BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Year of Impossible Goodbyes

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best Book Ever!!!!

This was such a good book. The first time I read it was in 7th grade when my teacher put out a couple of choices to choose from, no one chose 'Year of Impossible Goodbyes' so I chose to read it. I had to do a book report on that, I got a 100%!!! I read it 2 more times a...
This was such a good book. The first time I read it was in 7th grade when my teacher put out a couple of choices to choose from, no one chose 'Year of Impossible Goodbyes' so I chose to read it. I had to do a book report on that, I got a 100%!!! I read it 2 more times after that. Once, in 8th grade and again in 9th grade. In my opinion, I think everyone should read this book!!! And don't forget there is a part 2.

posted by Anonymous on August 23, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the years worst

It was so boring that i couldn't pay attention. I read the back and was interested...but it sounds like this child sounds sorry for something..but isn't gonna do anything!

posted by Anonymous on March 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    Best Book Ever!!!!

    This was such a good book. The first time I read it was in 7th grade when my teacher put out a couple of choices to choose from, no one chose 'Year of Impossible Goodbyes' so I chose to read it. I had to do a book report on that, I got a 100%!!! I read it 2 more times after that. Once, in 8th grade and again in 9th grade. In my opinion, I think everyone should read this book!!! And don't forget there is a part 2.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Inkadoo

    I think that this was a great book. I read this book when i was in 6th grade when we had different books to choose from. I thought that this was a good book because it's exciting,sad, and based on reality. I definetly recomend this book. Also some people can relate to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Great Book!

    Year Of Impossible Goodbyes is the best book I've read this year. We're reading it in class, and it is very interesting. It doesn't just talk about the battles in the war, instead, it shows what the regular people had to go through. I definitely reccomend this book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Inspiring

    I LOVED this book! The characters are interesting and I love how the author really shows each characters personality and role in the story. Really sad, yet happy. Just loved it. Wish they had it available in Hangul.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    Best of all time

    This book is about a 10 year old girl who suffers from the japannese. This book is a enspiring book because it teaches you a lot.I reccomend people of all ages to read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Better than a movie

    This book ranks up there with books such as The Diary of Anne Frank. This one is written simply enough that a child can read it; yet it is packed full of historical, cultural and visual details which make it also informative and compelling for a reader of any age. Non-Korean readers get a window into the recent past of this great and gentle nation through the eyes of an innocent young girl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS

    this book is awsome. at the end i cried because its beautiful book. some parts are really sad though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2003

    Use it in a classroom

    As a teacher I would strongly recommend this book. It deals with many issues very delicately and with tact. It's very powerful and a moving story about a young Korean girl who lives during a time of great turmoil. The author combines aspects of human life and history to create a phenmonal book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2002

    7th Grader in Burgettstown, PA

    This is undoubtedly one of the greatest books I've ever read. It uncovers a more-or-less untold facet of WWII. We often focus on the Holocaust, which, don't get me wrong, was horrible, but this shows a point of view from victims in other parts of the world. What this book ultimately proves is that no matter how you look at it, war wreaks havoc on everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    high sch junior

    great novel i ever read. actually i wanna give 4.5 *...well,count as 5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1