Customer Reviews for

Year of the Chick

Average Rating 3.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Funny

Loved it! I couldn't put it down. Romi was so relatable! I caught myself reading excerpts to my hubby after he caught me laughing outloud. The voice of the book was so fun too! Overall an easy, fun, and light read.

posted by 10305465 on July 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Anon

So bad could not finish reading.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Fun and Funny

    Loved it! I couldn't put it down. Romi was so relatable! I caught myself reading excerpts to my hubby after he caught me laughing outloud. The voice of the book was so fun too! Overall an easy, fun, and light read.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Great "everyday" life story.

    This book is relatable. The struggle of trying to find true love. And even at 50, I can so relate to the struggles of NOT being treated like an adult by my mother.
    This book reminds me of the writing style of Jill Mansell.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Modern day Indian Culture

    Cute read that was easy to relate to. The main character has very traditional Indian parents that anyone with overbearing parents even in adulthood could relate to. Fun read!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Fast and funny read

    I loved the book....very cute and funny. Can not wait for books 2 and 3

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Perfection

    The perfect mix of humor, romance, and plot. Can't wait for the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    FUNNY!

    Cannot wait to see what Romi get into next.....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Loved it!

    Funny and very well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Year of the chick

    Not a book that i would have normally picked but it was free when i looked at the "FREE" books. So i read it and have since bought the prequille and the book that fallows . Laura kinda reminded me of you in SOME ways!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    Funny look into single life of Indian woman

    This is a hilarious story of a first generation woman in the Indian culture of Canada. Our little hero will make you laugh at her attempt to find life and love on her own terms before her parents arrange a marriage for her to an unknown "acceptable" man. I have read the entire series so far and hope there will be at least one more book that is a very fascinating and also frustrating look at her adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    A little slow in the beginning but good read

    I enjoyed it once I got into it. Setup book 2 nicely and i orchard that one right away. Book 2 and 3 are even better, wish there was another. The author does not take herself too seriously and I had many laugh out loud moments in all three books. Be prepared to buy the other two after you start this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Loved it!

    Now my neighbors have more reason to think I'm nuts since I screeched 'what?!?!'...when I got to the last page...argh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    ONE OF MY FAVORITE AUTHORS

    OMG THIS BOOK IS SO REAL AND TOLD WITH SO MUCH SOUL! I CAN RELATE AND THIS BOOK IS SO GREAT I COULDNT EVEN PUT IT DOWN AT ALL. I WAS SO EXCITED TO READ THE STORY AND IT REALLY TOOK ME THROUGH SUCH AN ADVENTURE. GREAT! AMAZING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Really funny

    Well done. Didn't like the swear words tho. However, it was a really funny and fun look at life, culture and love.

    Well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Waa L Good read

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great

    This book is so funny and every woman can relate to it somehow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    This was a funny, well-written story! I love the main character

    This was a funny, well-written story! I love the main character with all her flaws, and I enjoyed the bits about Indian culture. Set in Canada with a peek at Spain and a trip to New York, all places I've yet to visit but enjoyed reading about. Love, Love, Love this writer and this story. I bought part two right after I finished this one, and I'm already on the 3rd chapter, loving it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Nice reading

    5stars! Well written, good flow, made me smile alot. Am recommending here and on other social sites.
    I liked it well enough to buy her companion book as well. I am a Romi fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    I absolutely loved this book! It kept my attention and was a light, fun read. The author wrote with humor and wit which made this book hard to put down. I highly recommend it and i am going to purchase the sequel as soon as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great Read!!!

    Really enjoyed this book looking forward to reading the second one. Very cute and funny!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Good read

    This book was funny just enough romance and just enough humor. Couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2