Customer Reviews for

The Year We Left Home

Average Rating 3
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully wrought and totally recognizable...we know these things

Ah, the Midwest. One has notions of the Midwest that the characters in this novel try to disabuse one of all the way through, but in fact, it's pretty much the way I imagined it: overgrown family farms gone to ruin; empty, neglected storefronts on main streets; young ki...
Ah, the Midwest. One has notions of the Midwest that the characters in this novel try to disabuse one of all the way through, but in fact, it's pretty much the way I imagined it: overgrown family farms gone to ruin; empty, neglected storefronts on main streets; young kids dying to get out. This novel follows an extended family through the 1960s to the new millenium, and isn't lavish with descriptions of beauty or of success or even of happiness. But the author does treat us to moments of transcendence: Norman and Martha dancing at a wedding, and Martha again, dying, stopping her niece from leaving her side. One gets the sense, as the characters age, that this is pretty much the way it is, for all of us, wherever we are: tension, struggle, outcome. Some outcomes are good; some not so good. Moments of revelation and consequence are scattered through the novel like a hilly drive. One feels a ratcheting of tension and a concentration in focus, requiring a held breath to get us through. A headstrong young girl, determined to pain her parents, drives carelessly away from a funeral; a graduate student teaching a course invites a student to his house for dinner; a wife attends an AA meeting and brings another co-dependent home; a trip to Italy turns surreal. After, we turn our eyes and our thoughts to another character's life to catch our breath. These hills and valleys seem familiar, and when the book winds down we feel we could have been looking through the album of our lives: "Have you heard from so-and-so lately? I heard (s)he'd..."

posted by TheReadingWriter on May 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Chapter 2 error

Haven't any readers noticed a glaring error in Chapter 2?? "...combine chugged along, making straight rows in the black dirt..." The title of the chapter tells the reader that it is April, 1975. You won't see combines in the field in April, and it's not the combine ...
Haven't any readers noticed a glaring error in Chapter 2?? "...combine chugged along, making straight rows in the black dirt..." The title of the chapter tells the reader that it is April, 1975. You won't see combines in the field in April, and it's not the combine that makes the straight rows in the black dirt. Combines are used in the fall to harvest the crop. Planting occurs in the spring, and that was a plow that made those rows. The author should be a bit more aware of farming practices, or avoid describing what her charcters see as they drive down the highway! Other than that, the story did hold my interest.

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully wrought and totally recognizable...we know these things

    Ah, the Midwest. One has notions of the Midwest that the characters in this novel try to disabuse one of all the way through, but in fact, it's pretty much the way I imagined it: overgrown family farms gone to ruin; empty, neglected storefronts on main streets; young kids dying to get out. This novel follows an extended family through the 1960s to the new millenium, and isn't lavish with descriptions of beauty or of success or even of happiness. But the author does treat us to moments of transcendence: Norman and Martha dancing at a wedding, and Martha again, dying, stopping her niece from leaving her side. One gets the sense, as the characters age, that this is pretty much the way it is, for all of us, wherever we are: tension, struggle, outcome. Some outcomes are good; some not so good. Moments of revelation and consequence are scattered through the novel like a hilly drive. One feels a ratcheting of tension and a concentration in focus, requiring a held breath to get us through. A headstrong young girl, determined to pain her parents, drives carelessly away from a funeral; a graduate student teaching a course invites a student to his house for dinner; a wife attends an AA meeting and brings another co-dependent home; a trip to Italy turns surreal. After, we turn our eyes and our thoughts to another character's life to catch our breath. These hills and valleys seem familiar, and when the book winds down we feel we could have been looking through the album of our lives: "Have you heard from so-and-so lately? I heard (s)he'd..."

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Beautifully crafted story!

    Jean Thompson's "The Year We Left Home" is about a mid-western family that delivers on every level. She capture's the essence of living in middle America and touches a host of topics that everyday people can in counter during their lives: love, joy, tragedy, war, hate, etc. And all the while focusing on the importance of family and the never-ending belief that every day brings a new beginning. I highly recommend this book and look forward to reading more of this author's work.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Chapter 2 error

    Haven't any readers noticed a glaring error in Chapter 2?? "...combine chugged along, making straight rows in the black dirt..." The title of the chapter tells the reader that it is April, 1975. You won't see combines in the field in April, and it's not the combine that makes the straight rows in the black dirt. Combines are used in the fall to harvest the crop. Planting occurs in the spring, and that was a plow that made those rows. The author should be a bit more aware of farming practices, or avoid describing what her charcters see as they drive down the highway! Other than that, the story did hold my interest.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    JEAN THOMPSON'S "THE YEAR WE LEFT HOME" (REVIEW)

    JEAN THOMPSON'S "THE YEAR WE LEFT HOME" (REVIEW)

    This book was wonderful. It's usually hard to find the story of someone else's life interesting when it's fictitiously written but Jean Thompson brought this family to life so vividly you felt a part of it. Each chapter is written about the different siblings and using their point of views on matters of life, death, marriage, family, and children. I found myself drifting through this book effortlessly and easily put faces to each character so that it played out almost as if I were watching a movie. You feel the good and the bad, live their lives with them and find yourself cheering when they make the right choices and wishing you could offer them advice when they don't.

    This is definitely a book anyone would enjoy. There is so much in it that all of us can relate to and the story is one that simply draws you in. I will be on the look-out for more of her writing!

    -Kitty Bullard / Great Minds Think Aloud Book Club

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    A Character Intense Novel

    If you like novels that are richer in characters than action, you will like this novel. I can see that some people would find it boring but I found it refreshing to read a story that is utterly believable.

    This novel examines the lives of several family members in a way that helps us understand them better than they most likely understand each other. We get glimpses of their lives and insights that are familiar yet thought provoking. It reminds you that even though you know people, there is more you don't know about them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Recommended

    This reads like a collection of short stories with recurring characters, and the somewhat loose plot is tied together in the last story. That is not a criticism, however. Each of the stories is focused and compelling. I found the book quite satisfying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Are you kidding?

    Lots of times I'll purchase a book based on the reviews. I have to say, this one is totally not even worth it. Several times I wanted to quit reading, but thought I better finish. It totally was disjointed; living in the midwest for 50 years, I have to say this is NOT a'typical' midwestern family! Trust me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    A Complete Bore

    When I read the description for this book, I thought that it would be a book that would keep my interest and be a good read. Boy was I wrong. Usually most books have turning books, or events that keep you on the edge of your seat anticipating the next page...this never happened to me while reading this book. Reading this book right after reading "The Help" was the wrong thing to do, because I had high expectations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    I bought this book based on the fact that it was on the New York

    I bought this book based on the fact that it was on the New York Times Bestseller list and the it sounded interesting but I was disappointed. It certainly wasn't the book that you couldn't put down and I would not recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    A great sobering tale of the modern Midwestern family

    A very well written exploration of a Norwegian American family in a rural farming town. The children become adults and head out into the world with very different journeys. But in the end, you can't escape who you are or your family & heritage...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Boring.

    Very, very boring and extremely mundane. No idea why other reviews could have found this book interesting. I struggled to read the first half, then gave up (which I never do).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heavy on the Family History

    While this book had the ability to pull at my heartstrings at times, on the whole it was fairly mundane. I had to keep coming back to this book because many of the chapters literally put me to sleep, even though the writing was good, the subject was just a snooze at times. The progression of the family over the span of 30+ years was very well done, however it also made me feel disconnected every time the narration switched to a different family member. There were times when I had to jump back and read the previous parts of the story and spent way too much time trying to figure out what had happened since the last time they were the narrator. People that have family history like this would probably have enjoyed the story much more, at times it felt like I just didn't get it.

    Reviewed by Gabi for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    linked short stories reveal a generation's drift

    I'm not a fan of short stories, but when they're linked in this way, they are as good as a novel. Through this episodic approach, Thompson gives us a solid look at one American family's drift through three decades.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Boring Boring Boring

    Ill-defined and undeveloped characters make this plotless story tough to finish. I did it, thinking this is a published book, surely something worthwhile in this so called "Family saga" will happen. It does not. Recommendation: Read almost anything else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    Covered a lot of years for a family.

    Probably very true to the age of the particpates although it was not what my life was like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    A True to Life Novel

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel that follows a family as they move through circumstances of their lives played out over several decades. Jean Thompson has done an exceptional job bringing the reader inside the lives and souls of the family's four children in rural Iowa. Being from the midwest myself, her depiction of the farm, small town life was right on. She wrote about these characters, their experiences and the emotions behind them with such realism that when their story ended I felt like my lifelong, beloved neighbors had moved away. I look forward to her next novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Family Drama

    This is a complex story, spanning thirty years in the life of a Midwestern family. We are taken through events in their lives collectively and individually, yet each is personal.

    Events open with the Vietnam War in progress, and span through the War in the Middle East (Iraq and Afghanistan). This has effects on the characters throughout the book.

    There are many events that we can all relate to, from graduations, weddings, economic struggles, the trials of youth and independence, age and resignation. There are triumphs and tragedies, decisions and consequences. Each event impacts each character in seen and unseen ways.

    The characters are very honest in their roles. They are true to themselves and their interactions are sincere. This epic family portrait can take its rightful place next to the other classics of this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Good Read!

    The Year We Left Home follows different members of a family through the trials of their lives. Over all I really enjoyed the book. But I was confused a few times because it felt like significant parts of the character's lives are left out. The writing shows how people can be so self-centered that they don't see how they are hurting someone else. It also shows the changes in attitudes and lifestyles from the 60's to the 90's. I will recommend this book to my friends and others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Jewel57

    Good enough story,another midwest family saga,or drama, with not much drama actually,nothing to rave about.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4