Customer Reviews for

Xenocide (Ender Quintet #3)

Average Rating 4
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(175)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

This book is the third in a series of 4. But it is arguable that there are more and there are but here not the main 4. In the series there is Enders Game, Speaker for the dead (3000 years after the first one), Xenocide, Children of the mind. There ones only going to be ...
This book is the third in a series of 4. But it is arguable that there are more and there are but here not the main 4. In the series there is Enders Game, Speaker for the dead (3000 years after the first one), Xenocide, Children of the mind. There ones only going to be three but the last one were too long and he has to split it into two. In no doubt in my mind that he is my favorite author.
I loved it, although I do like all of the books in this is my favorite. It is my favorite because it has the most in-depth of them all. The reason it does it because it has the main climax of all the stories. So in this they haft to find out how to fix their main problems. How they do this is what makes it so great. How he can think of all this and make it believable is what makes him such an amazing.
Even thought this book was written many years ago I think that it has such advance technology in it that it could be believable today. Not crap that would be pointless and stupid he puts things in his books that would make seams and would be applicable today.
But I do haft to argue that people wouldn't like this because it is very confusing and it makes you think a lot and people just like simple books. That's what makes it so great in my opinion because it is a challenge to me and it gets me to use my imagination in ways that I never have before. So to cap it all I loved this book and I hope you will too after you read all the first books otherwise it will make no sense.

posted by PennameJW on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good, but not Card's best

I really enjoyed 'Speaker', but 'Xenocide' left me sort of disappointed in the end. 350 pages of this sizeable novel are all philosophical rambling about the Descolada and things in general. It's not that some of it isn't clearly intriguing, but it gets tiring, and quit...
I really enjoyed 'Speaker', but 'Xenocide' left me sort of disappointed in the end. 350 pages of this sizeable novel are all philosophical rambling about the Descolada and things in general. It's not that some of it isn't clearly intriguing, but it gets tiring, and quite frankly, not a lot HAPPENS in this novel to pick it up. When something DOES happen, it can be really quite spectacular--Card crafts these moments extraordinarily well--and just for these moments 'Xenocide' may be worth the read, but be prepared think about alot more in reading this novel.

posted by Anonymous on May 20, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Pretty good, but not Card's best

    I really enjoyed 'Speaker', but 'Xenocide' left me sort of disappointed in the end. 350 pages of this sizeable novel are all philosophical rambling about the Descolada and things in general. It's not that some of it isn't clearly intriguing, but it gets tiring, and quite frankly, not a lot HAPPENS in this novel to pick it up. When something DOES happen, it can be really quite spectacular--Card crafts these moments extraordinarily well--and just for these moments 'Xenocide' may be worth the read, but be prepared think about alot more in reading this novel.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Loved it

    This book is the third in a series of 4. But it is arguable that there are more and there are but here not the main 4. In the series there is Enders Game, Speaker for the dead (3000 years after the first one), Xenocide, Children of the mind. There ones only going to be three but the last one were too long and he has to split it into two. In no doubt in my mind that he is my favorite author.
    I loved it, although I do like all of the books in this is my favorite. It is my favorite because it has the most in-depth of them all. The reason it does it because it has the main climax of all the stories. So in this they haft to find out how to fix their main problems. How they do this is what makes it so great. How he can think of all this and make it believable is what makes him such an amazing.
    Even thought this book was written many years ago I think that it has such advance technology in it that it could be believable today. Not crap that would be pointless and stupid he puts things in his books that would make seams and would be applicable today.
    But I do haft to argue that people wouldn't like this because it is very confusing and it makes you think a lot and people just like simple books. That's what makes it so great in my opinion because it is a challenge to me and it gets me to use my imagination in ways that I never have before. So to cap it all I loved this book and I hope you will too after you read all the first books otherwise it will make no sense.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Demosthenes

    This book is a good book. It picks up straight where "Speaker for the Dead" left off. I must stress, the book is rather confusing and meaningless if you haven't read the previous books. To be fair, it is a bit slow at times and may be confusing if you don't pay attention to the book and the concepts explained/proposed. Another thing is that you must keep an open mind to that which Card writes. He expresses philosophical concepts that may seem impossible and probably are. But that's okay, it's fiction. If you want science fiction that fits all of the perameters of known science you should give up searching for it. You will never find it. The point of science fiction is to surpass the limits of all known science and to stretch to the farthest corners of your imagination. Who cares if his fiction is unlikely? Was not Columbus's idea that the Earth was rounded rejected by many? -Demosthenes

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Premise gone WILD!

    Ender started with a bang, slowed to a crawl in Speaker and then completely spiraled out of control in Xenocide. It's almost as if Orson Scott Card became really enchanted by his kitschy attempt to inject philosophical depth into his writing, and along the way forgot that he was supposed to be crafting an interesting story. The resulting mess of fiction is marked by the most lazy and unlikely plot solutions, creating a rank pile of BS that stinks through to the end. SPOILER ALERT In 3000 years, no one has managed to advance interstellar travel, but hey - lets get three or four laymen in a room to wish really hard and we'll invent wormholes! We have no way to synthesize a cure to this odd disease, so lets go into an alternate reality and imagine it so it will exist! I know, we'll have the one cripple wish himself healthy and create an alternate version of himself who is cured! Hey, no one in this book is interesting, so let's send Ender to into the netherverse and have him accidentally create new versions of his long dead brother Peter and sister Val. If I weren't reading this crap on my nook, I would have used this book as kitty litter.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Xenocide

    It has taken me a long time to come up with my final review of this book for you guys. Finally though, I've got it. So here goes:
    This book shows not only useful life lessons, advanced knowledge, and an amazing story, but is constantly making the reader want- no, have- to keep going. But many books are like this, as you notice. This however, was in a different way. Oh yes, it keeps on your toes, wondering about what's to happen next, just like a normal book. But this entire series is going to stay with you all your life, i promise. And this book is where that really comes out. So if i and a majority of others were so fascinated by this wonderful book, does that mean its comepletely flawless? No. Never. This book was probably the slowest and most confusing and avanced book of the ender series. I am inclined to believe that the majority of this vocabulary is for college students. However, if you are willing enough to understand this book, and if you truly love it, you will make sure you get something from it, learn from it. So overall, this book is highly reccomended to readers of all ages... if you think you're up to it. ;) :DDDDDDD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Fantastic Read...

    I have read Enders Game and Speaker for the Dead. Xenocide is the rest of speaker for the dead. It picks up right where Speaker left off and is so far I've enjoyed it equally as well as the prior. If the overview of this story makes you curious read Speaker for the dead first it will make a lot more sense. You don't HAVE to read Enders Game that one can stand alone. These two Speaker and Xenocide are part one and part two of a story...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Ben..?

    You still there?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Dip's review

    Hi, my pen name is Dipilodorkus and i love books.

    This is a series that i personaly read when i was a child and as to be expected i did not realy get some of the realy deep and detaild sections of this series but i was still thouroly entertaind by it. It wasnt until ten years later that i picked up these books again and truely READ them and realised how deep and wonderfull this series is. I recomend this book and the other three too any and all book lovers on this earth who enjoy a good story.

    May you live in peace.
    - Dipilodorkus

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    I'm a fan

    I actually really enjoyed this book. There are parts that don't live up to the typical "Ender's Game" standards, but the book makes up for that by for the first time really going in depth about the philosophical and moral issues presented by the series. Card also manages to keep alive his recurring theme of an off-world impending military assault closing in on Ender. Card knows how to keep me interested. At points I found myself staying up until 4 in the morning because I couldn't put the book down. I recommend this book, and this series for that matter, to anyone who can read. It's just that good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Too deep

    I read this book but it gets really deep, if you can understand what I am saying. This is not a action packed story. Lots of into the character's minds along with the Queen and the piggies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Orson Scott Card's third novel in the Ender Series is very sophi

    Orson Scott Card's third novel in the Ender Series is very sophisticated and wordy. It is worth a read but be prepared to read "Children of the Mind" afterward.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Keep them in order!

    Although the author says each book stands alone, I find it really helps to read the series in order. Xenocide is a natural follow-on to Ender's Game, but there are books in between. I found the book fascinating from an anthropological perspective, and certainly a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    It's certainly not as good as the first two books. The story is

    It's certainly not as good as the first two books. The story is still cohesive, but it pales compared to the previous two books.  So, honestly, this rating only reflects it's value against the other books in the series, thus far.  It's not my favorite in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    A great read

    Full of ah-ha moments and challenges to ways of thinking

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    2 stars

    2 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Pretty good but could be better

    Sure i rated this 5 stars but it could be better liie it needs less talking and more excitin moments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    got sample

    Is it any good.i read first book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Kind of slow moving but good.

    Just a little slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I loved it!

    It was a deep, thought provoking read. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    A good (but not great) sequel to Speaker of the Dead

    Xenocide is, in my opinion, a good, but not a great book. Lusitania is in rebellion against the Starways Congress, which has, in turn, sent out a fleet of star ships to quell the rebellion by blowing up the planet. Xenocide tells the story of the Lusitanians' struggle against the descolada, which seems to be one step ahead of them, and of a "god spoken" people living on the planet called Path. Members of the Path's god spoken community have been asked to figure out what happened to the Lusitania fleet, which has, as far as their computer systems indicate, completely disappeared. While Mr. Card's use of introductory snippets (in this case, "conversations" between the Hive Queen and the pequenino-turned-tree, Human) that start each chapter worked well in both Ender's Game and Speaker for the Dead, they really seem less useful here. In fact, as far as I can tell, only one really useful nugget of information was revealed in these introductory conversations. The "science" in Mr. Card's universe is clearly important to the story: it is necessary to understand what the Lusitanians are up against with the descolada, and to understand the eventual resolution of the story. However, for a first-time reader of the book, the chapters-on-end discussing the science of philotes and Enderverse philosophy are extremely dense and, at times, boring. While the story is interesting, Xenocide requires much more will power to muscle through than Speaker for the Dead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 375 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19