Customer Reviews for

Yearling

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The way things have to be

Raising wild animals is quite a responsibility, especially if you live on a farm. For Jody, this is double since this deer he is raising is also a problem to the crops. What happens next must happen for the benefit of the farm although it's very sad. A very realistic...
Raising wild animals is quite a responsibility, especially if you live on a farm. For Jody, this is double since this deer he is raising is also a problem to the crops. What happens next must happen for the benefit of the farm although it's very sad. A very realistic book.

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What?

Seriously! This is only half the book!

posted by I_m_a_m_a_z_i_n_g_ on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    The way things have to be

    Raising wild animals is quite a responsibility, especially if you live on a farm. For Jody, this is double since this deer he is raising is also a problem to the crops. What happens next must happen for the benefit of the farm although it's very sad. A very realistic book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    Yearling

    This is an outstanding book and it is filled with struggle and conflict. I guarantee you, once you open this book it will be hard to close.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    I had to read this book for school, it was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Wow

    Sad D.T.M

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    very nice book!

    nice book! I personally, think this book was the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    This is an outstanding book!

    The Yearling is a good book filled with struggle and conflict. If you havent read this great work of literature, I can only tell you that once you start reading it, you will have a great difficulty in closing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    The Yearling is the best book i have ever read

    After reading THE YEARLING I discovered more about the techniques that faulous authors use to grab a reader's attention. Writers use techniques such as vivid language, chapter breaks, and third person omniscient. Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings' THE YEARLING is a very well written and interesting novel with an extremly vivid setting and appealing characters, a well developed plot, and connections that any reader can comprehend. This book is about a young boy who lives an interesting life with his parents. Once you have read THE YEARLING, you will have no doubt in your mind why it has inspired American literature for half a century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    read it NOW!!!!!

    This book was the most exciting book I have read since the last Harry Potter book came out. In the beginning I found it a little boring but as I went on it got more and more intriguing. Then at the end I was crying my eyes out. The cunning story tells a tale of a boy, Jody, who falls in love with a fawn, Flag, whom he rescues from his dead mother. He fights with his mother to keep the young fawn and watches as the young deer turns into a yearling. He succeeds with the fight with his mother until Flag eats the crop of corn. With all the obstacles he encounters on the way he finds that love triumphs in the end. Even though loving Flag almost costs his life when he runs away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    read it NOW!

    This book was the most exciting book I have read since Harry Potter came out. In the beginning I thought it was boring, but as I read on it got more and more intriguing. The cunning story tells a tale of a boy, Jody, who falls in love in love with a fawn, Flag, whose mother, who unfortunately, was killed. Jody fights with his mother to keep flag. He wins this fight until Flag devours the whole crop of corn. Then Jody¿s mother has had it. The love that Jody has for Flag nearly costs his life when he has to shoot Flag and runs away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    a 10th grader

    This is one of the books on a list I have to read before I get out of high school and even though I thought it was more of a 4th 5th grader book I really liked it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    AWESOME...

    I only ment to read a few pages to see if I'd like it, but I got hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    Fabulous

    I loved this book. I thought that in this book Samantha showed true courage and Friendship. I was sad when Johnny got bit by the shark!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    GREAT

    it was a very good book, ive been reading it in school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2001

    It was GREAT!

    This book, at the beginning, was very boring. I was assingned to read it for a summer assignment. I dove into it, thinking that i just wanted to get it over with, but it started to get more intruiging as i read on. Some parts shocked me so much, that i had to keep reading to see what else would happen. I would recomemend this for anyone from the ages of 10 to 100 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    My review of Marjorie Kinnian Rawlings's 'The Yearling'

    I know that Mrs. Rawlings's story is a wonderful one that expresses many feelings that create an overall theme of realism. I am a 14 year-old girl growing up in busy Chicago. Even though I do not live in Florida in 1858 and I'm not a boy- does not mean this story is not incredibly enjoyable for me. It imitates life, the art of this story, this creation. The charecters are so real in your mind, the varriety of emotions this work expresess through it's carefully planned story line is amazing. No one younger than 13 should ever read this book, because, naturally, they would not understand the meaning and appreciate it's message as much as someone on the verge of maturing or who has just experienced it. I can relate and so can anyone else my age to the story of a boy who is enduring the hardships of growing up and learing how to fit the standards and what adults expect of you. Someone might not like the death of Jody's pet, but that's what getting older inside and out is, learing how to deal with loss. And that adds to the learning experience of the reader. Look past the fact that something or soemone died, face tradgedy with a high chin and face happiness with a grin :-).It's not always enjoyable to read of the truth, which is: Life isn't always the happiest all of the time. It is always a learning experience so if you, never let it happen or hurt you as bad so if you get hurt, you can grow from everything that happens to you, good and bad. And this, is exactly what 'The Yearling' says to young people like me, no matter that we don't live in the year 1858. The morrals are the same and always will be. Thanks for reading this. And below I have listed some other books for teenagers growing up that I have read and have teached me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    First Book that Made Me Cry.

    I am a male. I do not cry easily and never have cried easily. I started reading The Yearling in 7th or 8th grade only because I had to as a class assignment, but as I progressed, I 'got into it.' Mid way through the story, I was consumed. At the end, I cried like a baby-- first time that ever happened from reading a book. As an adult reader and an English minor in college, I understood the symbolism of the story-- that the yearling was really the boy and not the deer. The Yearling is easily the greatest American coming-of-age story ever written. The book begins with a boy and his hand made toy beside a brook. Over the course of one year, the boy becomes a man, but in the end he does not forget the innocent joy of childhood. Great book!! Should be given to all young readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    A fulfilling Classic of American literature.

    The Yearling, is an wonderfully told story, with much lying beneath its surface. To myself personally and to others, The Yearling draws a sensation and an experience which will never be forgotten. It's coming of age lesson, is in all essence written beautifully if not bluntly in the story's main character Jody. Jody, brings much life to the story and the well detailed narration of the scenery of the wood in which he lives. Jody alone crops up the feelings and emotions of the reader. And the author has a true gift at arousing these feelings, whenever intended. And as she does this, under the caked layers of harships for the Baxter family, she shows the love and friendship of a boy and his newfound friend; Flag. And so to the true and loyal readers, this book will be a true delight in literature and in everday lessons of the coming of age theme in which draws itself through the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Great kids book

    I read this in primary school, and still remeber how vividly the writer made you part of the story, and how worried I was about the young deer. Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2