BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Year of Fog

Average Rating 3.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well Written but Too Long

I would actually give this a 3.5. When I began reading it, I thought I would love it, and I did admire some things. Richmond is a skilled wordsmith and an excellent developer of character. But not long into the book, I felt impatient. I actually skipped to the endin...
I would actually give this a 3.5. When I began reading it, I thought I would love it, and I did admire some things. Richmond is a skilled wordsmith and an excellent developer of character. But not long into the book, I felt impatient. I actually skipped to the ending, and then went back and just skimmed the big middle section. About a hundred pages could easily have been pared from this book to tighten it up without losing any of the substance or flavor. I would read another book of hers, though.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I totally agree it seemed like it was going to be a great read but it got boring very quick and I found it very hard to want to finish...I ended up skipping a lot of pages till I got to the end. It was like reading the same day every day over and over and then bam you g...
I totally agree it seemed like it was going to be a great read but it got boring very quick and I found it very hard to want to finish...I ended up skipping a lot of pages till I got to the end. It was like reading the same day every day over and over and then bam you get to the part about the kid and I was like that's it? Pretty disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I totally agree it seemed like it was going to be a great read but it got boring very quick and I found it very hard to want to finish...I ended up skipping a lot of pages till I got to the end. It was like reading the same day every day over and over and then bam you get to the part about the kid and I was like that's it? Pretty disappointed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    Well Written but Too Long

    I would actually give this a 3.5. When I began reading it, I thought I would love it, and I did admire some things. Richmond is a skilled wordsmith and an excellent developer of character. But not long into the book, I felt impatient. I actually skipped to the ending, and then went back and just skimmed the big middle section. About a hundred pages could easily have been pared from this book to tighten it up without losing any of the substance or flavor. I would read another book of hers, though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    beautifully written

    Abby Mason is walking on a beach in San Francisco with her fiance's six year-old daughter, Emma. She stops to take a picture and when she looks up, Emma is gone. She feels devastated and guilty. Abby and her fiance Jake spend there days separately looking for Emma, drifting apart. Jake eventually comes to believe that Emma is dead and tries to move on. Abby can not and tries everything to remember every detail about that day, looking for any clue fueled by guilt. She becomes obsessed about learning all she can about how memories are stored and retrieved.

    The one thing I know is this: there is a girl, her name is Emma, we were walking on the beach. She was there, and then she wasn't. There is no way to retrieve that moment, no way to rewrite the script; I looked away. It cannot be undone.


    my review: This novel was beautifully written, moving, and touching. Though the plot is not fast paced, it was a page turner of a book that I read over two nights. It mostly follows Abby as she moves around the city with posters of Emma, tracing and re-tracing her steps throughout the city. Richmond is such a talented writer, that despite the subject matter, the book is not maudlin. It is amazing and really seems to capture the emotions one would feel in this situation; the hopelessness, the imagining the variety of scenarios, the inability to move on as the world passes you by. This is a must read and I also recommend her third novel, No One You Know.

    my rating 5/5

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Started out great but got lost in the fog.....

    I received this book as a gift and proceeded to read it in April. It started out great but quickly ended up boring me to tears after the Nth chapter regarding memory and cameras....It was full of fluff and I almost gave up reading it but kept in there because I wanted to know what happened to Emma. I agree with quite a number of reviewers here that the story could have been told with at least 100 less pages and definitely not the repetition of all the theories concerning memory. I'd pass on reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Too many pages . . . a bit of a disappointment and a bit predictable

    The premise of the book grabbed me -- a girl, Emma, goes missing while in the company of her future stepmother, Abby, while her daddy, Jake, is off on a male-bonding weekend. Guilt is a theme throughout the book as well as persistence and giving up. Abby never gives up while Jake gives up on the future marriage and of finding the girl. Lisbeth's, the girl's bio-mom, involvement was a bit too predictable -- any one could figure out her role early on in the book. The book was far too long and could have been presented in at least half the number of pages. Who cares about the techniques of different types of cameras, the process of working in a darkroom, past relationships, weird family members... Abby's sister Annebel is a neat character as well as Nick, a customer who had her do some photo work. The book had a disappointing ending ... it just sorta of hung there with no real committment as to where Abby's life was going to end up. I read the entire book -- but it took much longer than usual; I typically read 2-3 books per week while being a fulltime working mom of young kids (my secret is to read at night when everyone is asleep) - it took almost 2 weeks to read this book. There were times I wanted to walk away from the book but I didn't.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    Good intentions, just be patient.

    The Year of Fog starts off with a great story line that could hook anyone in, a soon-to-be-stepmother loses her future step daughter on a foggy beach. When people pick up this book, they think ¿how can this happen? What can this woman do? Losing your future husbands child is probably the worst thing you could do.¿ And peole are curious to find out how this woman, Abby, copes with everything and they want to know the rest of the story. And I think that with that kind of attracting story line this book would be great for young adults or even women who are worried about becoming stepmothers and their relationship with their stepchildren. While I was very interested at some points in the book, other times I felt that this book was longer than it needed to be. It starts off as a semi-nice day on the foggy San Fransisco Beach, when Abby turns around to find her future stepdaughter, Emma, no where in sight. This book takes the reader through all of the fears and stress that a mother figure has when they lose a loved one. And even after Emma¿s father, police, and everyone else have lost hope, this book proves that a mother¿s love and instinct is STRONG and its REAL. However, no matter how intriguing the story line is, there were times in my reading when the book The Year of Fog seemed to be very repetive and at some points, I really felt like it was going to take me a year to finish reading it and find out the turnout of everything. With that said though, there were a few chapters that did catch my attention, and made me want to keep reading. For instance, the eplanation on why we take photographs and how important photographs can be, really made me think about personal life, and how we can become so busy as people and forget to take time to admire the things around us. Overall, I would recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    Not so good

    This story could have been told in 1/2 the number of pages used - it was alot of repetition and I found myself skipping pages to get to the end. Like watching a soap opera only on Fridays and Mondays - the other 3 days of the week are a waste of time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    Not enough for a novel

    This would have been better as a short story instead of a 400 page novel. There wasn't enough story to make it interesting for that long. I found it to be very redundant and dragged out. What sounded like an intriguing premise turned out to be a disappointment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    drags a little, but a good story

    I started really enjoying the book, but then it began to drag. It did keep me interested enough to find out what happened to the little girl. I found the chapters on photography and memory (and there's a lot of them) pretty boring. I started just skipping the chapter if it wasn't about the main story. The way the main story ended was good, but the way the book ended didn't flow with the rest of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    a book lover and avid reader

    This book wasn't what I expected. There was hardly any dialogue between characters but at the same time it also allowed you to understand the love between a child and step-parent. I thoroughly enjoyed the way Michelle Richmond explained why we take photographs on page 393, very moving moment in the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Sounded Great but very disappointing

    I thought this book was very long and disappointing.I finally got feed up with all the details about the minds process and the Bay area, and skipped to find out what happened to the little girl...then poof it was over! What started out as a great idea quickly got boring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Very good until the end

    The story in this book really brings you in. I enjoyed reading until the end. I felt like the writer just gave up and made the ending very easy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    Very long winded

    What started out as an exciting read went downhill very quickly. I couldn't decide if I was learning more about the cities/areas/interests of the Bay Area, or if I was in a classroom learning the psychological aspects of the mind and photography. The disapperance of Emma resorted to a sub-plot within this novel so-so novel. I debated about just flipping through pages of ramblings to the ending, which sadly was as disappointing as it was unbelievable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Good until the end.....

    This was a good story being told. You really get into the story. It had a good story line until the end. But, it was a little too long and somewhat wordy. The end seems too easy. You just don t find someone sitting there and waiting for you to come along. That is just too easy. It could use a better ending. There was no effort made to the end of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A compelling subject but ..................

    The kidnapping of a child is something we all think about and so I started this book with high expectations. I sympathized with the main characters, but did not like them much. The book was overly redundant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    Tedious, boring and drawn out are just a few descriptors for this book. If you are an insomniac and need a non-drug sleeping aid, buy this book. If not, save your money and buy something else. This is a never ending story of depression and self-analysis with trips into a past childhood that has no bearing on the story. Very predictable. You know the bad guy from the beginning. I skipped chapters just to get beyond all the verbage. Even the happy ending is covered with depression.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Don't Bother

    A long drawn out boring book. I found myself skimming entire chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    It was alright

    Michelle richmond really is a brilliant author and this book was good but it seemed to drag on forever. It kept repeating itself over and over and the ending was really odd and dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Thumbs down

    This book was chosen by my book club. Intriguing idea. Boring read. Like the other revieiwers I read a little over the first 100 pages then skipped to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Disappointing

    Started off as a great read, but quickly became repetitive and a tad boring. Ended up skipping ahead to the end and was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7