Customer Reviews for

A Year on Ladybug Farm

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What a lovely, warm-hearted book!

What a lovely, warm-hearted book! A Year on Ladybug Farm tells the story of three friends who, together, buy a dilapidated estate in Shenandoah Valley. At first they have grandiose dreams of an art school, a winery, and a fully restored mansion with dairy and stately ga...
What a lovely, warm-hearted book! A Year on Ladybug Farm tells the story of three friends who, together, buy a dilapidated estate in Shenandoah Valley. At first they have grandiose dreams of an art school, a winery, and a fully restored mansion with dairy and stately gardens. But the house has other plans for them. They discover an unruly flock of sheep in their beautiful pasture, a mysterious ghost seems to be leaving them hints, and the vegetable plants keep disappearing from the garden. Each succes is followed by disaster until they wonder if they are cut out for the country life afterall.

I loved this book! Its realistically written with the three women loving and supporting each other, but sometimes losing their tempers and stepping on toes. Cici, Lindsay, and Bridget risk everything to go after their dreams, never giving up, until they discover that their dreams may be different then they thought. I appreciate the message that you can grow and learn (and have adventure!) no matter what your age! Did I mention that the book is funny? Laugh-out-loud, absolutely hilarious in parts, you may also have to wipe away a tear or two. If you are looking for a book to lift your spirits, this is it!

posted by Frisbeesage on March 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not the Best

This is the kind of book you read when you really have nothing better on your shelf.

posted by LadyHester on September 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    What a lovely, warm-hearted book!

    What a lovely, warm-hearted book! A Year on Ladybug Farm tells the story of three friends who, together, buy a dilapidated estate in Shenandoah Valley. At first they have grandiose dreams of an art school, a winery, and a fully restored mansion with dairy and stately gardens. But the house has other plans for them. They discover an unruly flock of sheep in their beautiful pasture, a mysterious ghost seems to be leaving them hints, and the vegetable plants keep disappearing from the garden. Each succes is followed by disaster until they wonder if they are cut out for the country life afterall.

    I loved this book! Its realistically written with the three women loving and supporting each other, but sometimes losing their tempers and stepping on toes. Cici, Lindsay, and Bridget risk everything to go after their dreams, never giving up, until they discover that their dreams may be different then they thought. I appreciate the message that you can grow and learn (and have adventure!) no matter what your age! Did I mention that the book is funny? Laugh-out-loud, absolutely hilarious in parts, you may also have to wipe away a tear or two. If you are looking for a book to lift your spirits, this is it!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!!

    A story about three women that because of their circumstances band together and act on their dreams. Through thick and thin they discover a new life and a new way of living. Something they could have never dreamed of.

    This book made me believe that all my dreams could come true. It takes alot of work, some determination and a little money doesn't hurt either. I'm looking forward to reading more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging tale of three best buddies

    Though widows Cici Burke, Lindsay Wright, and Bridget Tyndale have each other while living a gentle middle class suburban lifestyle, each feels their lives are unfilled now that their kids have moved out and their husbands are gone. The trio decides they need something different so they buy a rundown mansion in rustic Shenandoah Valley with plans to renovate and grandiose dreams centered on an art school and a winery with lush gardens. They are greeted on their dilapidated newly purchased estate by a zillion lady bugs, liberated livestock and hints of a comedic ghost -----------

    The amigas move to their new home dubbed the Ladybug Farm shocking their adult offspring with the decision. However, fixing up the house and estate proves daunting as nothing goes right. Over time each begins to have doubts about their decision to uproot their lives from comfort to disaster, but the trio sticks it out through thick and thin as they begin to learn how to live life again as empty nesters.--------------

    This is an engaging tale of three best buddies who elected seven presidents and got involved in numerous causes coming together after the last spouse dies to find a new personalized mission now that the adult children are spread around the country. Their efforts make Murphy comparatively speaking into an optimist as nothing goes right yet everything goes right as long as friends are there for one another. Readers will enjoy the three musketeer-ettes as they provide humor, pathos, and logic to one calamity after another.-----------

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    I am so loving this series!! I have lent the books out to friend

    I am so loving this series!! I have lent the books out to friends that can't get enough of these wonderful characters!! Please bring out more on them please Ms.Ball!! Sending love from near the Blue Ridge in Virginia!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    I loved everything about this book - a favorite!

    I absolutely loved the Hummingbird House (10/13) which was a spin-off to the Ladybug Farm series. After reading it, I could not wait to purchase and start reading the Ladybug Farm series which features the three woman who purchased the historic home. I loved it! Wow, what a book and great friendships.

    This book was definitely my kind of book! (a 5-star +++)--loved everything about it. Donna Ball has just made my favorite author list and looking forward to reading the other books in the series. Wow, if you love Karen White, Beth Hoffman, Mary Ellen Taylor, Mary Kay Andrews, and Wendy Wax, you can relate to this wonderfully written novel.

    I feel as though the author must be a kindred spirit, as she does not miss a thing and this book fits my personality in so many ways. Everything I love is covered throughout the book. The author’s imagination, creativity, and flair for renovation, style, design, cuisine, entertaining, gardening, animals, and love of historic homes shines throughout the book. And wow, you have to love the friendship between these three women and their two gay guy friends (which are featured in Hummingbird House).

    From the renovation project, the cooking, to the Christmas design – I could envision celebrating this snowy Christmas in this lovely and warm home. I would love to have been a part of the decorating and preparation. I savored each page of the book and hated for it to end; however, have already purchased “At Home on Ladybug Farm” #2 in series --starting the e-book tonight! If it is anything like the last two I have read, I will not be able to put down.

    I highly recommend this series and this author. Makes you want to spend the entire weekend curled up with this book with no interruptions! One of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A Year On Ladybug Farm

    Relaxing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    GREAT SERIES

    I Loved this book series. It really takes you in to the farm and what the ladies are capable of doing. A MUST Read!,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Great Book!

    very enjoyable and an easy read I think this is a perfect beach book summer reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Loved the Book!

    I really wanted to be a part of the lives of these women...wish there was more to read about them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2