Customer Reviews for

A Year in the World: Journeys of a Passionate Traveller

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Makes me want to take off and see all of these places

    I bought this book on a whim, having seen the movie Under the Tuscan Sun and wanting a book to read on a recent trip to Calgary. What a pleasant surprise! Not only does the author take me to places I've never been, she makes me feel as though I've gotten an in depth feel for every single place she's been and an incentive to get there to experience them for myself. It's a beautiful, relaxing read with such vivid descriptions. Very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I read it 3 times

    The first time I read it all the way through without stopping.
    The second time through I started looking up some of the places and artworks mentioned in this author's travels on yahoo! images online so I could see for myself what she was talking about.
    The third time I again, page by page, looked up on yahoo! images each and every reference the author made to a place or a titled work of art, including museums, mountains in specific countries, and streets in certain cities. It took me a month to go from page to page, place to place, and sight to sight along with this author's travels.
    I am jealous of her freedom to see for herself places I can only visit in pictures online. I wish for my own house in the country to restore and make my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Wonderful escape!

    I love traveling and I love eating! This book covers both subjects superbly. I ended up looking up some the dishes Frances mentioned and made them here at home. I plan on traveling to Europe and this book gave me a righteous case of travel envy. But at least she shared it with us in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Amazing

    Once again a winner. I love reading Frances Mayes. She is an intellegint writer who knows her audience and subject matter equally well. She brings the world alive for those of us who have not travelled abroad. Entertaining and inciteful she can make my mouth water as she samples a new dish or tastes a new wine, can make my heart race as she enters a historic site and make my eyes roam the country side as she takes in the breath taking scenery. A true delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    One of her very best

    Thoroughly enjoyable to travel with Frances Mayes (and her husband) to so many interesting and historical places. She is an enthusiastic, observant and entertaining author. The travel tales include what she knows of the history of the place, people who have been a significant part of the landscape (so to speak). And she is one who loves good food. Her descriptions are delightful, and the recipes (of course) are most appreciated. I do hope she and Ed make other "travelogues" to future interesting locations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    Superficial Trivia Recitation

    There is nothing too trivial for Frances Mayes not to include in her recitated travel notes. The only subject well revealed is her ignorance of most cultural, geographic and historical facts beyond what can be found in tourist handouts. Maybe the discussions of her eating experiences are initially somewhat interesting but become boring after the many meals endured. The only remarkable thing was that I read 2/3rds of the book before deciding that enough was enough.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Great Book

    This is the kind of book that was difficult to put down. It is wonderful for armchair travelers. I not only enjoyed the descriptions of the various countries, but gave me a good picture of the culture and foods from each. Frankly, I wanted to spend the next month doing nothing but cooking and eating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    If You Love Frances Mayes, You Will Love This Book

    I loved what Frances Mayes has written about Tuscany. One thing I enjoy about her writing is while she is extremely well read and intelligent, she does not write in language that is only understandable to literature professors. A Year in the World: Journeys of a Passionate Traveller is a wonderful sojourn into different cultures around the world. It is great for someone who does not have a lot of time to read. You can read just one chapter, then put it down and come back to it later, without having a story line to follow. It is my wish that Ed and Frances compile separate books on food and horticulture. Like many of us who love to travel, but have neither the time nor money to do so, this is an excellent escape to places we dream to visit one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    ...but it felt like a century

    BORING! Mayes has turned herself into a product, counting on her name to captivate an audience. I put it down after the first few chapters of just following her and her husband around without them 'showing' me anything. No flavor. No heart. Very superficial. Read a Frommer's travel guide...it's more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    Average

    I guess this is a good book to take along with yourself on a trip. It is nice to read while on an airplane, cruise ship, or the beach when you do not want to have a strong plot that you need to focus on. It is kind of like a breath of air on a summer day. But again, the downfall is that there is no real plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    for couch potato tourists

    This journal is a surprise because Frances Mayes is renowned for her love of Tuscany, but confesses a weakness for wanderlust so+ she and her companion Ed went on a year long trek. As she did with UNDER THE TUSCAN SUN, Ms. Mayes divides her anecdotal stops into distinct chapters making it easy to pick up and put down so that it can be reading over several days by armchair travellers. Each of the escapades are cleverly described so that the reader feels as if they have met the same people that the Mayes encounter whether it be a guide in Fez, a Greek family baptism, the people they dine with or serve them in Madrid, or a rug dealer in Istanbul. Food and shelter are big issues as the traveling duo wants local flavor. Those two critical staples are vividly described in each chapter, but the trek belongs to the people that Ms. Mayes and Ed encounter on their journey as their peculiarities come across as warm and welcoming to readers. Couch potato tourists will want to read the well-written A YEAR IN THE WORLD: JOURNEYS OF A PASSIONATE TRAVELLER. P Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2