Customer Reviews for

Xin Loi, Viet Nam: Thirty-one Months of War: A Soldier's Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    This is good

    I have known Al for years and never knew his backround. WOW! This book is impressive. Buy it and realize how much horror went on in his tours of duty. He tells the story of the war as it should be told.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    He got by with writing it like it was.

    I can tell he succeeded in writing it like it was, resisting the tendency to embellish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    I'm glad Al Sever waited to write his memoir. His matter of fact

    I'm glad Al Sever waited to write his memoir. His matter of fact manner is truly refreshing. Feels like he's letting you make your own mind up about the rights and wrongs of what happens. Makes the action as immediate as if you're squatting on the metal deck right next to him. Also reminds you that it's not a nineteen year old kid who's doing the writing, but the mature man that kid survived to become. Cracking book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    A brutal and honest account that does not gloss over or omit the

    A brutal and honest account that does not gloss over or omit the things that had to be done to survive.  Many books on the air mobile war from the pilots perspective miss the personal depths of savagery and its repercussions involved in fighting a war.  Not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    The small kit

    Yawns

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Jason

    o.O

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Rosi

    Stop it that's annoying and I was talking with the kit not you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommended 5-stars

    Very informative, insight into the viet nam action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    The Vietnam Helicopter War told with brutal honesty AND with heart.

    Al Sever's writing is very readable. His style is personal and directly from his heart. He doesn't brag, but rather tells us of his embarrassing shortcomings. This is a form of humility and insight painfully lacking in our military leaders at that time. While the subject matter is immensely sad, the writing (as in the book's title) is so good, it qualifies as literary art, and art is always humane. Whether you know nothing of the combat experience, or you were there with him, "Xin Loi" will touch your heart. Well done, gripping, funny and shocking by turns, it is hard to put down. A book not to miss if you want to know what it was like being in the Vietnam War a few hundred feet up. My gratitude to the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    A MUST READ !!!!

    I RECEIVED THIS BOOK ON A WEDNESDAY AFTERNOON AND FINISHED IT ON FRIDAY. I PRIDE MYSELF ON HAVING READ JUST ABOUT EVERY BOOK PRINTED ON THE HELICOPTER WAR IN VIET NAM AND CAN SAY WITHOUT A MOMENT OF HESITATION THAT ¿XIN LOI, VIET NAM ¿ IS BY FAR THE BEST! THE EMOTIONS THAT AL SEVER IS ABLE TO CONVEY IN THIS BOOK PLACES THE READER IN THE ¿PETER PILOT¿ SEAT IN A HUEY AS IT RIPS OVER THE TREE TOPS AT 100 KNOTS WITH MINI-ROCKETS BLASTING. THE STINGER 96, JIMMY CRISP MENTIONED TOWARDS THE END OF THE BOOK WAS MY COUSIN AND IS STILL MISSED BY US ALL. JIMMY AND THE OTHER BRAVE MEN THAT FOUGHT THIS NEARLY FORGOTTEN WAR ABOVE THE JUNGLE ARE PAID HOMAGE AND RESPECT BY THIS LITERARY MASTERPIECE. A MUST READ!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    This guy got by with writing it LIKE IT WAS!

    What a book! He manages to tell it like it was. Not how he wished it was. The good and bad are here but it's like I saw it too. [my three years there, 2 years flying copters (commissioned) and 1 year Sp Forces (NCO) Communicator.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2002

    Finally... 'So That's How it Was !'

    Real names, real places. The relationship between the Gunship Crew and the Grunt. What happens at 50 feet and 50 knots happens fast and personal when you can look into their eyes and smell the smoke. A great read and quite possibly a new viewpoint for the reader. For the grunts out there, you know what the author is saying is true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    This is the way it was...

    I put reading this book off for a few days due to my busy schedule however, once I started reading I could not put it down. This book drops you into the shoes of the author and does it well. Its non-fiction that reads like fiction! You won't regret picking this book up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1