Customer Reviews for

A Year Down Yonder

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

While this is a sequel to A Long Way from Chicago, it can easily be read and enjoyed on its own. Richard Peck writes the adventures of Mary Alice, spending a year away from her home in depression-era Chicago at her grandmother's house in the country. While grandma is gr...
While this is a sequel to A Long Way from Chicago, it can easily be read and enjoyed on its own. Richard Peck writes the adventures of Mary Alice, spending a year away from her home in depression-era Chicago at her grandmother's house in the country. While grandma is gruff and no-nonsense, she soon enlists Mary Alice in her schemes to influence neighbors - some who are friends, some who are enemies. This hilarious book is great to read aloud, and will leave both moms and daughters in stitches.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Year Down Yonder

This girl named Mary Alice is sent to her Grandma Dowdel's house by her self for a year long stay in rural Illinois. She has to learn to cope with her grandma. She's also 15 and she is learning from being around her grandma,how to be independent. It's taking place at he...
This girl named Mary Alice is sent to her Grandma Dowdel's house by her self for a year long stay in rural Illinois. She has to learn to cope with her grandma. She's also 15 and she is learning from being around her grandma,how to be independent. It's taking place at her grandma's house in the country. It's during the depretion in 1937. Mary Alice is from Chicago and it's hard for her to start a new school. She is called the rich girl from Chicago. Everyone is afraid of Grandma but she is really nice.I would give this book one star because it wasn't very exciting. It might be more interesting if you like to read stories about people's lies. It was also kind of boring. I think that if you want to read this book you should start with the first one. It clears things out more.

posted by 7035498 on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    A Year Down Yonder Review

    This Newberry award winner is a very touching story about a teenage girl from the city who is forced to live with her grandmother in the country. She is very quiet at first because she knows she¿s different from her other peers. This book would be age appropriate for ages twelve and up. This novel is something that middle school grade students can relate to in many ways. For instance, transitions to a different school, family, income, or even city or state. The classification for this novel would fall into the fantasy genre because it contained at least one impossible element. It was realistic during the most part except for the ending. The author of this book is Richard Peck which has written over twenty-five novels. Mr. Peck grew up in Decatur, Illinois, and now resides in New York City. Peck, Richard. A Year Down Yonder. New York: Scholastic Inc. 2000.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Newberry Medal: A Year Down Yonder

    This 2001 Newberry Medal winner is a sequel to A Long Way to Chicago, which was the Newberry Medal winner in 1999. Richard Peck has produced over twenty-five acclaimed novels, and he has received numerous awards. This book deserves the Newberry award because it is full of life lessons and values. Mary Alice¿s father loses his job, and things get bad. Mary Alice has to live with her feisty hicktown, and all the children in school think of her as a ¿rich Chicago girl¿. Mary Alice¿s visit if full of schemes, romances, and a whole parade of fools made to suffer in unusual ways. Peck, Richard. A Year Down Yonder. New York: Dial books, 2000. Reading level: Ages 12 and up

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Wowzers!

    I think this book was well-writen. It was funny, old fashioned, and just plain awsome!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    This is a good book

    It is very well written in all aspects. It has scenes of mischef, funny parts, and romance. All together it is a touching story, and I would recomend this book to anyone who likes history, or just a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    A well written story, descriptive and funny

    A Year Down Yonder is an excellent book to be presented and discussed in class. It describes life in 1937 and the depression as vividly as a photograph. The humor is of a genuine nature and the lessons learned are of great value. The parts of the story discribing how people of 1937 held the value of money is something people of today need to read and talk about. There is great humor in the character of the grandmother and her actions. As you read on, you will be caught by surprise several times. A very interesting, enjoyable story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    A Year Down Yonder

    A Year Down Yonder, by Richard Peck. I think this book deserves four stars because it¿s a very good book to read for people who enjoy stories of the old times. These four stars can represent many things about the book. I gave the stars to the book because it can be real serious at times, and then funny at others, which I think makes a book good. All of this is done while teaching a lesson somewhere in the story. Another good thing about it is it¿s all appropriate material. I would suggest it to kids around the ages of 9-12. That doesn¿t mean that most of the younger kids will understand it though. It may be a little confusing at first (especially if you haven¿t read the first one), but you will eventually come to like it. Now, there are some things in the book I wouldn¿t suggest other people doing in there (like some of the ¿adventures¿ that the main character, Mary-Alice, and her grandma have). The book is mainly about ¿adventures¿ that Mary-Alice and her grandma have. Mary-Alice visits her grandma for a short period of time during the summer, so of course they¿ve got to have some excitement in their time together. This book is also filled with things that kids could take home with them that wouldn¿t be too bad (lessons to be learned). These things include: hard work, helping out other people, taking responsibilities for themselves (things they don¿t normally do), and things like that. I think responsibility is definitely one of the main themes in the book. Most things have to do with this theme. Some examples from the book, there¿s supposed to be a party held for members of a certain group that traces their ancestry all the way back to the Civil War (the DAR). They need to make cherry tarts for the party (they don¿t know how). Mary-Alice¿s grandma takes the responsibility to make the cherry tarts, and even holding the party at her house. Mary-Alice helps make them and even some punch for the party. If you ask me, that¿s a lot of responsibility. I wish that I could do something like that at my grandma¿s house!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2005

    Terrific

    I loved this book. I was not forced to read it like others. I was just hooked as soon as i read the summary! This is a humorous, sad and all around teriffic book. don't listen to those who say it stink because as soon as you start to read it you'll be hooked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Its funny,sort of, and........different.

    I liked that it was humrous I mean I never heard some old lady steeling pumpkins!? But if your like me you probly like your Histery Book better. I was disapointed with the ending it wasnt worth remembering.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    Year Down Yonder

    I read A Long Way from Chicago for school, and that was funny and easy, definitely better than this one. Year Down Yonder was kinda funny and really easy, but boring too. I would only recommend it to people that are looking for a quick, easy book. I'm glad I read it, but I'm glad I didn't buy it. I borrowed it from a neighbor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    read it dudes!

    Its funny. I had to read it for a book report. i hate book reports.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    TRIGGER HAPPY GRANDMA!!!!

    Sorta easy to predict but good storyline and the way the grandma is trigger happy taht made me laugh.And when the cat got turned into a outsider taht was pretty weird. Other than those pretty good book not one of the ebst tho. I like action/adventure but this was sumting different to me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Didn't like it much

    It was way too boring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Best book and funny and enjoyable

    This was great book it was so funny too!!!!!!!!!!! This was such a good book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Wow

    I really enjoy this book. I read this to my class and kids they all love it. I would really like more of this cazy women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    a fun read

    the hilarious story of a girl that learns a lot about life from a hoot of a grandmother

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    More?

    I recemend the third book a season of gifts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    WOW BEST BOOK EVER

    WOW BEST BOOK EVER

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    The sequel to "A Long way From Chicago", this book con

    The sequel to "A Long way From Chicago", this book continues the story of Grandma Dowdel and Mary-Alice. This time, with her family struggling to make ends meet and her father out of a job, Mary-Alice is sent to live with Grandma Dowdel until her parents can get back on their feet. With her brother Joey off working in the west, Mary-Alice is on her own at Grandma's for the first time. While in the first book, all of the visits were recorded over their summer visits, in this one, we get to see each of the seasons and how they are handled in Grandmas' part of the world.

    I, again, really enjoyed this book. The characters are developed so lovingly, it feels like a return visit to old friends. In this one, Mary Alice is growing up, and starting to come into her own, although she is definitely bringing some of Grandma's traits along with her. We get even more of Grandma's hijinks, and learn how she survives and takes care of things year round in this time and place, and the lessons she teaches to Mary Alice through her actions, for better or worse. There are laugh-out-loud moments, and moments that brought tears to my eyes.

    I would definitely recommend this book to readers from 3rd or 4th grade (easy chapter book age) on to all ages. Younger readers will get a kick out of the historical aspects, and be asking their parents "could that have really happened?" or "would that actually work?", while older readers, as long as they are not snobs about the age-level the writing itself is aimed at, will probably find it nostalgic, either because of their own experiences, or the stories they may have heard from their parents or grand-parents. As C.S. Lewis once said, "No book is really worth reading at the age of ten, which is not equally (and often far more) worth reading at the age of fifty and beyond." As with Lewis's own Chronicles of Narnia, these books are timeless and ageless, easily read, and enjoyed just as much at 50 as they are at 10.(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I

    This is a great book i read this in fourth grade i really enjoyed it!!! I recoment to all ages

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7