Customer Reviews for

YOU: Having a Baby: The Owner's Manual to a Happy and Healthy Pregnancy

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

YOU Having a Baby by Dr. M Roizen, Dr. M Oz

As a newly pregnant mother, I am determined to remain healthy and to have a healthy baby. YOU, Having a Baby, gives me the "tools" to do both. By learning what is happening inside me, my husband and I can eat and play in a manner that will best keep me on an even keel...
As a newly pregnant mother, I am determined to remain healthy and to have a healthy baby. YOU, Having a Baby, gives me the "tools" to do both. By learning what is happening inside me, my husband and I can eat and play in a manner that will best keep me on an even keel and that will give our baby the best chance of a healthy entrance into this world. Thanks to Dr. Roizen and Dr. Oz for helping me to get off to a good start.

posted by marshaberna on December 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I kept seeing this book in stores and I would skim through it. I seen it was available on nook so i decided to get it. The pictures and half of the pages aren't showing up on my nook. It was a big wast of money I can't even read it.

posted by 5506285 on February 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Great Buy for First Time Parents

    I love drinking green tea but after reading this book, I discovered that green tea works against folic acid which helps prevent birth defects. I realized while planning on getting pregnant & during pregnancy, I should refrain from drinking it! Who knew??? There's lots of great information that is really helpful and I would advise anyone on planning on having a baby or is pregnant to read this book!

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    YOU Having a Baby by Dr. M Roizen, Dr. M Oz

    As a newly pregnant mother, I am determined to remain healthy and to have a healthy baby. YOU, Having a Baby, gives me the "tools" to do both. By learning what is happening inside me, my husband and I can eat and play in a manner that will best keep me on an even keel and that will give our baby the best chance of a healthy entrance into this world. Thanks to Dr. Roizen and Dr. Oz for helping me to get off to a good start.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Disappointed

    I kept seeing this book in stores and I would skim through it. I seen it was available on nook so i decided to get it. The pictures and half of the pages aren't showing up on my nook. It was a big wast of money I can't even read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Fun to Read

    This book has been fun to read. Dr. Oz gives cute illustrations to help you visualize the sometimes mundane technical explanations and overall is well written and informative.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    very medically oriented

    This is a good book for people who want to know every possible medical detail about pregnancy. Of course, I want to know the medical aspects of pregnancy too - I'm pregnant! And I love the authors of this book. I subscribe to their "RealAge" website. There were great quizzes in this book to take along the way to gauge how you are doing as an expecting mom that were a nice touch to help you feel connected to what's happening to you. But the problem for me was too many obscure medical abnormalities that only affect a fraction of the world's population. I just didn't want to be thinking about how my baby's brain might end up on the outside of its head due to some rare genetic defect (that most people don't have and can't do anything about anyway!). My emotions are sensitive at this stage and I don't want all those terrible thoughts and images in my mind while I'm trying to be positive and stress-free during pregnancy. I returned this book because of the negative way it made me feel. If you don't have any issues with the emotional aspects of pregnancy and want to know every possible scientific/medical detail (also maybe if you're not pregnant yet) then this is a great book for you! And the quizzes really were fun along the way.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great guide!

    This is a great guide that really set a lot of my fears at ease. I liked the doctors tone and felt that the entire book was well organized and easy to read. A must have for pregnant women.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    This is an AMAZING book!!

    This book is great for first time parents...not just moms. I am a first time mom and my husband and I enjoyed reading this book together. It really gives you good insight into what is going on in your body while pregnant, but in a really easy to understand way and believe it or not, it has humor as well. It really tries to prepare you for what you are going through now and what will happen as your pregnancy progresses not to mention giving birth. I HIGHLY recommend this book!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    Great book for first time parents!

    I am a HUGE fan of Dr. Oz and Dr. Roizen and read almost everything they put out. You: Having a Baby is no exception to that rule and I am so glad they came out with this book around the same time I found out I was expecting! This book is very helpful and gives direct information without sugar coating anything. Sometimes it is a bit scary but it is the truth! The books talk about everything from what you should eat, shouldn't eat, birth plans, excerise, baby care after birth, you name it, they talk about it! The book also includes a 40 weeks pregnancy calendar that pulls out for your personal use! I would recommend this book for sure!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Great book!

    This is my first pregnancy, and I had a lot of questions. This book helped cover a lot of my fears and worries, which turns out to be quite normal. I recommend this to anyone who is having their 1st baby, or knows anyone that is having a child. I really enjoyed the science and how detailed everything was and how this is affecting your life and your partners too. A def. must have!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    excellent book

    valuable for expectent parents.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Read something else!

    I picked this book because a review said it would not scare a pregnant woman (things that can go wrong) like other books. Not true! This book scared me the most. It even says if you lay on your back, the baby will suffocate due to lack of oxygen. Then how can you give birth in a hospital bed?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Love it

    This book tells you exactly what you need to know. I was concerned about cramps, and this was the first book that I read that said it was normal. What a relief! I will love this book forever for the peace of mind that it gave me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    The best!

    The best pregnacy book ever! What to expect is NOTHING compaired to this!! I absolutely LOVE the illustrations!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3