Customer Reviews for

A Year in Provence

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Timeless Classic...

    For those who dream of escaping the rat race and "getting away from it all", this is the quintessential experience writ large. In this classic story, author Peter Mayle captures both the uniqueness and quirkiness that is rural France and its people while spinning a tale the reader will quickly fall in love with. From the challenges presented on their arrival through their transition to acceptance, Mayle captures the warp and woof of real life on every page. For those who lovingly treasure their "joie de vivre", this unforgettable book will easily enjoy an honored place on the shelf. Enjoy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    real, funny and outstanding...to be recommended

    I come from a small village not too far from where the book takes place and that was the cheapest trip back home that I have taken in the past ten years that I have lived in the US. So real and also so simple, I read it on the subway going to work and tears would come to my eyes from the description of the market, the food, the people , their attitude and so many many other things..then two minutes after I would be laughing out loud and people around me would just stare at me. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a simple and genuine good read about Provence. It is written in a very funny, English-humor-tongue in cheek kindda way. Thank you for a great trip and good memories .I could smell and taste Provence from Brooklyn, New York.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2001

    I'm not just French, I'm from Provence.

    This book brought back so many great memories of my growing up in Provence. Mr Mayle has done a fantastic job describing the way of life, the passion we have for good food, the scenery, this book definitely makes me homesick for Provence, and also made me laugh so much because only Mr Mayle could explain hunting for truffles so well! I have the movie (4 tapes, one for each season) of a year in Provence, it's hilarious! I highly recommend them!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ENJOYED!

    Written in journal form, an interesting presentation, the charm of France is evident, and the French culture in their lifestyle is of laid-back glamour. I really enjoyed this!
    Another book I thoroughly enjoyed concerning Provence was EXPLOSION IN PARIS!! I could read that again and again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Fun

    This is to fun to read, I have just moved from Cailf to Ohio so for me this was a nice way to know I'm not alone on learning new ways of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2001

    What An Entertaining Read!

    All I can say is 'just read it'. Mayle's tongue-in-cheek insights and observations are humorous and pithy - I loved every page of this book. My husband (non-bookworm-type) kept asking what was so funny.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Highly Recommended!

    This is an excellent anecdotal book! I'm enjoying every page, wishing all the while that we could buy a home in Provence and live the life of Peter Mayle and his wife! Can't wait to read the sequel! - "Encore Provence"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Lovely story to pair with a trip to Provence

    I began reading this as I was on the airplane to Provence. Very enjoyable story highlighting the beauty and quirkiness of the area. It was great fun to run across a boulle game in progress just as I read that chapter. Delightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    N

    N

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ze French, zey are a funny race

    This is without a doubt the most joyful and wonderful book I've read in several years. I'm not quite sure how to describe it - is it a travel book, a biography, or some weird combination of the two? Or is it something else entirely? Peter Mayle and his wife, a typical middle-class British couple, decide to follow their dreams upon retiring and buy a house in the Luberon area of France - otherwise known as Provence. "A Year in Provence" relates the results of that decision, and true to the title tells of their travails and adventures over the year subsequent to the purchase of said dwelling. Mayle guides us through both their work on the house and their travels through the region. You will chuckle, and at times laugh out loud, at the descriptions of the various characters that the Mayles meet up with. With typical dry British humor they describe their first year as emigres to what for them is another planet. They must become used to the way that their new neighbors work (and play, in some cases), and learn not to explode at what they at first perceive as the ultimate in sheer laziness. Mayle has written at least one sequel, and I look forward to reading it. If it is as funny as this book it will be well worth the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "... the baking and eating of breads and pastries had been elevated to the status of a minor religion"

    Peter Mayle and his wife are shown doing a few things besides eating in Peter's 1989 book A YEAR IN PROVENCE. But of course eating is something that they and we do several times a day. And so a leisurely stroll with the Mayles down memory lane between January and December in a fairly remote rural area of ancient Provence, France does not move many paragraphs without a loving encounter with food and drink. *** Thus a lengthy meditation on searches in the forest for edible mushrooms, with a keen eye out for les serpents, is succeeded by reflections on baked goods: "Living in France had turned us into bakery addicts, and the business of choosing and buying our daily bread was a recurring pleasure." Visiting village after village in search of bread was an eye-opener. "After years of taking bread for granted, more or less as a standard commodity, it was like discovering a new food." There were "dense, chewy loaves." Some loaves "went stale in three hours" and on and on. No two bakeries produced quite the same products. Of the 17 bakeries in Cavaillon, outstanding was Chez Auzet. "At Chez Auzet, so they said, the baking and eating of breads and pastries had been elevated to the status of a minor religion" (Chapter - "October"). *** This passage is typical Mayle: calm, succinct, measured, concrete, loving. It the same voice that you hear describing local feasts, quirks of the search for truffles, blasting away with a variety of weapons in hunting season, harvesting grapes, getting building permits from and inspections done by French bureaucrats. This is a smoothly written book, as nourishing and refreshing as a fine red wine served with rabbit. -OOO-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Brought alive the culture found in Provence.

    Found a delightful book written in a witty manner that encouraged more travel.To vacation from a villa and absorb the local culture. Couldn't put the book down as it read so easily. So impressed by the style and humor that I bought three more of Mayle's books: "A Good Year", "Anything Considered", and "Chasing Cezanne". Will be able to curl up with one of them, chuckle and enjoy the very presence of the characters involved. This is a new venue that gives history a different perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "A Year in Provence" will leave you hungry for more!

    I loved this book and all of Peter Mayle's books about France. This book completely takes you to Provence with his stories of his life and the experience of food and relationships. After reeading this book, I'm hungry for more. I can't wait to go!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    Great reading!

    Entertaining! Great insight into how the French think and live, and their values!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    Loved it.

    A wonderful read! Charming and funny!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Classic Mediterranean Travel Narrative!

    Peter Mayle's breakthrough book remains the classic Mediterranean travel narrative. An elegant and extremely witty writer, Mayle set the standard for travel writers of the 1990s, and he's difficult to equal to the present day. Reading and re-reading 'A Year in Provence' is like coming home again and again to a faithful friend. The next best thing to actual travel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Sit back, relax, and enjoy

    an amusing, entertaining year in Provence. Peter Mayle delivers his wit and humor so wonderfully in his writing...it makes every book I read of his hard to put down! Get a copy of this one and you'll see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3