Customer Reviews for

The Year of the Flood

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Here comes the (waterless) flood!

Margaret Atwood's latest book The Year of the Flood is another of her dystopian offerings. It's many years in the future (Atwood never gives an exact date), and humans have finally managed to destroy much in the natural world. Many animal species are extinct, pollution ...
Margaret Atwood's latest book The Year of the Flood is another of her dystopian offerings. It's many years in the future (Atwood never gives an exact date), and humans have finally managed to destroy much in the natural world. Many animal species are extinct, pollution is rampant, weather is out of control, and society is buckling down to live out the days the best they can. Into all this comes the "waterless flood", a disaster that has wiped out nearly all the humans in the world. At least two have survived: Toby, the manager of a high-end spa who has barricaded herself inside; and Ren, a dancer/prostitute who was in the "sticky zone" (a type of sick bay) when the disaster hit. Now, separately, the two have to try to survive in this strange new unpeopled world. Will they ever find each other? And, the bigger question: did anyone else survive?

I really liked this book; it's not only a great read but very thought-provoking as well. The story is told with flashbacks to Ren and Toby's former lives, which added a lot to the book; it made an interesting contrast to see what things were like before the waterless flood. Toby is tough, smart, and resourceful; and it's always wonderful to see a strong female protaganist (one reason I love Atwood's books). I also thought Atwood did an excellent job of showing how bad things could possibly get on earth in the years to come, without being preachy about it.

I did have two minor quibbles about the book, which is why I gave it four stars instead of five. The first was the annoyingly cute futuristic names many of the things are given: "Anooyoo", "violet biolet", "SekSmart", "Mo'hairs", "Sea/H/Ear candy", "liobams" (if names will really be this cheesy in the future than the world is indeed in trouble;-)!. Yes, it's a very minor thing, but for some reason it grated on my nerves a bit. The other quibble I can't say without giving away spoilers, but it has to do with some coincidences that happen towards the end of the book. I didn't find these coincidences to be very plausible.

Minor quibbles non-withstanding, I could barely tear myself away from the pages of this book. I highly recommend it, especially if you like your sci-fi with a mix of great literature.

posted by kren250 on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Dissappointed

I've got to say first, I'm a fan. A huge one. And Oryx and Crake was just awesome... but this, well, it just didn't cut it for me. Maybe it's me. Maybe it's timing. But it felt like a meander down another author's attempt at her writing. It just didn't hold together or ...
I've got to say first, I'm a fan. A huge one. And Oryx and Crake was just awesome... but this, well, it just didn't cut it for me. Maybe it's me. Maybe it's timing. But it felt like a meander down another author's attempt at her writing. It just didn't hold together or share the sense of solid storytelling I've come to expect from this author. Skip it. Get all the others instead. Buy them twice, they are worth it. Not a loser in the bunch. She's allowed this one I guess.

posted by copysquirl on December 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Here comes the (waterless) flood!

    Margaret Atwood's latest book The Year of the Flood is another of her dystopian offerings. It's many years in the future (Atwood never gives an exact date), and humans have finally managed to destroy much in the natural world. Many animal species are extinct, pollution is rampant, weather is out of control, and society is buckling down to live out the days the best they can. Into all this comes the "waterless flood", a disaster that has wiped out nearly all the humans in the world. At least two have survived: Toby, the manager of a high-end spa who has barricaded herself inside; and Ren, a dancer/prostitute who was in the "sticky zone" (a type of sick bay) when the disaster hit. Now, separately, the two have to try to survive in this strange new unpeopled world. Will they ever find each other? And, the bigger question: did anyone else survive?

    I really liked this book; it's not only a great read but very thought-provoking as well. The story is told with flashbacks to Ren and Toby's former lives, which added a lot to the book; it made an interesting contrast to see what things were like before the waterless flood. Toby is tough, smart, and resourceful; and it's always wonderful to see a strong female protaganist (one reason I love Atwood's books). I also thought Atwood did an excellent job of showing how bad things could possibly get on earth in the years to come, without being preachy about it.

    I did have two minor quibbles about the book, which is why I gave it four stars instead of five. The first was the annoyingly cute futuristic names many of the things are given: "Anooyoo", "violet biolet", "SekSmart", "Mo'hairs", "Sea/H/Ear candy", "liobams" (if names will really be this cheesy in the future than the world is indeed in trouble;-)!. Yes, it's a very minor thing, but for some reason it grated on my nerves a bit. The other quibble I can't say without giving away spoilers, but it has to do with some coincidences that happen towards the end of the book. I didn't find these coincidences to be very plausible.

    Minor quibbles non-withstanding, I could barely tear myself away from the pages of this book. I highly recommend it, especially if you like your sci-fi with a mix of great literature.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dissappointed

    I've got to say first, I'm a fan. A huge one. And Oryx and Crake was just awesome... but this, well, it just didn't cut it for me. Maybe it's me. Maybe it's timing. But it felt like a meander down another author's attempt at her writing. It just didn't hold together or share the sense of solid storytelling I've come to expect from this author. Skip it. Get all the others instead. Buy them twice, they are worth it. Not a loser in the bunch. She's allowed this one I guess.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Completely unengaging.

    I literally read this and felt nothing. The characters are flat, the setting pretentious and cliche, and the plot(?) completely uninteresting. I've liked her books in the past, but this one's a dud.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect for any Atwood fan

    An apocalyptic tale drawing from current events--disease, food production, environmental degradation, socioeconomic segregation, corporate controls, religious fanaticism, etc., etc. Thought-provoking. Fast-paced. Hard to put down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining and Engrossing

    I read Oryx and Crake and Year of the Flood back to back. I had really enjoyed Oryx and Crake, and expected Year of the Flood to be a smooth continuation of the first book, but it is not. I was about a fourth of the way through the second book before I realized and accepted, yea, embraced, the fact that Year of the Flood has a style and focus and engaging characters all its own. The two books should be read in order, but the reader must be open-minded when starting the second book, as it approaches the causes and aftermath of the pandemic (waterless flood) in a totally different but equally entertaining way.
    P.S. About half way through, I was thrilled to see a few of our 'friends' from Oryx and Crake cropping up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book

    I can't believe it only has 3 stars! It's been a while since I read Oryx and Crake and I found that was ok because even thought the two books are interwound, you didn't need to remember details from O&C to understand this book. I loved the 2 characters, though Ren at the end coming apart didn't seem true to the character she had been throughout the book. I read this book in 3 days, and enjoyed it. I hope Margaret Atwood comes out with a 3rd installment to this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Read after reading Oryx and Crake

    IT starts off slow but dont give up on it. It picks up and gets more intriguing in the second half. And it finishes where Oryx leave off. If youre afan of dystopia you will like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Still not sure what just happened

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    What the ...?

    This book was ridiculous. I cant believe it got so many good reviews. I had to force myself to finish reading it. It did have a pretty interesting plot and i actually did think the characters were really well developed and really started liking some of them. But, some of it was so boring, i started skipping whole sections ( like adam one's sermons on whichever saint day it was ). It could've been so much better, but just turned out to be weird and a huge let down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    A Cautionary Tale

    This is the tale of a future where science and technology have run amuck. (Ironically, it's also the first book I've read on my Nook.)

    Atwood creates a world that has lost its way and most of its humanity while giving us strong and undaunted characters to root for along the way. Great extrapolation of current issues in ecology, genetics, medicine and more - a story with a message, humor, and even a little hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Apoplectic Apocalypse - Part II!

    Read the the first one first! Then read this one. Then read the third one. And then hope there is a fourth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    Book 2 of the MaddAddam trilogy follows a familiar pattern as th

    Book 2 of the MaddAddam trilogy follows a familiar pattern as the first without becoming repetitive. The year of the Flood takes parallel look at the time up until the pandemic which kills nearly everyone on the planet, but the stories cross paths with those from Oryx and Crake on a couple of occasions allowing you to see familiar tales from a new angle. This book has a bit more suspense than book one and offers a harder look at the stark realities of this cruel world, setting up the story for a great end with book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    authors can turn to the dark side very quickly

    Atwood has some were already there to pad a story with the bizzare grafic sex and violence and present the disfunctional as norm and anti hero as more ibteresting it is sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Not for IPads!!!  I'm sure the book is great but the nook versio

    Not for IPads!!!  I'm sure the book is great but the nook version is unreadable on an iPad - the text overlaps and is distorted on every other page. Don't buy the nook book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Help!!!!!

    What is the name of the third book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    B & N: Please fix missing page btwn p 170 - 171.

    Missing page btwn p. 170-171.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    my favorite atwood novel yet

    Very engaging and with two complex dfemale characters that inspire interest and empathy which has been rare in cmparison to other margaret atwood novels. While about 50 pages too long, i highly reccommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Fantastic follow up

    I thought this novel did an excellent job following up oryx and crake while being entertaining on its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Very much a 2nd in a trilogy

    Builds on themes from Oryx and Crake but not as dramatic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Highly recommended!

    Dear Ms. Atwood - surely there must be one more book in this 'trilogy'! I read Year of the Flood first, then Oryx and Crake - OMG! Please, please, just a little more! I must read them both again, and soon! Yet, surely there must be more! You are the best - many thanks!
    DebraE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 246 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13