Customer Reviews for

Ya-Yas in Bloom

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    The world has started (song two in Supernova pre-album)

    (Previous song at Superstar res1) the world has started. So prepare youselves. Get ready sing... YOUR HEART OUT! YOUR HEART OUT CUZ! Cuz the whole world's eyes are on you! Cuz the whole world is looking at you... JUST CUZ THE WHOLE WORLD IS WATCHING YOU!! DONT FAIL NOW! DONT FAIL NOWOWOW! DONT FAIL! cant fail. CUZ THE WHOLE WORLD IS WATCHING IS WATCHING YOU! CUZ THE WHOLE WORLD IS WATCHING YOU! Die today to live another day! SEE THE SUMMER... SEE THE WINTERR! THEN SPRING WILL SWEEP YOU BACK TO REALITY! THE WORLD HAS STARTED. And dont get left behind... We will not faall! WE STAY STROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG... forevermore! JUST CUZ THE WHOLE WORLD IS WATCHING YOU! All eyes on you. All eyes on me. SING YOUR HEART OUT! LET THE TEARS FALL! And dont get left behind! Becuase the world is yours! (Next song in Supernova pre-album at just sing res one.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    SURVEY HERE!

    T.V. show survey...example. <p> FAV SHOW: Total Drama --- FAV CHARACTER (female): Lindsay or Heather --- FAV CHARACTER (male): Noah --- FAVORITE SEASON: Season three or one...it's a tie --- FAVORITE SONG: I have a lot...."This is How We Will End it" sung by Alejandro and Heather, "I'm Gonna Make It" sung by Sierra, Cody, Heather, and Alejandro, "Oui My Friends," sung by Sierra, "We Built Gwen's Face," and "What's Not To Love." --- LEAST FAV SONG: "Singin'/Rowin' Time" --- LEAST FAV CHARACTER (female): Blainley --- LEAST FAV CHARACTER (male): Justin, Ezekial, and Harold --- FAV EPISODE: There are a lot..."Broadway Baby", "Can't Help Falling in Louvre", "The Am-AHH-zon Race", "Trial by Tri-armed Triathilon", "Awwww Drumheller," "Jaimaca Me Sweat," "Rock and Rule", and "That's off the Chain!" --- LEAST FAV EPISODE: "Walk Like an Egyptian: part two", "Sweden Sour", "Alien Resur-eggs-ion" --- NAYTHING ELSE U WANT TO ADD!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Cheesy and trite

    So disappointingly awful that the only possible explanation is that this book could not have been written by the same author as the first two. Where the first two books were filled with meaningful dialogue and deeply sympathetic human experiences, this one was a ridiculously indulgent, shallow, brainless piece of fluff. If you prefer meaty books with real substance then skip this one. You won't be missing anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    To wolfkit

    Hello sweetie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    Disappointing

    Maybe it's me, but I didn't enjoy this book at all. I love the Ya Ya characters and liked Divine Secrets, but this was just flat for me. Nothing seemed to flow and reading this book alone, you don't feel connected to the characters. Wells' writing is good and her descriptions of Louisiana and the culture are great, but the story(ies) just go nowhere for me. They move quickly, don't let you get a good sense of anything that is underlying in the characters and the end is just the end - nothing poignant, nothing grand, nothing horrible, it's just the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    Ya Yas in Bloom

    This book was moving and wonderful. Full of the old South, lots of fun tales and traditions. I loved it. Gave it to my daughter to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A charmer

    The four Ya-Yas sisters Vivi, Teensy, Caro and Necie met in 1930 Louisiana as little girls. They were a hand full as individuals so filled with zest and prankishness, but as a quartet though very young they ruled their world. Over the years they married, had children, but remained the Ya-Yas whether they fought with nuns or rained the next generation of 'Petites Ya-Yas'.-------- Others their age kept out of their exclusive club like nasty jealous Myrtis detested the fearsome foursome. Her loathing leads to her even more resentful emotionally deranged daughter Edythe kidnapping Necie's three-year-old granddaughter, Rosalyn. No one messes with the septuagenarian granny Ya-Yas who are coming to rescue one of their own.----------- The first part of the book consists of interesting vignettes from the salad days of the Ya-Yas though not linear in nature, but just as fun to follow. The tale does a 180 spin with Edythe narrating how much she hates and envies the Ya-Yas, who she desperately wanted to join but did not fit in. Edythe never seems real as she has one emotion: animosity. The story leaps again to 1994 and the kidnapping. Though lacking continuity as if three novellas were combined into one book, fans will enjoy YA-YAS IN BLOOM especially the escapades of the early years.--------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Hilarious!

    This book was great light reading, very funny and reminiscent of growing up in the 1950s and 60s. It made me laugh out loud and it made me happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    A big letdown

    This book was sorely disappointing. The vignettes were all over the place and it seemed very forced. Much of the dialogue was corny. The Christmas pageant at the end was the first we saw of many of the extended Ya-Ya family just seemed jumbled and cheesy. I was a big fan of Wells' previous 2 Ya-Ya books and really looked forward to reading this one, but it was a struggle to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    A Jumbled Mess

    I loved the 1st 2 YaYa books! However, this last installment is just a jumble of stories that has no flow. You have no idea why the author is telling you these stories. There is no climatic build up. I felt no real connection with any of the characters especially Vivi's youngest son Baylor. It seemed that Rebecca Wells tried to make him an unique character with cute quirks. I felt he just came off weird and paraniod. By the time, I got to the send to last chapter which centers around Baylor's family, I could not bring myself to read anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    Disappointed yet again by the hype.

    While parts of this book were mildly entertaining and reminiscent of the other two, the last quarter is a struggle to get through. Parts of the dialogue are cheesy and meaningless. I would only recommend this to Ya-Ya devotees, which I am clearly not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    Disappointed

    As a big fan of the first two books I started reading this book with high expectations of continuing the YaYa saga. Unfortunately, the book ended with huge disappointment. The first half kept my interest but the last quarter was boring and to its detriment, completely unlike the first two books. If you have to read this book, borrow it from the library. Unlike the others, you won't want to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    A Poorly Written Sequal

    What a shame! Rebecca Wells has so much talent. She is far too good a writer to have written this bit of fluff. Her fans must have been begging for more about the Ya Ya's and she obliged with this poorly written sequal. Unlike her other books, nothing rings true. Even the part about the 4 year olds meeting was unlikely because the behavior of those four was more typical of 8-10 year old children. Ms. Wells should forget the Ya Ya's now and move on to something new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    Mixed Emotions on This One

    The book seemed to start off in a good direction but the ending was a little bland to me. I would have liked to see a better follow up to the awesome original Ya Ya Sisterhood.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Disappointed in the Ending

    This book starts out wonderfully. I couldn't help but read it with a smile on my face. But then, about 3/4 of the way through, it seems like a completely different book. Randomly, the author goes in another direction! It felt like she didn't know what to write next about our beloved Ya Ya's, so she created a random drama. However, we don't know the characters intimately enough to fret over the situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Loved It

    This is a wonderful book I believe because it has a happy ending and who ever doesn't like those is one depressing person! Another thing is I like the fact you got to be more in touch with all the Ya-Ya's families. To show us a different side of all of them. For those of you who obviously didn't read the first one these books their not all suppost to be about ' mother and daughter' relationships ... and I think that is refreshing to see what the other characters are like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    I Laughed Heartly recalling my own S. La.,Catholic upbringing.

    I can only speak for this Ya-Ya book,as I've read none other. I can tell you that I loved the vivid descriptions of Catholic rites-of-passage,taboos and the like. Comming from Kenner, La. now living in Dayton,Ohio I saw much of myself and kindred spirit in The Ya-Ya clan. Thank you to the author for this work .It offerred to me a pleasant cathartic retrospect. Erin Fleming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    A great read.. really takes you there

    This book is such a fun and easy read. I become engrossed everytime in the lives of these little girls. Being from Louisiana, this book also hits home. I think it is such a great book to get lost in and feel free and young

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Read it if you like the other books...but prepare to be disappointed

    I love the other 2 Ya-Ya books, but this one was a real disappointment. I still recommend reading it if you are a fan - there are some good parts - but I'd suggest waiting till it's in paperback ro even just getting it from the library. I can't see myself ever wanting to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3