Customer Reviews for

Yatzy

Average Rating 4.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

Yatzy!

I remember playing yatzy on game nights - this game brings happy childhood memories. I love playing this simple yet very addicting game. I'm very happy with the purchase of this yatzy version.

posted by 5645296 on March 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

You rarely win.

Superbot wins alot more games than you do. If you are ahead and say all you have to get is fives--forget it, you won't get any at all--but if superbot needs a lg straight--he will get it. After a few games like that, it takes the fun out of it.

posted by shrtstmorgan on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Extra Yatzies?

    Why isn't there a feature for scoring additional Yatzies in the same game? Most games I have played on other devices allow for that. Also, I agree with the comments about the game favoring the Bot in many situations. It's not as random as it is when actually playing with dice. Overall a fairly fun game.

    28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Almost perfect!

    Like other posts, this game is an improved replica of the one we grew up with. No noisy cup...good thing...no homemade scorecards (we always ran out)...good thing...no tiny pencils...good thing...but where are the little chips? You know, the ones to mark additional YATZYs.

    I hope the creators read this an offer an updated version!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    only 1 fault

    Only thing I do not like: on a 2nd or 3rd Yatzy cannot earn extra points as happens playing with the dice.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Lots of fun

    It would be more fun if you could score more than one Yatzy per game.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    great game!

    very true to the original game in all but one matter; it seems wrong that they haven't found a way to bonus for multiple Yatzys within the same game. I bought it while in a hospital needing a mindless game to play repetitively and this was perfect. More than worth the .99!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Good but...

    Good game, but places ads in your notification bar.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Good Game

    There are maybe two things stopping this from being a great game. One, I'd like to see a stat that keeps track of a player's highest score (you can lose the average score as far as I'm concerned). Two, I'd like to see bonus points for multiple yatzy's in a single game.

    And the Superbot does not always win. After 22 games, I am ahead 12 to 10.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Fun... Works Well

    This classic dice game is very fun on the Nook. Runs smoothly and keeps accurate scores. My only issue, as someone who is vision impared, is that the score section on the left side of the screen is somewhat small and not very easy on the eyes. Overall, a nice game for fans of this classic.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Fun game!!

    Works well on my Nook Tablet.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, but not perfect

    It's fun to play this game, but there appear to be a few flaws in the programming. Certain combinations of actions appear routinely such that the roll of the dice is almost predictable. Also, there are times when playing against the machine that you can tell that the logic isn't right -- times when for no reason the machine chooses the wrong combination of dice to achieve the objective, or it doesn't swap out dice to get the best advantage, or it doesn't even take all three rolls of the dice when it should. If you can look past that, it's probably good. I haven't tried it yet with two humans playing each other, and that would mitigate some of the machine-logic problems.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Fun Game!

    Quick game of chance and/or wit! Provides many hours of fun or can be just one quick game for entertainment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Really good game!

    Plays just like the original board game. However, I wonder if the die rolls are truly random. Seem to be many more yahtzees than randomness would yield. Also many are of the 5 6's variety.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I've been playing this for about a week now, and the Bot and I a

    I've been playing this for about a week now, and the Bot and I are just about tied! I do wish the 2nd and 3rd Yatzy would give bonus points, or at least be a wild card. Also, since when is a Yatzy not a Full House??? Overall, a great game and worth the buck.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Love it but 1 problem

    My friends and I have had a great time with this version of Yahtzee. My one complaint is that occasionally you will not get all 5 dice on your roll. I have gotten 3 or 4. Other than that, a lot of fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    love it !

    there is a small flaw in the game in that it will sometimes "miss roll" and rip you off 1 turn rolling the dice.

    But it is fun and you can have 3 players and the robot to play

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Good game

    Just like the board game

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Enjoyable game

    Like this game. Have been enjoying it. Nice change from other games. Wish there were more like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Quite a fun app

    I've spent quite a few hours playing this with my eight year old and think this is a pretty great app.

    The only problem that I have with it is it seems to disguise some adware - even if I'm not running the software, I now get messages about other great Agile fusion apps. I know this was free, but please keep the ads in the game itself...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Good Playing

    Fun game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Great game to pass the time

    Me and my kids play this game. It is a great way for me to pass the time or just get away mentally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3