Customer Reviews for

Year Zero

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Definitely Needs a Sequel!

Year Zero a sc-fi novel by Rob Reid is a hysterical Hitnchhiker's Guide-esque novel about the Earth's music industry. It seems that aliens all over the universe are totally head over tentacles about the Earth's music. This book had me laughing out loud. The character...
Year Zero a sc-fi novel by Rob Reid is a hysterical Hitnchhiker's Guide-esque novel about the Earth's music industry. It seems that aliens all over the universe are totally head over tentacles about the Earth's music. This book had me laughing out loud. The characters were very "human" and well developed. The plot was crazy but almost believable. The descriptions of alien life forms, worlds and cultures hit a bit too close to home. If you love sarcasm you will love this book. If you know the answer to life, the universe, and everything then this is the book for you. If your favorite cocktail is the trans-galactic gargle blaster then you should run right out and find a copy of this book. Year Zero needs a sequel. What kind of fate can the Earthlings inflict on the universe next?

posted by Han on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Hitchhiker's Guide to Copyright Law

Overall:
An enjoyable book that with some great one liners, and some meh moments.

The Good:
A well written book with a good plot and great comedic elements.

The Bad:
Heavy on 'in' jokes. Has foot notes at then end of each chapter, which don't translate well to...
Overall:
An enjoyable book that with some great one liners, and some meh moments.

The Good:
A well written book with a good plot and great comedic elements.

The Bad:
Heavy on 'in' jokes. Has foot notes at then end of each chapter, which don't translate well to the nook.

The Ugly:
A stretch in the middle in a Douglas Adams style you will either love or loathe.

posted by 4207351 on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely Needs a Sequel!

    Year Zero a sc-fi novel by Rob Reid is a hysterical Hitnchhiker's Guide-esque novel about the Earth's music industry. It seems that aliens all over the universe are totally head over tentacles about the Earth's music. This book had me laughing out loud. The characters were very "human" and well developed. The plot was crazy but almost believable. The descriptions of alien life forms, worlds and cultures hit a bit too close to home. If you love sarcasm you will love this book. If you know the answer to life, the universe, and everything then this is the book for you. If your favorite cocktail is the trans-galactic gargle blaster then you should run right out and find a copy of this book. Year Zero needs a sequel. What kind of fate can the Earthlings inflict on the universe next?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    I just finished this book and I honestly don't know where to beg

    I just finished this book and I honestly don't know where to begin. It
    starts out with an *excellent* premise and then just falls completely
    flat on everything else. Beyond the premise, there's nothing good about
    this book. It's terribly written, the characters are unbelievable, the
    aliens are bland, and the humor is almost non-existent. The real kick
    in the face is the last chapter where you realize you just wasted all
    this time for a 20 year old bad joke. First off, the premise is quite
    good. It's quarky in a way that reminds you of Hitchhiker's Guide to
    the Galaxy. Thirty years ago aliens discovered Earth music. These
    aliens value music above all else and Earth music was the most fantastic
    thing they've ever heard, so fantastic that every single civilized alien
    started listening to all of it. Thirty years later, this means that
    every alien for the last thirty years has pirated all Earth music and
    every alien owes all the citizens of Earth more money than anyone could
    every imagine. Excellent premise! Sadly though, the good stops
    there. First, there are the human characters. I know it's silly to
    gripe about believability in a Sci-Fi novel, but the humans in this book
    just don't act like any person ever would. When confronted with aliens
    or an alien conspiracy, a person would act a certain way, not how they
    act in this book. It's ridiculous in a really bad and distracting way.
    Next are the aliens. It's almost like the author decided to take
    Hitchhiker's and turn it up to eleven but really the worlds and the
    inhabitants just come off as bland. The author tries so hard to make
    these outrageous zany things that they actually come off as completely
    unimaginative. Oh, haha, it's an alien that looks like a vacuum and he
    doesn't like to be called a vacuum cleaner but he cleans anyways.
    Ooooo, you mean the characters can ride in an invisible taxi? Wow, you
    can take a snooze fest through the center of the planet? Ugh, every
    single alien oddity and encounter just came off as boring and I wanted
    to skip ahead to the next page every time the author started describing
    anything alien. So I guess that brings us to the writing. Robert H
    Reid is just a bad writer. His characters aren't endearing or
    interesting in any way at all. There's not one character in the book I
    felt anything for and I finished the book maybe an hour ago and I'm
    already having trouble remembering most of their names. It's like
    someone took The Expendables and then said that was too smart. Finally,
    there's the end. I won't spoil it for people but after reading the last
    chapter I seriously sat with my head in my hands for five minutes trying
    to digest what I just read, trying to understand the people that liked
    the book, and trying to understand why I wasted the time to finish the
    book. The entire book, THE ENTIRE BOOK, is one long setup for a joke
    that was barely funny 20 years ago and has been done to death since
    then. Internet cat jokes seem fresh compared to this. After my
    mini-breakdown I seriously tried to figure out how I might go about
    getting my money back for this awful book. Oh, and if all that isn't
    bad enough, the book also sets itself up for many sequels. Because, you
    know, the world is just so interesting. Ugh.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    The Hitchhiker's Guide to Copyright Law

    Overall:
    An enjoyable book that with some great one liners, and some meh moments.

    The Good:
    A well written book with a good plot and great comedic elements.

    The Bad:
    Heavy on 'in' jokes. Has foot notes at then end of each chapter, which don't translate well to the nook.

    The Ugly:
    A stretch in the middle in a Douglas Adams style you will either love or loathe.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    An enjoyable read

    No, it's not another "Hitchhikers". But it was a fun read. If you can't read for fun occasionally, then you're boring, and who gives a rats ass about your banal comments anyway?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Great geek beach read!

    Just plain techno fun! Goofy, unreal and entirely escapist while still managing to be interesting comentary on our legal system.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2015

    ¿Year Zero¿ is a funny and irreverent take on the music industry

    ‘Year Zero’ is a funny and irreverent take on the music industry and our culture as a whole.  Interlaced with pop culture undertones, this story takes the reader from NYC to planets far away on a wild ride that’s certain to entertain.  It's definitely more of a humor book than a sci-fi so be ready to laugh!  Well written I highly enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Entertaining

    Good alien story, not gonna win any awards but who cares? It was an entertaining story. I loved the main character's boss Judy. So over the top, that was the joke! I liked the way the author poked fun at government workers. Would read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Awesome read

    A wild ride that I thoroughly enjoyed, end notes and all. Rob Reid did an excellent job poking fun at the music industry and the ridiculousness of current copyright law. It was well paced. It was funny. It was a good length (so many books today are overly long). I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes SF, music and wants a good laugh. If you like The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy you'll like this.

    The eBook was formatted well with no obvious errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Io

    Yu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    We got ourselves a problem. A huge problem. Well, a worldly hu

    We got ourselves a problem.

    A huge problem.

    Well, a worldly huge problem.

    The Aliens are here.

    The Aliens love our music.

    The Aliens have been stealing our music.

    Now they need someone to help them, and it seems it's Nick Carter. No not the Backstreet Boys singer
    Nick Carter, but legal counsel Nick Carter for Music industries seems to fit for the Aliens.

    The World is doomed!!!!!

    A funny, hilarious take on the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy book and another great alien may be
    dumber than we think book!! I kind of liked it. Took a while to get into it, but I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Favorite book

    I wish he would write more this is such a witty fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Close, but not quite there

    After many favorable comparisons to Douglas Adam's Hitchhiker's Guide I bought this book. It didn't live up to such high praise.

    It's not bad, but not that good either. The main premise is great and has humor in it, but the details are glossed over and events in the book are handled a bit clumsily. Most characters handle the discovery of alien life very well with a shrug and a statement like, "Aliens? Well OK then, we'll change plans."

    Even with the humor the author works in a good deal of his personal opinions on US copyright laws, and they add little or nothing to the book. While I even agree with much of what he has to say on the subject, it just feels shoehorned into the narrative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Loved it

    Very funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Two stars for creativity - he just needs to direct it better

    I truly tried to get 'into' this novel but I just could not do it.
    I like humor, I like fantasy, and I like science fiction if it is written well.
    The characters were introduced very sporadically, the humor reminded me of attempts at a surreal type of comedy. The profanity and sexual slurs ranked it as adult reading.
    The alien universe felt earth was useless except for music they wanted to legally utilize throughout the universe. Different strange forms kept invading the lawyer they chose to work with. It brought him positive attention from the opposite sex and his firm for awhile.
    He kept 'playing along' different creatures from competing planets.
    I read several chapters but I couldn't find any real plot or meaning that would keep one's interest.
    I won this in a giveaway but I am sorry to say I cannot give a better rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Skip it.

    This book is awful. Boring and pointless. I hated every page of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Funny but just "OK"...

    I don't know what to say except I liked the plot, the writing is good and the humor is outstanding but I still finished thinking "Hmm, that book was just OK". It's entertaining but if you're looking for a "really good book"...I suggest you keep looking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Mildly entertaining

    Certainly not a bad novel but felt like he was just trying too hard for the laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Excellent

    Wonderful book, absolutely hilarious and has an incredibly in depth plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2