Customer Reviews for

Y: The Last Man, Volume 1: Unmanned

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best ideas in years!!

    Vaughan & Guerra knock it out of the park with this amazing telling of a male centered plague that decimates the population. The storyline is incredible, the dialogue is hilarious & realistic, and the art fits so well with the book. I can't praise this book enough. Fantastic stuff!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    It was Great

    My favorite comic series to date; very much worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Better then watching tv.

    This is so far my favorite comic series as of yet. Its got a great balance of humor that goes with all the men dieing off thing. I felt like I was part of the team with all of Yorick's misadventures across a ciaos strewn world. You'll end up loving all the characters. You'll love them so much you might hate the last half of the last trade. I hated the way they summed up the ending. I literally was boo hooing at the end of the series. My boyfriend said he didn't mind the ending so its all a matter of perspective. Dont listen to the jerkoff's that say Vaughans a bad writer. His writing is incredible. It's what a comic series should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Anybody here seen my old friend John?

    When it comes to graphic novels, I'm really more of a dabbler than a diehard, and so I discovered Y - The Last Man after seeing it listed as one of Wizard Magazine's top 100 graphic novels. I enjoyed the art and the way various characters threaded into one story, and I found the concept---that all the males on earth save one human and one monkey have perished---full of potential. But I also vastly underestimated how painful it would be to immerse myself in that world. I kept thinking, "No men around? What? But...I'd miss them. Can't we just fix it? Bring 'em all back? I don't want to be alone with millions of women...!" ::shudders:: I can certainly see why this is on Wizard's list, but I don't know that I, personally, can bear to keep reading. Maybe if they write a mirror universe where all the women are killed off....

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun, Fun, Fun

    So, I was giving this as a gift to a friend, and I had to read it: it was great! A wonderful premise, very well written, great illustrations, fun banter between the characters: completely grabbed me and wouldn't let go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Alas, Poor Yorick, a great read!

    I am not usually a fan of graphic novels. In fact I've only enjoyed two of the ones I have read. Y: The last man is one of them. It has deep characters that you want to follow and you start to love. I also liked how it showed all the problems that the plague caused, it has alot of social and political conflicts in it. The first volume may be the only time you could want to put this book down, because as soon as you get furthur, your hooked! You won't want to stop anywhere. Overall, it's a great read for anyone mature enough to handle it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    This Graphic novel is amazing. I haven't been able to read graphic novels well because I stare too much at the drawings or lose myself in the store line. But Y the last man won me over. It's an amazing store line. I love how it shows what it might be like if there are only woman in the world. There is even a female president! I have to recommend this book to everyone, even to people to don't really read graphic novels. This is the one for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Graphic Novel with Substance

    I will tell you right away that I am a huge fan of the Y: The Last Man series. Over time this has been the only series I have followed to completion. While the idea of all the men dying does not sound particularly original, the storyline is much deeper than one would expect. Unlike many graphic novels these days, it does not rely heavily on violence and absurdity to advance through the story. It also focuses not on the plague itself but on how society and the individual deal with the sudden and immense loss. As the author put it (I am paraphrasing), "It is the story of the last boy becoming the last man." I have to agree. I will end by reiterating my main point. This is a graphic novel that doesn't replace substance with style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    The Beginning of a brillant and original series

    Y: The Last Man is the series that put writer Brian K. Vaughan on the map and for good reason. The premise is that a sudden plague kills every male on earth except Yorick Brown and the helper monkey he was training. Trying to figure out why he was spared Yorick makes it to his mother, a congresswoman in Washington. She pairs him with a secret agent called 355 and they journey to California to find doctor Alison Mann the only person they beleive might be able to find out what caused the plague. Vaughan and artist Pia Guerra put a fresh spin on postapocalyptic storytelling and the dialouge contains a surprising amount of humor. While this slow paced character driven storytelling and realistic art won't appeal to fans of super heroes this is easily one of the best comic series ever and as hard as is it is to beleive with something that starts this strong it just keeps getting better from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Disgusting

    Y the last man should be called Y the hell was this written. With a lame story, stupid characters and dialogue that goes on and on, I doubt anyone would choose this over getting your nuts cut off. I was at least hoping for some gory scenes, but the gore was lame and the characters were all gay..figuratively and literally. Brian Vaughan really needs to learn how to write.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    Entertaining and interesting

    I first heard about this series on NPR and bought vol. 1. I have to say it's making for fun summer vacation reading. The story is interesting enough that I've just ordered the other available volumes. A good alternative to some weak summer movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    Dumb

    This has got to be the stupidest thing I have ever read in my life except for Ultimate XMEn. Y: The Last Man is the last book you should ever want to read. Annoying time jumps, boring action, cliched concept.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    THE BEST IN CONTEMPORARY COMIC LITERATURE

    Post-apocalyptic fantasies are easy to bring off in terms of concept. If you tell the audience the world has ended, they usually have an idea of what this means and are all too willing to fill in the blanks themselves. Brian K. Vaughan, though, manages to create a decimated humanity that has texture and taste, and supplies answers to more than one smart question. This particular volume can only be faulted for a few annoying time jumps that don't seem to help the story. This is not a usual feature of the series. Don't be afraid to read Y: The Last Man because of your sex or preconceptions, as it's designed for everyone to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    The Best Graphic Novle Since Road to Predidition

    An amazing adventure seris about the last man on earth and his male monkey. He must journy to australia with his pet and female agent 355 to reunite with his girlfriend and save the human race, after proposing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2