Customer Reviews for

The Year of Secret Assignments

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Year of the Secret Assignments

At first glance I was easily drawn to this novel. With an unique story plot unlike most books, it caught my attention and created curiosity. With few naration paragraphs, letters from three girls to three boys dominated this novel. As a class assignment issued from the ...
At first glance I was easily drawn to this novel. With an unique story plot unlike most books, it caught my attention and created curiosity. With few naration paragraphs, letters from three girls to three boys dominated this novel. As a class assignment issued from the teachers, Cassie, Lydia, and Emily exchange letters to Matthew, Sebastian, and Charlie during the pen pal program. Since the girls and boys are from rival schools, the six immediately send hate words to one another creating a messy distruction. Though this story seemed very interesting and the format of it was captivating at first, by the middle of the book, it grew tiresome. Just for one event to take place took multiple pages of the book and I felt the narration should have taken at least half the numbers of them. Besides my opinion on the format of The Year of the Secret Assignments, I believe Jaclyn Moriarty was brilliant pairing each girl with a boy. The numerous unexpected events truly brought out excitement in this novel making it a great piece of literature. The little bits of humor throughout the book made me laugh and Moriarty did an excellent job bringing out the images of six high school students. This is great when you have free time on your hands and wish to stress free.

posted by bananna2012 on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay.

This book is okay. It is a good book to just read for fun. There is no lessons or anything to gain from it. It was a fun read because it contains letters and email and other cool things besides the actually writing. It was a clever story line, but not one of my favorite...
This book is okay. It is a good book to just read for fun. There is no lessons or anything to gain from it. It was a fun read because it contains letters and email and other cool things besides the actually writing. It was a clever story line, but not one of my favorite books. If you like this book, read The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie. They are tied together to make it even more interesting.

posted by lauraelizabeth on April 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    The Year of the Secret Assignments

    At first glance I was easily drawn to this novel. With an unique story plot unlike most books, it caught my attention and created curiosity. With few naration paragraphs, letters from three girls to three boys dominated this novel. As a class assignment issued from the teachers, Cassie, Lydia, and Emily exchange letters to Matthew, Sebastian, and Charlie during the pen pal program. Since the girls and boys are from rival schools, the six immediately send hate words to one another creating a messy distruction. Though this story seemed very interesting and the format of it was captivating at first, by the middle of the book, it grew tiresome. Just for one event to take place took multiple pages of the book and I felt the narration should have taken at least half the numbers of them. Besides my opinion on the format of The Year of the Secret Assignments, I believe Jaclyn Moriarty was brilliant pairing each girl with a boy. The numerous unexpected events truly brought out excitement in this novel making it a great piece of literature. The little bits of humor throughout the book made me laugh and Moriarty did an excellent job bringing out the images of six high school students. This is great when you have free time on your hands and wish to stress free.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay.

    This book is okay. It is a good book to just read for fun. There is no lessons or anything to gain from it. It was a fun read because it contains letters and email and other cool things besides the actually writing. It was a clever story line, but not one of my favorite books. If you like this book, read The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie. They are tied together to make it even more interesting.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    LOVE IT

    If i could give this book more stars i would. it was so funny it made me laugh out loud and at some points made me want to cry and the way it was written made me feel like i was realy in the caractors' heads. I recomend this book to ANY ONE

    P.s READ IT BECAUSE ITS AMAZING!! YOU WILL LOVE IT :

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    This is an amazing book

    This book is one of the best I ever read because it is so funny and full of life!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Funny, Fast read.

    I checked this book out from my library due to a recommendation from a friend. The cover design really caught my attention. But the style that is was written in-letters, email, bulletins-is what made it a super fast read.This book was incredibly funny as well, enough to make me laugh out loud. There was enough suspense to hold my attention and keep me flipping the pages.There were a lot of negative themes though, such as shoplifting, pranking, cheating, ect. But with out it, it wouldn't have allowed the characters to be the unique, trouble some people they are.Overall this book was a easy, funny, enjoyable, fast-read. And I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Recommended

    Cute, quick read I really enjoyed it. I liked the format of letters and emails-the notice boards and meeting notes were especially fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is funny and very witty yet there are intense parts. Definetly worth the buy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Amazingtastic

    This book was soooo good that i reread right after i finished it for the first time. Jaclyn moriarty is SUCH a good writer! <3'ed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Coolio

    This is such a good book. It gets a little confusing sometimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loved it

    I love this book. I read it in the library and had to buy my own copy. I love the characters and the way it's written in letters, etc. I would definitely recommend this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Excellent! Really Funny!

    I found The Year of Secret Assignments to be captivating from the start. It combines sarcastic humor with mystery, and a pinch of romance. There are parts in the story where I find myself laughing out loud. The first time I read it I could not put it down until I finished it. I was hooked after the first ten pages. The plot is about three high school girls named Cassie, Emily, and Lydia. They attend Ashbury High School in Sydney Australia. They have an annual pen pal program with their rival school Brookfield High. Incidentally the girls end up writing to three boys named Matthew, Charlie, and Sebastian. They meet up and it leads to conflicts between the schools. The book is written in a series of diary entries, transcripts, e-mails, and letters between schools. There is no actual dialogue. I thought that without dialogue the story was explained better. People can read it with a different point of view. Having no dialogue made it all the more interesting. Though sometimes I got confused and had to reread and clarify. The language in this book wasn't always appropriate. (I couldn't tell what some of the words were because the libraries copy was vandalized.) I would recommend this book for people thirteen and up who are interested in a humorous book. This is definitely a page turner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Fun-filled read

    Such an awesome book! I was laughing more than half of the time. Great characters and plot. I love how it's all letters and such instead of the regular set-up. Although I wish she would have gone more into detail about their dates. I wish there was a sequel! Or at least a better ending, although I'm the kind of person who hates when the authors leaves you hanging, so don't think that the book is bad. Actually, it's really, really good. ^^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK!

    i found this book when i was a sophomore in high school, ate through it in around 2 days. loaned it to a friend. and then never got it back and have since lost touch with the friend. i read a book similar to this called dash and lilys book of dares (same authors who wrote nick and norah's infinite playlist) and it reminded me of this book but i had forgotten the title until today. so glad i found it again :D highly recommended!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    amazing

    this was a really great book. i finished it really fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE this book!!!

    This book is so so so good. I love the characters (well, most of them) and the story is really different from things that I normally read. This author is great. But I suggest reading "Feeling Sorry for Celia" first. That one is great too. Everyone should read this book. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    This book is soo good i loved it. it was cute and sad and diffrent liked it alot love the end C:

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    THE YEAR OF SECRET ASSIGNMENTS by Jaclyn Moriarty has an interesting format. It is written entirely without dialogue. "What?" you say. It's true. The entire novel uses letters, diaries, journals, emails, and transcripts to tell the story. It's quite intriguing. <BR/><BR/>Three best friends, Cass, Emily, and Lydia, embark on an adventure that begins as a pen pal assignment in their English class. They each end up with male pen pals from their rival, Brookfield High. It quickly becomes evident which of the girls is writing, as the voices of the girls are quite distinct. I had a little more difficulty identifying two of the boys and remembering which girl they were writing to. The third boy's voice was quite distinctive. <BR/><BR/>Through a series of secret assignments the year 10 pen pals get to know one another, challenging each other to attempt various tasks. Just as they become comfortable with one another, feelings get hurt and the letters come to a halt. One pair of letters becomes downright frightening. When a true identity is uncovered, letters resume with a flurry of intensity, until vandalism begins at both schools and all students are ordered to stop writing. When the three girls are summoned to the office, they must rely on their pen pals to uncover the truth. <BR/><BR/>I would recommend this book to my students. The voices are fun and authentic. Although the pacing of the book is somewhat slow at the beginning, probably due to trying to keep the characters straight, it picks up significantly as they forge relationships with their pen pals. The ending is both surprising and satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    wow.

    i was amazed by this book. i now absouloustley love this author. THIS IS A MUUUUUUST READ! i couldn't stop reading. its funny, its sad. everything (: READ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Loved it!

    I am a 12 yr old from Rhode Island. I love this Book so much! I took it out of the library, and couldn't put it down! Girls of my age and older should definatly read this, but not younger, cuz of some language. Good Book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    love it!

    this book .was great. at first i took it out because i couldn't find anything better but then after 10 pages i hooked into it. it was funny and was such a good book! i recomend it and give it 5 stars :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9