Customer Reviews for

The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Tip of the ice burg

I'm a lifelong resident and knew /know a majority of these 'characters' and aliases mention in this book. I drove by the shooting scene just as they were loading Officer Busby into the ambulance and saw him sitting upright holding large amounts of gauze to what I though...
I'm a lifelong resident and knew /know a majority of these 'characters' and aliases mention in this book. I drove by the shooting scene just as they were loading Officer Busby into the ambulance and saw him sitting upright holding large amounts of gauze to what I thought was his jaws. Seeing the car in the front yard I assumed it was just a car accident¿ if I had left my girl friend¿s house 10 minutes earlier? Currently I live less than ¼ mile from they¿re old house adjacent to the cranberry bogs they often mention in this book. (Better or worse yet I lived one street from the Monterios house and often saw Monty when I played basketball with his kids¿ little did I know) After reading the book cover to cover in 3.5 hours it only sickened me to learn how the detectives, police, and selectman ruined this family¿s life. It was also very up lifting to know this family somehow persevered though this travesty brought on by the intentional ole boys club mentality that likely to be found in many small towns. Yes¿ Melvin Reine (Meyers) pulled the trigger on Office Busy and others but the guilty parties involved in this and the other disappearances / murders still hold positions of authority in Falmouth so I understand why Busby still doesn¿t feel safe to return to Falmouth. Melvin¿s brother John should be brought in for more questioning regarding the other disappearance / murders to find out who provided inside information regarding the ferry departure time for one key witness (Won¿t spoil the book) and other potential incrimination information. I bet there are a few current and retired police officers and selectman who are now not sleeping well with the release of this book and I only hope it gets at least ½ as bad as what they put the Busby¿s through. There¿s so much more corruption, entitlement and nepotism throughout Falmouth¿s government that this is only the tip of the ice berg of what¿s been festering in this town for years. I not only hope that John gets the statute of limitation passed but this book helps to bring a 3rd party non-bias investigation from the state or federal government!

posted by Anonymous on August 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A Family's Loss that is shared by tons!

The person who wrote this: (AnonymousI hope this becomes a national best seller!
Reader Rating See Detailed Ratings
Posted September 6, 2008, 5:51 PM EST: I was 29 years old in 1979 when John Busby was shot and had lived in Falmouth for just four years. When I moved ...
The person who wrote this: (AnonymousI hope this becomes a national best seller!
Reader Rating See Detailed Ratings
Posted September 6, 2008, 5:51 PM EST: I was 29 years old in 1979 when John Busby was shot and had lived in Falmouth for just four years. When I moved here from Boston in 1975, one of the first stories I heard from neighbors was about the undiscovered body of Melvin Reine's first wife. My neighbor said, 'some people think it's buried in the concrete slab foundation down the street.' Welcome to Falmouth. This is a wonderful town but the corruption in the police department that existed until recently has spread beyond the lack of justice for Busby. My abused neighbor couldn't get help from the police because her husband was 'in tight' with the police. This book is extremely well written. It was a thrill to see Cylin, John and Polly when they came to Falmouth in August to do a book signing. This was the first time they'd been back to Falmouth in almost 30 years. I can see why. I well remember Melvin Reine driving past me one day in his monster garbage truck. I happened to look up and he gave me the most evil smile I've ever seen in my life. I'll never forget it - it was bone chilling. God bless John Busby and his entire family.")

Should have not used the antagonists real name or brought the antagonist's first wife into the review. I know the Busbys are only trying to heal from their experiences from 1979 but all they did was tear open a can of worms that all families involved wanted kept closed. Being from Falmouth I know about this family. But I find it hard that a thirty-nine to forty year old woman can cleary remember what happened to her that vividly thirty years later. She wrote it from an adults perspective not a child's perspective. She used terms that a nine year old hasn't even learned in their elementary school vocabulary lessons yet. As much as I wanted to read their story at the same time I lost interest in chapter ten. My family all read the book in three hours max and a huge discussion about discrepencies about characters and facts ensued.

I feel sorry for the Busbys. No one should had to go through their loss and pain but I feel sorry for every other family who was effect by a sociopath's actions and the sociopath's first wife's family who are still trying to find answers to the questions they have about her disappearance.

posted by LexieM on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Good Point-of-View Memoir/ Great non-fiction read for teenagers

    This non-fiction memoir was easy to follow and kept my interest throughout. Having the different points-of-view made the story more realistic and gave the characters depth. It is a great non-fiction book for teenagers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    The Year We Disappeared is a memoir told by a father and a daugh

    The Year We Disappeared is a memoir told by a father and a daughter. The two alternate between the father and daughter speaking, which makes this story more interesting, because you get to hear the view point from both a child (daughter) and an adult (father). The daughter makes the story seem real with her extra details; she gives the story a more innocent feel. While her father gives the facts and tells it as it was.

    John Busby is a police officer in a small town. While on duty John is cruelly shot by a car passing. The surgeons had to completely reconstruct his jaw, and he knew that this could not have possibly been an accident and could then only think about revenge. Throughout this novel John focuses on the town and his work, along with the surgery he went through in great detail.

    Cylin Busby is John Busby’s nine year old daughter (at the time). She takes a different approach on the situation, and talks more about how she and her family felt threatened, unsafe, and how they had to go into hiding.

    This story was very attention-grabbing. I really liked how there was two points of view; it seemed to make the novel more real. In the ending they thanked everyone for all that they had done, and I felt that was a nice gesture they did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A Saddening Page-Turner about a Family’s Strength and One&

    A Saddening Page-Turner about a Family’s Strength and One’s Will to Live

    In this exciting memoir written by a woman and her father they remember the events of 1979, when their family went from being your average middle class American family to being the targets of killer’s plans. John, a police officer in Falmouth, Massachusetts, is shot by a local mobster on his way to work. By some chance he survives but requires major medical attention including facial reconstruction surgery. But since the killer missed his mark the Busby family is now in serious danger, the man who wanted to kill their father wants to kill them too. They are guarded by police officers twenty-four hours of the day.
    I found this book intriguing, not only the story, but the format of the book with alternating perspectives between John and Cylin. Cylin is only nine when the events take place and she sees her life being turned upside-down and is confused by the whole thing, whereas John is angry and plans his way to exact revenge for most of the book, before finding peace in the situation. I liked Cylin’s writing better, it was more descriptive and flowed, where John’s was more straightforward, tell it like it is. A major theme in this memoir was John’s not only will to survive but his will to thrive. He couldn’t stand to be a burden on his family an invalid for the rest of his life. I would recommend this book to anyone above the age of thirteen (there are a couple f-bombs dropped here and there), and while the subject-matter is quite serious, the way it is executed proves for a very good read. Though categorized as a Children’s book it does not belong there. I would rate this book four stars overall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    A story in which almost everyone can try and imagine themselves

    A story in which almost everyone can try and imagine themselves inside Cylin Busby shoes. You can't help but put yourself into the mind set of having the same situation happen to yourself when reading this book, The way it goes from one perspective to the other leaves you grasping for more and wanting to keep reading to finish one of their stories. I did actually enjoy how at the beginning of the book it basically summarizes what the book is about, sucking you in needless to say. The stories they shared and how they were put together had a perfect balance. At first I wasn't expecting for them to go into witness protection program because they waited a while to actually go into the program itself. The ending was also disappointing for me because of the Statue of limitations law. I was surprised most while reading this book that Cylin not only said she lost her child hood but you could tell throughout the stories that she really did have to grow up. This book is an overall amazing book but a fair warning it is a tearjerker, especially if someone you know is in any sort of line of duty where witness protection program could be considered. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    My reply to anyone

    If you think he is really cute then keep dating him but just to warn you people might askyou if you guy are dating and they might be childish around you watch out and go get him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Must read

    Great book and a quick read. Try it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Mind Boggling!

    Following a story on 48 hours concerning the Busby family, I purchased this book. Amazing story of grit and stamina on the part of John Busby surviving a horrible incident.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Liked it

    If your looking for a decent memoir...this is the book for you! This book kept me wondering at times but falling asleep at other times. Overall ok read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Very good read.

    very thought provoking on the way victims and their families suffer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Interesting

    great father -daughter relationship dynamic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Fast read

    Interesting and fast read. Didnt want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    easy read

    Pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Very good read, well written. Horrible to imagine it was real! T

    Very good read, well written. Horrible to imagine it was real! Thanks for sharing this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Touching story of the survivors of a vicious attack on a man & his family. This book opens your eyes to what a nightmare the victim goes through, as well as everyone around him. It is told in 2 perspectives, through the eyes of the victim and his then 9 year old daughter. Harrowing story of the bonds of family & loved ones in a time of tremendous turmoil both physically and psychologically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Good book, but too short.

    This was a very good and compelling story, I just wish they had written more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Quick and interesting read

    I really enjoyed this book, finished it in 24 hrs. Its exciting right off the bat which is something I like in a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Outstanding Read

    The Year We Disappeared was truly a great read for teens or adults. In this book, Cylin and John Busby are a regular middle class family. John heads to his work as a police man one night, and instead of a slow night he is shot in the face while driving. John drives to the nearest house and is taken to the hospital. He knows who may have shot him, but he can't eat or talk. John wants revenge. He spends a lot of time in the hospital, and through his rage he learns that sometimes you just need to forgive. Cylin, his daughter, through all this struggles in school and is confused about what has happened to her Dad. She has to come to the realization that things will never go back to the way they were now that her father can no longer eat or talk. She is escorted to school by a police man and treated differently. In this compelling novel, the themes of family, forgiveness, and to have lost are explored. I enjoyed the way this book was set up. It showed both Cylin and John's point of views depending on the chapter. John had a tough cop view on the situation, and Cylin had a confused young girl outlook on her new life. I didn't like John's writing, it seemed choppy and less descriptive than Cylin's. I would recommend that everyone read The Year We Disappeared because it is an emotional, amazing piece. It is very moving and teaches the very important trait of being forgiving. If you enjoyed this book, I would recommend novels on the Civil War or wars like that. I gave The Year We Disappeared four stars because I really enjoyed this novel and I was entertained the whole time. I didn't rate The Year We Disappeared five stars because I felt as though John's writing could have been stronger and I would have loved to see more description.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3