Customer Reviews for

Ya-Yas in Bloom

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2015

    Carlos

    I wanna do her to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Cheesy and trite

    So disappointingly awful that the only possible explanation is that this book could not have been written by the same author as the first two. Where the first two books were filled with meaningful dialogue and deeply sympathetic human experiences, this one was a ridiculously indulgent, shallow, brainless piece of fluff. If you prefer meaty books with real substance then skip this one. You won't be missing anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    Disappointing

    Maybe it's me, but I didn't enjoy this book at all. I love the Ya Ya characters and liked Divine Secrets, but this was just flat for me. Nothing seemed to flow and reading this book alone, you don't feel connected to the characters. Wells' writing is good and her descriptions of Louisiana and the culture are great, but the story(ies) just go nowhere for me. They move quickly, don't let you get a good sense of anything that is underlying in the characters and the end is just the end - nothing poignant, nothing grand, nothing horrible, it's just the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    A big letdown

    This book was sorely disappointing. The vignettes were all over the place and it seemed very forced. Much of the dialogue was corny. The Christmas pageant at the end was the first we saw of many of the extended Ya-Ya family just seemed jumbled and cheesy. I was a big fan of Wells' previous 2 Ya-Ya books and really looked forward to reading this one, but it was a struggle to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    A Jumbled Mess

    I loved the 1st 2 YaYa books! However, this last installment is just a jumble of stories that has no flow. You have no idea why the author is telling you these stories. There is no climatic build up. I felt no real connection with any of the characters especially Vivi's youngest son Baylor. It seemed that Rebecca Wells tried to make him an unique character with cute quirks. I felt he just came off weird and paraniod. By the time, I got to the send to last chapter which centers around Baylor's family, I could not bring myself to read anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    A Poorly Written Sequal

    What a shame! Rebecca Wells has so much talent. She is far too good a writer to have written this bit of fluff. Her fans must have been begging for more about the Ya Ya's and she obliged with this poorly written sequal. Unlike her other books, nothing rings true. Even the part about the 4 year olds meeting was unlikely because the behavior of those four was more typical of 8-10 year old children. Ms. Wells should forget the Ya Ya's now and move on to something new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    Sad follow up

    With much anticipation I picked up Ya Ya's in Bloom the day it was released but I soon realized that my anticipation was wasted on this sad follow up to the Ya Ya Sisterhood. I am a true Ya Ya fan but would have rather not read this book which was seen by me as a way to profit from the previous titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Disappointed in Wells

    With a fervent love for Vivi, Caro, Necie, Teensy and Sidda in my heart, I willingly forked over the cash to read the latest installment - wish I hadn't. The stories are not true to Wells' inner voice and eye - they are melodramatic, corny and lack the delicate organization of the earlier books. And even more upsetting was the questionable editing - in several chapters, there were major verb tense issues. For instance, in the chapter where Caro tries to explain religion to Vivi and encourage her to turn to the Blessed Mother, Wells switches between past and present tense- and not deliberately - like a 4th grade writer. Not what I expect from such a polished and precise writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1