Customer Reviews for

XO (Kathryn Dance Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Everyone that loves books about mysteries, suspense, drama and dynamic charactors must read Jeffery Deavers' books!

I love the Kathryn Dance series. Wait on pins and needles for the next one!

posted by 16851877 on December 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Though a big Jeffery Deaver fan, this book was very disappointin

Though a big Jeffery Deaver fan, this book was very disappointing. It might have been a better short story. It definitely needed some editing. Sadly, I simply cannot recommend it.

posted by AndyAC on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    XO is the third book in the Kathryn Dance series by American aut

    XO is the third book in the Kathryn Dance series by American author, Jeffery Deaver. CBI agent Kathryn Dance’s expertise is in kinesics, and she is often in demand when suspects are interviewed. But when she goes to Fresno on vacation, in search of folk songs and a country music concert, she isn’t expecting to need those skills. When Kathryn meets young country music sensation, Kayleigh Towne for lunch, she learns the singer is plagued by a stalker, one Edwin Stanton Sharp, and when one of Towne’s crew is murdered at the concert hall, suspicion falls on the stalker. But Kathryn finds she is neither wanted nor welcome at his interrogation. Not only that, but Chief of Detectives, P K Madigan, seems determined to ignore any advice she offers. In yet another thriller, Deaver gives the reader a plot with plenty of suspense, twists and turns and the odd red herring. Country music is heavily featured, and there are interesting tidbits on types of stalking and the legislation covering this, as well as, of course, quite a bit of kinesics. While it may be a little slow-moving in parts, this novel manages to include an assassination plot, a secret lover, a secret baby, some unpublished Beatles songs, a kidnapping, an overbearing father and witness intimidation. Deaver touches on innocence and image and immigration policy. Deaver’s other creations, Lincoln Rhyme and Amanda Sachs, make an appearance to help out with trace evidence analysis, and the reader is kept guessing to the end. Definitely a page-turner. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    The story was good but the song lyrics took away from the story.

    The story was good but the song lyrics took away from the story. They were very childish. Mr. Deaver needs to stick to novels only, not song writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    ok

    ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Super read!

    Very exciting. Deaver's the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    I loved this book. The twist and turns kept me glued to the page

    I loved this book. The twist and turns kept me glued to the pages. Mr. Deaver has not disappointed me yet. I thought I had the killer figured out and then I did not. But I will not say anymore, because I do not want to ruin it for anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    You'll never sign another letter without thinking about this one!

    How many times have any of us signed a letter or email with a cute phrase or trite line that we did not mean, or attached no meaning to at the time? That's the premise of this book-what if somebody DID take that signature line seriously? What if the person who signed it was beautiful and "famous"? What would the implications be?

    Deaver is not as comfortable writing about Kathryn Dance as he is about Lincoln Rhyme (who, in fact, does put in an appearance with Amelia and Thom). I'm not sure that he is as comfortable in the feminine psyche as he is the male or if it is the locale of the West Coast. In any event, the writing doesn't flow as smoothly or as tightly. The plot twists and turns are still there and the story is well worth the reading.

    I would definitely recommend for those who are a bit bothered by the Lincoln Rhyme mind-benders-this isn't nearly the ride those are. It would be a good book club addition-particularly if the club has done previous Kathryn Dance books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend you read this thriller.

    I always enjoy Jeffery Deaver's books. He always keeps you in suspence till the end of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1