BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Year of Secret Assignments

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(128)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Year of the Secret Assignments

At first glance I was easily drawn to this novel. With an unique story plot unlike most books, it caught my attention and created curiosity. With few naration paragraphs, letters from three girls to three boys dominated this novel. As a class assignment issued from the ...
At first glance I was easily drawn to this novel. With an unique story plot unlike most books, it caught my attention and created curiosity. With few naration paragraphs, letters from three girls to three boys dominated this novel. As a class assignment issued from the teachers, Cassie, Lydia, and Emily exchange letters to Matthew, Sebastian, and Charlie during the pen pal program. Since the girls and boys are from rival schools, the six immediately send hate words to one another creating a messy distruction. Though this story seemed very interesting and the format of it was captivating at first, by the middle of the book, it grew tiresome. Just for one event to take place took multiple pages of the book and I felt the narration should have taken at least half the numbers of them. Besides my opinion on the format of The Year of the Secret Assignments, I believe Jaclyn Moriarty was brilliant pairing each girl with a boy. The numerous unexpected events truly brought out excitement in this novel making it a great piece of literature. The little bits of humor throughout the book made me laugh and Moriarty did an excellent job bringing out the images of six high school students. This is great when you have free time on your hands and wish to stress free.

posted by bananna2012 on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay.

This book is okay. It is a good book to just read for fun. There is no lessons or anything to gain from it. It was a fun read because it contains letters and email and other cool things besides the actually writing. It was a clever story line, but not one of my favorite...
This book is okay. It is a good book to just read for fun. There is no lessons or anything to gain from it. It was a fun read because it contains letters and email and other cool things besides the actually writing. It was a clever story line, but not one of my favorite books. If you like this book, read The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie. They are tied together to make it even more interesting.

posted by lauraelizabeth on April 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    The Year of the Secret Assignments

    At first glance I was easily drawn to this novel. With an unique story plot unlike most books, it caught my attention and created curiosity. With few naration paragraphs, letters from three girls to three boys dominated this novel. As a class assignment issued from the teachers, Cassie, Lydia, and Emily exchange letters to Matthew, Sebastian, and Charlie during the pen pal program. Since the girls and boys are from rival schools, the six immediately send hate words to one another creating a messy distruction. Though this story seemed very interesting and the format of it was captivating at first, by the middle of the book, it grew tiresome. Just for one event to take place took multiple pages of the book and I felt the narration should have taken at least half the numbers of them. Besides my opinion on the format of The Year of the Secret Assignments, I believe Jaclyn Moriarty was brilliant pairing each girl with a boy. The numerous unexpected events truly brought out excitement in this novel making it a great piece of literature. The little bits of humor throughout the book made me laugh and Moriarty did an excellent job bringing out the images of six high school students. This is great when you have free time on your hands and wish to stress free.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Funny, Fast read.

    I checked this book out from my library due to a recommendation from a friend. The cover design really caught my attention. But the style that is was written in-letters, email, bulletins-is what made it a super fast read.This book was incredibly funny as well, enough to make me laugh out loud. There was enough suspense to hold my attention and keep me flipping the pages.There were a lot of negative themes though, such as shoplifting, pranking, cheating, ect. But with out it, it wouldn't have allowed the characters to be the unique, trouble some people they are.Overall this book was a easy, funny, enjoyable, fast-read. And I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Coolio

    This is such a good book. It gets a little confusing sometimes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    amazing

    this was a really great book. i finished it really fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cana Rensberger for TeensReadToo.com

    THE YEAR OF SECRET ASSIGNMENTS by Jaclyn Moriarty has an interesting format. It is written entirely without dialogue. "What?" you say. It's true. The entire novel uses letters, diaries, journals, emails, and transcripts to tell the story. It's quite intriguing. <BR/><BR/>Three best friends, Cass, Emily, and Lydia, embark on an adventure that begins as a pen pal assignment in their English class. They each end up with male pen pals from their rival, Brookfield High. It quickly becomes evident which of the girls is writing, as the voices of the girls are quite distinct. I had a little more difficulty identifying two of the boys and remembering which girl they were writing to. The third boy's voice was quite distinctive. <BR/><BR/>Through a series of secret assignments the year 10 pen pals get to know one another, challenging each other to attempt various tasks. Just as they become comfortable with one another, feelings get hurt and the letters come to a halt. One pair of letters becomes downright frightening. When a true identity is uncovered, letters resume with a flurry of intensity, until vandalism begins at both schools and all students are ordered to stop writing. When the three girls are summoned to the office, they must rely on their pen pals to uncover the truth. <BR/><BR/>I would recommend this book to my students. The voices are fun and authentic. Although the pacing of the book is somewhat slow at the beginning, probably due to trying to keep the characters straight, it picks up significantly as they forge relationships with their pen pals. The ending is both surprising and satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Loved it!

    I am a 12 yr old from Rhode Island. I love this Book so much! I took it out of the library, and couldn't put it down! Girls of my age and older should definatly read this, but not younger, cuz of some language. Good Book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2008

    Awesome Book

    The Year of Secret Assignments is an excellent read. It is very entertaining and it takes turns the reader wouldn¿t expect. This book is about three girls at an all girls school who have to write to guy pen-pals at an all guys rival school. Though at first none of the six warm up to the idea of pen pals, soon the guys need help. The girls perform ¿secret assignments¿, secretly playing pranks to get the guys out of tests, class and all sorts of things. But when things turn out to be not what they seem, the guys get the chance to return the favor, and the six go on their wildest adventure yet. Full of laughs, and some mild romance, this is a book for a rainy afternoon. The characters are very well established, and the reader feels like he/she really gets inside the characters¿ head. I would recommend this to people who like a little bit of adventure, romance, and mostly realistic fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    the year of secret assingments, by Jaclyn Moriarty

    The Year of Secret Assingments the title speaks for its self really. Cassie, Lydia, and Emily all have thier differences but are best friends. But when the ashbury-brookfield pen pal program begins agianst there enemy school they all have the same thoughts. Situations for all girls are diverse but some how are connected. This book at first is confussing but is incredibly good. It will truly put you in the mind set of a teenage girl.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    A VERY WELL THOUGHT OUT BOOK

    It completely adored this book. I think that is completely captures the ways of teens. And of course I would know, being that I am one! This book really shows the true meaning of getting to know someone. You don't have to know what someone looks like to be completely in love with them. I also think that this can be an emotional book, though it appears that those sad emotions can be overcome. Though, overall, I completely enjoyed this book and would reccomend tthis book to anyne, young or old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Really good girly read

    I loved this book, it was soooo great, a friend reccommend this book to any teenage girl who wants to laugh, it was so witty and great i fell in love w/ charlie, this book was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    Awesome

    Definately a book I would recommend. It always kept you guessing, and I didn't want it to end. This was a book I couldn't put down. If you want a book that keeps you turning corners, this is a must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    Awesome!!!!!!!!! :)

    I loved this book! I'm glad Paul Wilson AKA Matthew Dunlop got his revenge from Emily, Lydia, Seb, and Charlie!! This book was so GOOD, and I very highly recommend it!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2