. CBI agent Kathryn Dance’s expertise is in kinesics, and she is often in demand when suspects are interviewed. But when she goes to Fresno on vacation, in search of folk songs and a country music concert, she isn’t expecting to need those skills. When Kathryn meets young country music sensation, Kayleigh Towne for lunch, she learns the singer is plagued by a stalker, one Edwin Stanton Sharp, and when one of Towne’s crew is murdered at the concert hall, suspicion falls on the stalker. But Kathryn finds she is neither wanted nor welcome at his interrogation. Not only that, but Chief of Detectives, P K Madigan, seems determined to ignore any advice she offers. In yet another thriller, Deaver gives the reader a plot with plenty of suspense, twists and turns and the odd red herring. Country music is heavily featured, and there are interesting tidbits on types of stalking and the legislation covering this, as well as, of course, quite a bit of kinesics. While it may be a little slow-moving in parts, this novel manages to include an assassination plot, a secret lover, a secret baby, some unpublished Beatles songs, a kidnapping, an overbearing father and witness intimidation. Deaver touches on innocence and image and immigration policy. Deaver’s other creations, Lincoln Rhyme and Amanda Sachs, make an appearance to help out with trace evidence analysis, and the reader is kept guessing to the end. Definitely a page-turner. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Hehehehe

    Hi im jen and im 9 years old what does policol mean and did i spell it rite i mean right

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Chilling stalker

    Deaver obviously does his research, but in this one his facts intrude on the storyline

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    A disappointment without the character development or suspense o

    A disappointment without the character development or suspense of his other novels. Of course there are always parts of plot twists that if examined closely, won't really stand up but this book is full of silly contrived coincidences. It feels like a script for Murder She Wrote

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    What a disappointment - story was just darn silly. Don't waste

    What a disappointment - story was just darn silly. Don't waste your time or money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    What's happened to Deaver?

    Book is pretty bad. Deaver has written some enjoyable books, this certainly is not one. This book was bad enough that the regular characters began to get annoying. Maybe it has something to do with Deaver trying to write as a woman. NOT believable & this was a pretty girly story. Lyrics were also dumb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. Can only recommend

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. Can only recommend

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Allie Cat

    This book is so a,azing I already read it 2 times and want to read it again it just keeps bringing you back to read it again, again, and again!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Talia

    I gtg. Ill be back on around 430 central

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Great

    Great book! I really enjoyed this book! It was a thriller and full of suspense! I couldn't put it down! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    The story was good but the song lyrics took away from the story.

    The story was good but the song lyrics took away from the story. They were very childish. Mr. Deaver needs to stick to novels only, not song writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    XO

    Gteat read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    ok

    ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3