Customer Reviews for

Yearling

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The way things have to be

Raising wild animals is quite a responsibility, especially if you live on a farm. For Jody, this is double since this deer he is raising is also a problem to the crops. What happens next must happen for the benefit of the farm although it's very sad. A very realistic...
Raising wild animals is quite a responsibility, especially if you live on a farm. For Jody, this is double since this deer he is raising is also a problem to the crops. What happens next must happen for the benefit of the farm although it's very sad. A very realistic book.

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What?

Seriously! This is only half the book!

posted by I_m_a_m_a_z_i_n_g_ on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    From the very beginning I had my doubts about this book, hearing that it was similiar to Old Yeller and Where the Red Fern Grows, books that I didn't enjoy. Well, my doubts have been confirmed. The yearling is pretty much the same book but with a different animal starring in the lead role. The characters, the ideas, the background, are all pretty much the same in these touching tales tales of young people struggling to grow up and seeking comfort in a friend found in the shape of a deer or a dog. I could have handled this case of reading deja vu if I enjoyed these type of books to begin with. I am a 15 year old girl pretty much beyond my coming of age. I found most of Jody's most difficult struggles naive and dumb, already knowing what I would have done in his situation. This being 2007 a lot of ideas in the yearling are very old fasioned and don't really grab the attention of the students of our generations. From the groans and mumbles of the other students in our class everytime we pull out The Yearling I'm confident in saying that they share my opinion of this book being behind our age group and generation. I think that the gender factor also applies. A boy might be more interested in this book than I was because they might be able to relate better to the main character Jody. The Yearling is a classic and a pretty good example of American literature and displays some valuable lessons that all young people on their way to adulthood should learn. Conclusivly I do not reccommend this book for girls and some others of my age group because I don't think they will enjoy it. If you are an 11 year old boy great. Enjoy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    Yearling

    In my opinion, The Yearling was boring and hard to focus on. The plot drags on slowly, most of the book is about things that have nothing to do with the story, like how Jody's mom cooks food. Also, the dialogue didn't appeal to me. I guess the story is well written for its time frame, but for some reason our 9th grade english teacher assigned this book and expected us to be excited about reading it. The Yearling would be a better book for younger kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Yearling

    I'm a 9th grader form Alaska and tthis is what i though of the book I thought that the yearling was a good book, but it was hard to get into at the very beginning. In the beginning of the book, it just tells of the boy¿s (Jody) life and what he has to do growing up on a farm. He likes the creatures of the scrub and he cares about them a lot but that is the most boring part of the whole book. After a while, the book picks up and gets increasingly interesting, then it dulls back down to completely boring. The book doesn¿t really talk about the fawn much in the very beginning its more about a boy and the lessons that he has to learn. It captures you for about 200 pages or so then slows down again. In my opinion, the book should have had a little bit more of the fawn and less of the boy. The yearling has some parts that suck you in and it has some parts that put you too sleep so if you like getting excited and then falling asleep this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    Yearling

    i'm a 9th grader from Alaska and this is what i thought of the book I thought that the yearling was a good book, but it was hard to get into at the very beginning. In the beginning of the book, it just tells of the boy¿s (Jody) life and what he has to do growing up on a farm. He likes the creatures of the scrub and he cares about them a lot but that is the most boring part of the whole book. After a while, the book picks up and gets increasingly interesting, then it dulls back down to completely boring. The book doesn¿t really talk about the fawn much in the very beginning its more about a boy and the lessons that he has to learn. It captures you for about 200 pages or so then slows down again. In my opinion, the book should have had a little bit more of the fawn and less of the boy. The yearling has some parts that suck you in and it has some parts that put you too sleep so if you like getting excited and then falling asleep this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    the yearling

    it was sometimes exciting but-also boring. Ages 11-14. This is also a good book for school teachers to read out loud to students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    Who cares

    This book is for a early 1900's audience and I wouldn't even like it back then. The whole book was on two families that had problems in the woods. LOL! Come on, who cares about that. The -only- reason that it got 2 stars is that it was well written. That means a boring book. Get to the point!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1