Customer Reviews for

A Year Down Yonder

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

While this is a sequel to A Long Way from Chicago, it can easily be read and enjoyed on its own. Richard Peck writes the adventures of Mary Alice, spending a year away from her home in depression-era Chicago at her grandmother's house in the country. While grandma is gr...
While this is a sequel to A Long Way from Chicago, it can easily be read and enjoyed on its own. Richard Peck writes the adventures of Mary Alice, spending a year away from her home in depression-era Chicago at her grandmother's house in the country. While grandma is gruff and no-nonsense, she soon enlists Mary Alice in her schemes to influence neighbors - some who are friends, some who are enemies. This hilarious book is great to read aloud, and will leave both moms and daughters in stitches.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Year Down Yonder

This girl named Mary Alice is sent to her Grandma Dowdel's house by her self for a year long stay in rural Illinois. She has to learn to cope with her grandma. She's also 15 and she is learning from being around her grandma,how to be independent. It's taking place at he...
This girl named Mary Alice is sent to her Grandma Dowdel's house by her self for a year long stay in rural Illinois. She has to learn to cope with her grandma. She's also 15 and she is learning from being around her grandma,how to be independent. It's taking place at her grandma's house in the country. It's during the depretion in 1937. Mary Alice is from Chicago and it's hard for her to start a new school. She is called the rich girl from Chicago. Everyone is afraid of Grandma but she is really nice.I would give this book one star because it wasn't very exciting. It might be more interesting if you like to read stories about people's lies. It was also kind of boring. I think that if you want to read this book you should start with the first one. It clears things out more.

posted by 7035498 on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    While this is a sequel to A Long Way from Chicago, it can easily be read and enjoyed on its own. Richard Peck writes the adventures of Mary Alice, spending a year away from her home in depression-era Chicago at her grandmother's house in the country. While grandma is gruff and no-nonsense, she soon enlists Mary Alice in her schemes to influence neighbors - some who are friends, some who are enemies. This hilarious book is great to read aloud, and will leave both moms and daughters in stitches.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Fantastic!

    This book is told from the perspective of fifteen-year-old Mary Alice, a city girl from Chicago in 1937. After Mary Alice's dad loses his job, Mary Alice is sent to her "trigger-happy" Grandma's house for a whole year- how will she ever survive? Stealing pumpkins, driving tractors into trees, and so much more- packed into one phenominal book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    The reading by Lois Smith is fabulous!

    Lois Smith is perfect as the reader of this book. The story has just the right mix of fun, trickery, and empathy. My kids from 7 years to 15 years all enjoyed it. One time I started the tape mid story while taking three 13 year old boys to the beach and when we got home they didn't want to get out of the car because they wanted to hear more.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    A Year Down Yonder Book Review

    Mary Alice, a 15 year old Chicago girl, has to live with her grandmother for a year, because in the "Roosavelt Recession," her father loses his job and has to sell their apartment. Her brother would come with, but he is in a tree planting program. Her grandmother's town is small, and unlike Chicago, everyone seems to know everyone else. The school is small, too, as is every other buliding there. At school, Mary Alice doesn't have any friends except for Ina-Rae Gage and Royce McNabb, a new student mentioned later in the book. The whole story is about the year that Mary Alice spends with her sour grandmother. There are a lot of surprising twists and turns in the book. It shows that small town life can be fun.
    I liked this book, and I think that it was very interesting, but I also think that the author didn't describe everything very well. But it was also very unpredictable, and there were a lot of different, smaller events that kept the story going. It was a lot of fun to read. Over all, A Year Down Yonder was a really good book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    Year Down Yonder Book Review

    This story is about a 15-year old girl named Mary Alice. Her parents send her to live with her grandma because her Dad needs a job. It is in the time of the Great Depression. Times are tough in Chicago where her parents live, and her Grandmother lives in a small, country town. It's difficult for Mary Alice to get used to living in the small little town. Grandma is zany and harsh. Most people try to steer clear of that old lady. If someone needs to be put in their place, Grandma will see to it. But underneath she has a heart. Mary Alice goes through wild adventures with Grandma. Once she has to run home from school in a tornado because she had to make sure her Grandma was okay. The wild adventures include guns, traps, odd people, and even turkeys. Mary Alice lives with Grandma for one whole year. Her relationship with her Grandmas starts out with cold and distant. But by the end of the story, they have a touching relationship.

    It's a very good book and an even greater adventure. I love how the author describes the characters and tells the story. Richard Peck is an awesome author. He tells the story so clearly, you feel like you are in the room with Grandma Dowdel and Mary Alice. The humor in this book makes it easy to read because you really feel like you are connected to the characters. This book is a sequel to Long Way to Chicago, but it is a great book to read by itself. I hope you love it as much as I did.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    A great Sunday Afternoon Read

    This is a great book. I found it funny and delightful. I loved to see the generation gap close between Mary Alice and her grandmother. This is a good book for children of all ages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    this book was awesome!

    Mary Alice is a 15-year-old girl from Chicago whose family is getting hit hard by the Roosevelt recession. this causes her dad to lose his job. as a result, Mary Alice has to go down to her grandmothers house for a year until her dad can get his job back. all she brings with her is her cat bootsie and her portable radio, along with every stitch of clothing she owns. Mary Alice thinks going to her grandmothers house will be !#$%@ because there is nothing modern. however, Mary Alice starts to respect her grandma while she dumps glue on the heads of halloweners. i give this book 5 stars because it was really fun to read. it had a great story plot, and you didn't have to read the prequel for it to make sense. it tells about the ups and downs of living in small towns. for example, you know everybody by name, but you can't avoid the bullies.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Highly recommended for classroom!

    I would highly recommend the chapter book A Year Down Yonder, by Richard Peck, to be used by teachers in a fourth or fifth grade classroom. This story is the sequel to Peck's A Long Way From Chicago. This realistic fiction story takes place in a rural town in Illinois during the Great Depression. Fifteen-year-old Mary Alice is the main character. At the beginning of the story, her parents send her on a train from her home in Chicago to the rural town where her grandmother lives. Her parents take a hard hit from the Depression and can't afford to feed her and take care of her while they look for work in Chicago, so Mary Alice is forced to live with Grandma Dowdel for one year. At first, Mary Alice dreads the thought of living in Grandma Dowdel's farming town for an entire year without her older brother and with no friends. This town could not be any more different than Chicago. However, she takes her journey with a grain of salt. Throughout the story, Mary Alice goes through many ups, downs, and more downs, as she learns to deal with bullies at school, her one-of-a-kind grandmother, and most importantly, surviving the Great Depression. From a teacher's perspective, I would use this book as a history lesson. I think this book is a great resource to use when teaching older elementary students about the Great Depression. It is easy to teach children endless facts from textbooks about this life-changing time period in America, but I think that students would be able to get a true glimpse of the lifestyle during this time. Although it is not a true story, many aspects of Mary Alice's journey could be deemed as realistic, from her struggling school life to the uncertainties that food would be on the table each evening for dinner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    A Year Down Yonder

    This girl named Mary Alice is sent to her Grandma Dowdel's house by her self for a year long stay in rural Illinois. She has to learn to cope with her grandma. She's also 15 and she is learning from being around her grandma,how to be independent. It's taking place at her grandma's house in the country. It's during the depretion in 1937. Mary Alice is from Chicago and it's hard for her to start a new school. She is called the rich girl from Chicago. Everyone is afraid of Grandma but she is really nice.I would give this book one star because it wasn't very exciting. It might be more interesting if you like to read stories about people's lies. It was also kind of boring. I think that if you want to read this book you should start with the first one. It clears things out more.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    good book

    if you want a book wih some humor and a little bit of serious you read this book. the girl mary alice is dragged around by her grandmother in all kinds of funny adventures. you need to read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    Entertaining book for all ages!

    Mary Alice has to live with her grandma for a whole year. The main characters are Mary Alice and grandma Dowdel .The story is about the trials and tribulations of Mary Alice as she lives with her grandma for a year, they have many fun times as well as hard times. She falls in love with a boy named Royce and he asks her if he can write to her from college. It was an extremely entertaining story with humor and romance too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    year down the yonder

    when i read this book my favorite charcter is mary alice and her grandma especially her grandma

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    A Year Down Yonder

    ¿A Year Down Yonder¿ by Richard Peck was published in 2000, and it won the Newbery Medal award in the year of 2001. Peck was born on April 5, 1934 and was born and raised in Decatur, Illinois. He has written over 25 novels, and is known for his contributions to modern young adult literature. Peck currently lives in New York. ¿A Year Down Yonder¿ is about a fifteen year old girl named Mary Alice Dowdel who is from the windy city, Chicago. She is forced to live with her grandmother in a small ¿hick¿ town, because of bad situations during the Great Depression, such as ¿Dad lost his job, so we¿d had to give up the apartment.¿ Not only did Mary Alice have to leave her old school and enroll in a new one, but she also was going to live in her grandmother¿s house with nothing modern, ¿no telephone, of course¿ and ¿everything as old as Grandma.¿ When she arrived at her grandmas, she didn¿t receive a warm welcome and things were uneasy between the two. Mary Alice had to go to her new high school when she first arrived, and on her first day, she gets in trouble with the school bully, Mildred, who calls her a ¿rich Chicago girl.¿ As you can see, things for Mary Alice weren¿t easy for her in her new environment at first. Will she ever adapt to her new environment in the so-called ¿hick¿ town? Will she make new friends? Will her relationship with her grandmother grow, or will things between them remain uneasy? You will have to read to find out, and trust me, this is one humorous, heartwarming story you will not want to miss out on. This book is filled with tons of adventures and surprises. This books genre is historical fiction. Subjects touched in this book include the Great Depression, families and social structures, and extended family. I also think many young adults can relate to this book in several ways, for instance, having to transition to a new school and/or environment. I really enjoyed this book. Each chapter tells its own amusing anecdote, which I think is wonderful. I would recommend this book because it was very intriguing and kept my attention. This books age range is 12 and up. Peck, Richard. A Year Down Yonder. New York: Dial Books, 2000.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Incerdible Story

    You will love this story of a grandmother who is full of surpries!! Richard Peck writes a very visual story of a grandmother and her grandaughter set in the time of the depression.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    A Year Down Yonder is an awesome book!!!

    The book A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck deserves 4 stars with its humorous and exciting plot. After a Chicago girl is sent to live with her tough Grandma in the country. She is enrolled into school on her first day and gets into trouble with the school bully at the same time. Her Grandma takes her on many amusing adventures which include riding a tractor into a tree, causing someone to go bald, and making oodles of pies. She makes a few good friends and meets a cute boy. Her whole life is changed by this experience that was caused by the great depression. Her mother sent her on a train to Grandma¿s because the great depression had drained them of money. Almost all of the money they had was spent on her ticket to the country. She despised the idea at first, but after a year of bonding with her Grandma and meeting all of the interesting country folk she never wants to leave. This book well deserves its 4 stars and has an excellent thought out plot and I would recommend it to anyone. I am a seventh grader in North Carolina and enjoyed reading this great book. I would also like to recommend The Giver and Kira Kira which are both exceptional books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    :)

    Very funny! I liked this book better than Long way from Chicago because it's written from Mary Alice's perspective instead of Joey's. Grandma is my favorite character. She's is so hillarious!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    I would recommend this

    I thought this book was a 3/5 stars. It had good start and a lot of action. The characters were okay and there was good details. I still will recommend this book to others. Mary Alice is a 15 year old girl who has to stay with her grandma. The only thing she has is her cat Bootsie and her radio. She has to go to high school when she bumps into Mildred Burdick. Mildred follows her home and asks for a dollar, grandma tricks him by untieing his horse leaving him a five mile walk home. Grandma still does things that I think are crazy. At one point a tornado strikes and Mary Alice runs home to see if grandma is okay. There is also the fact that both Mary Alice and Carleen Lovejoy like Royce McNabb.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    ?????!!!!!!!!

    i havent read it yet but it looks like a really funny book!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Really Enjoyable if you want a good read hears one i highly sudgest this book to all ages

    Up top

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    A Year Down Yonder

    A young woman named Mary Alice lives with her Mom and Dad in the noisy city of Chicago. But she must leave because her parents are going through a 'rough time'. Mary Alice goes to live with her grandmother Dowdel. Her grandma is an old batty woman who dosen't love anyone or anything. Mary Alice's grandmother lives in the hill country side of Illinois. The author describes things well but he doesn't describe all important things. Richard Peck describes the things that have little or no importance to the story. Anyway, Mary Alice has missed two weeks of school and is forced to go to school as soon as she gets in Grandma Dowde's town. She later grows up to marry a nice young man by the name of Royce McNabb. A Year Down Yonder was not my favorite book. I think this beacouse the way the author describes certain events. Or more of how he didn't Richard Peck didn't focus on the important things. He rater spent more time describing the smaller things that have little or no importance to the story. This is why I gave this book one star.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7