Customer Reviews for

The Year of Yes

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    It's funny, people & It's 'funny people'

    Life is what you make of it. I'm surprised by these negative reviews from people. I found myself laughing out loud to this book. This is one funny woman that I want to be friends with. If you can't handle a ballsy sometimes crass woman living life to the fullest, than maybe this isn't your book. Maybe it helps to be living in New York and living a life more like this than we'd always care to admit....but learning to laugh at ourselves and the our never-ending list of crazy new experiences. Bravo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    A Better Kind of Love

    Before you pick up this book, you need to understand something. This book is not a silly bit of fluff that you're going to read and forget about. You will not confuse it with so many other books you've no doubt read about love where the simple but unrealistically gorgeous heroine meets her match just when she's given up on the opposite sex. It will not end with her throwing herself into his arms, sighing, 'Yes! Take me, I am nothing without you!' Though this book IS about saying yes to love, it is about saying yes first and foremost to yourself--to looking at yourself and the world through a new lense, uncorrupted by what you think love should be and instead embracing it for what it is. And what is love? It is this book-- something that will make you fall out of your seat in hysterics, will often surprise you, and sometimes make you cry-- but above all something that will fill you with the desire to go out and conquor all of your personal no's. It is a nudge on your back, pushing you forward into your own 'Year of Yes'--into a life of yes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    YES, YES, AND MORE YES!

    Since I don't see a synopsis here, I'm posting this one along with my review. The Year of Yes is the story of how one woman went in search of a new kind of love...and found a new kind of life. Frustrated with the kinds of guys she was dating, NYC writer Maria Dahvana Headley decided that the problem was her own too-critical nature. She vowed to go out with everyone who asked her for an entire year, regardless of circumstances. The book details dates such as a homeless guy who thought he was a rockstar, a crazy French millionaire, a couple of women, a 70-year-old salsa dancer named Senor Chupa, a 30-year-old virgin,a Colombian Cowboy/Handyman, a hot neighbor Player King, a couple of spoiled college boys, a reincarnated dachshund, and more. Ultimately, Maria found true love where she least expected it. If you're looking for something to get you through Valentine's Day, this book is for you. If you're looking to laugh until you cry, also for you. It's sexy, witty, and drop-dead funny, and by the end, I'm gonna admit, I was in tears. This book is the one you're going to be giving to all your girlfriends in the coming year, and probably to all your guy friends as well. Personally? I gave the galley I stole from my publishing friend, to my mom, (50-something) who's reentering the dating scene after years of singledom. She loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Yes. Yes! YES!

    I have to admit that when I first started reading THE YEAR OF YES, I was quite disappointed and annoyed by the author's pretentiousness. In the first chapter alone, Headley "discussed Kierkegaard," "felt disturbingly Steinbeckian," and described her cat's past as "Dickensian." I felt like I should be wearing a beret and clicking my fingers to performance art in a dark, smoke-filled room. Thankfully, I stuck with the memoir and the Maria who lived in a hut with her faults finally shone through. <BR/><BR/>Now, when I say "memoir," I mean it's actually a memoir. It's not something made up like A Million Little Pieces by James Frey or crude laugh-out-loud-funny-but-seemingly-exaggerated like I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell by Tucker Max. Maria's stories and words feel real, despite their outrageous nature at times. And while she's bitter occasionally, she doesn't use this as an overall theme as Anita Liberty does in her comical How to Heal the Hurt by Hating. We follow Headley's ups and downs throughout her year of yes, her loves and heartaches, the bizarre predicaments she finds herself in, and occasionally she throws in a moment of genuine laughter.<BR/><BR/>Being a fan of Seinfeld, I appreciate that Headley didn't give names to all of her dates so much as she gave them nicknames like Wonderwoman, the Actor, the Mime, the Conductor, the Boxer, and the Designer. It was much easier to identify them, remember them, and chuckle a little bit at them. <BR/><BR/>I gave this book four stars as it was very entertaining once I got into it, but not one of the best books I've ever read. However, that doesn't mean I don't recommend it. Quite the opposite. In fact, maybe Headley's YEAR OF YES is something we can all learn from. Not just in dating, but everyday life. Don't be afraid to try new things. You might just actually like them and learn something in the process...about the "thing" you've tried or about yourself! Kudos, Maria!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is laugh-out-loud funny. I enjoyed the authors journey and her stories. The book isn't for those who are easily put off by tales of sexual exploits- but otherwise I recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Pretty good...

    I really like this book. I could relate to the writers fustration that she deals with. I found myself getting kind of anngry because of the men that she came in contact with, they were so disrespectful! But what a wonderful ending...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    a rationalization for bad behavior?

    If you want to spend your time reading about the authors meaningless, risky, sometimes degrading sexual behavior buy this book. Does she think that putting an occasional humorous or insightful spin on her experiences will give value to writing about her 'year of yes'? If the memoir is true, as she claims, Maria Dahvana Headley has made a shallow, pitiful attempt to explain behavior that was very unkind to the people in her life and reflects very poorly on her maturity and character. I forced myself to finish the book, hoping for some redeeming quality, there was none. I wasted my time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Year of Yes

    I am so sick of junk literature! Don't know who the other reviewers are here, perhaps the writer's mother and agent, but I fail to see how any thinking person could actually like such a shallow rant. This book is one of those self-aggrandizing and utterly hollow 'mainstream titles' where the subtext behind every anecdote screams 'will this story make me famous and will I be able to sell the idea as an outrageous cable series ala Sex in the City?' Many of the portraits -- which we are encouraged to believe are real people, but I hope not -- have a cruel and narcissistic edge to them. One is left with such a nasty taste in one's mouth ... especially when one reads about her 'true love' ... was she really looking for a dirty Daddy figure all this time? THAT was the point? Anti-climactic and anti-romantic. Ick. I pity the real life kids who, apparently, have to deal with this self-absorbed and immature stepmother. Don't waste your money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Year of Yes

    Unlike the delightful David Sedaris this novice writer is apparently trying to emulate, this book is shallow, unoriginal and ultimately leaves you with a hollow feeling ... is this what passes for literature these days? The gossipy, self-focused tone is off-putting, and the judgemental depictions of people she encounters border on cruelty. There is no wisdom, sincere self-examination or, ultimately, revelation here (and little humor, unless you consider rather mean-spirited gossip funny). Only the sad story of an immature and narcissistic young woman kissing her own image in a mirror.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Yes? Not.

    I picked this book up because of the interesting title, and unfortunately that's about the best thing about the book. I agree with the Library Journal, what is the point of this entire quest? It's all kind of dumb and depressing. I'm glad I read this (well, a lot of it anyway) in the Starbucks at Barnes & Noble, and didn't actually have to pay a fortune for it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1