BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Yearling

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great read!

The book I chose to read is The Yearling. The three main reasons I picked this American classic is because I had herd from multiple people that it is a good book and that I should read it, secondly I have seen the movie and wanted to see the differences between the book...
The book I chose to read is The Yearling. The three main reasons I picked this American classic is because I had herd from multiple people that it is a good book and that I should read it, secondly I have seen the movie and wanted to see the differences between the book and the movie and last but certainly not least I had just finished reading Robinson Crusoe which I really enjoyed, so I decided to try and read more classical books. The yearling may be very different from Robinson Crusoe but it is still a very good book. The yearling is very similar to Rascal and Where the Red Fern Grows. All three are written around the same time period and involve a boy and his pet. All of these books are written differently then today's standard and in a way that the authors tries to capture how the people spoke in that era. It makes the text difficult to read and slightly confusing but once you get into it the book it will make more sense and have a better flow. If you don't like books that use improper grammar then don't read this book, but if you can get past that dislike this is a wonderful book worth a read and maybe even a re-read. The yearling is just like a time capsule because it captures almost exactly how life was back in the 1870s. It takes place in the Florida wilderness with the Bears the panthers and all of the other trials that people face there. I had hard time putting this book down it was very rarely slow; there was always some adventure that Jody, (the main character) and his father, Penny, or his fawn, Flag, would explore. You want this book to continue in the way that Jody fantasizes his life will turn out to be with his little fawn but that ending unfortunately never comes. This book may look long but its good so that makes it short, the whole book is great but then you get to the ending and the book dies (in my opinion). It has a very similar ending to Rascal. The book to me just ends wrong he was supposed to go off and live with flag for the rest of the little deer's life but that doesn't happen. Overall the ending just doesn't fit with the rest of the novel. This book is great because it was written to capture, life of people in the Florida wilderness in the 1870s.The Yearling has a meaning that will live on until the end of time, which to me is what makes this book a classic. It captures one thing that every young man or woman has to do and that is to grow up and realize the world isn't just a big playground; it's a rock and a hard place. You just have to do your best to make it through. I think this is a great book that everyone needs to read. I strongly recommend it to anyone who can take a sad and influential ending, if not you probably shouldn't read it. I do not think the book is a good read for younger People. I would say ages thirteen and up. The yearling By Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. Great

posted by Bret75 on November 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book was very sad.

This book was sad because you learn to love the fawn then something happens to it, and it is very sad.

posted by 4168448 on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    Great read!

    The book I chose to read is The Yearling. The three main reasons I picked this American classic is because I had herd from multiple people that it is a good book and that I should read it, secondly I have seen the movie and wanted to see the differences between the book and the movie and last but certainly not least I had just finished reading Robinson Crusoe which I really enjoyed, so I decided to try and read more classical books. The yearling may be very different from Robinson Crusoe but it is still a very good book. The yearling is very similar to Rascal and Where the Red Fern Grows. All three are written around the same time period and involve a boy and his pet. All of these books are written differently then today's standard and in a way that the authors tries to capture how the people spoke in that era. It makes the text difficult to read and slightly confusing but once you get into it the book it will make more sense and have a better flow. If you don't like books that use improper grammar then don't read this book, but if you can get past that dislike this is a wonderful book worth a read and maybe even a re-read. The yearling is just like a time capsule because it captures almost exactly how life was back in the 1870s. It takes place in the Florida wilderness with the Bears the panthers and all of the other trials that people face there. I had hard time putting this book down it was very rarely slow; there was always some adventure that Jody, (the main character) and his father, Penny, or his fawn, Flag, would explore. You want this book to continue in the way that Jody fantasizes his life will turn out to be with his little fawn but that ending unfortunately never comes. This book may look long but its good so that makes it short, the whole book is great but then you get to the ending and the book dies (in my opinion). It has a very similar ending to Rascal. The book to me just ends wrong he was supposed to go off and live with flag for the rest of the little deer's life but that doesn't happen. Overall the ending just doesn't fit with the rest of the novel. This book is great because it was written to capture, life of people in the Florida wilderness in the 1870s.The Yearling has a meaning that will live on until the end of time, which to me is what makes this book a classic. It captures one thing that every young man or woman has to do and that is to grow up and realize the world isn't just a big playground; it's a rock and a hard place. You just have to do your best to make it through. I think this is a great book that everyone needs to read. I strongly recommend it to anyone who can take a sad and influential ending, if not you probably shouldn't read it. I do not think the book is a good read for younger People. I would say ages thirteen and up. The yearling By Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings. Great

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    The Yearling, by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings is an excellent book filled with imagery and description. The author's vivid details make the book come alive, and the story is depicted with almost journal-like detail. The book is set in the backwoods of Florida during the 1870's, where life is an ongoing struggle for its inhabitants; and overflowing with adventure, danger, loss, loneliness, and courage. The experiences and obstacles that the main character, Jody Baxter, faces with his adopted fawn are touching and moving. People that appreciate the outdoors and nature will especially enjoy this book. The author's imagery paints beautiful pictures of the characters' natural surroundings and much of the book is spent in nature. The Yearling is an excellent book and I highly recommend reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    One my lifetime favorites

    I recently re-read this book after many years, having first read it when I was only ten years old. So moved by this story, even at that age, I knew that I was destined to become a writer myself. Set in the Florida backcountry during the Post Civil War years, it is essentially a coming of age story about a twelve year old boy whose family is struggling daily just to survive. The difficulty in tending their meager crops and few livestock against harsh weather and predacious bears seems alien in our world today, yet was very real not so long ago. For me, it is the wonderfully descriptive prose that captured my soul. Every smell, the warmth of the sun, the sound of pattering rain, even the thrill of the hunt are written in such vivid colorful imagery that one feels drawn into these pages. As so with Jody's loneliness and isolation. His only friend is Fodderwing, a crippled boy who lives miles away, and his only pet is the family dog, who is loyal to no one but Jody's father, yet is too old to romp like a pup anyway. With the fawn coming into his life, he has a changed perspective. Jody is a little boy with a new friend and something to be responsible for, but most of all, something to call his own. Unfortunately, and as in most cases, trying to tame a wild animal ends up in tragedy, and twice in this story the reader faces along with Jody, the inescapable heartbreak that comes from having lost someone or something near and dear. The final result is that we witness his transformation to manhood. Miss Rawlings must also be commended for the way her characters are developed. Simple yet thorough, by the time she's finished with each, it is as if you have known that person your entire life. Probably for me, what drew such a strong connection to this book was the fact that I could find many parallels to the difficult life of my own maternal grandparents. Although they lived in the forest and prairie of Central Illinois, their speech was similar, and they endured much of the same hardships. Fortunately, because of their grown children and a successful, adult grandchild, most of that was behind them by the time I came along. Still, I understood what they had gone through to raise three kids on a small plot of ground miles from town, with no running water or electricity. Like Jody in this story, his boyish behavior of running off to the woods all day to play and explore was much like how I remember my time visiting the grandparent's farm. The same with my brothers and cousins. I suppose this is considered a children's book, but I recommend it for everyone. Take the time to enjoy this wonderful story. I promise that you will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    A Must Read!

    I read this book as a child (I'm in my 60s now) and enjoyed it then. I always termed it my favorite all time book and decided to reread it this summer. It had even more meaning to me now and has certainly remained my favorite book...a must read classic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    flag.

    What happens to flag ;(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Reading rebal

    Cool

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    This book was very sad.

    This book was sad because you learn to love the fawn then something happens to it, and it is very sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    The Yearling

    If you liked Shiloh or Hoot, then The Yearling is the book for you. It¿s about a young boy living with his mom and dad in the backwaters of Florida a few years after the civil war. The family encounters bears, `coons, snakes and even panthers. The closest neighbors are over 2 miles away. Even though they live on a farm, Jody has always wanted a pet of his own. After a fawn is left motherless, Jody takes it in to help it survive. He learns friendship and finds courage to do what he has to do to survive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    the yearling

    I was amazed at how many literary devices were put into this wonderful tale about a boy and his fawn. This glorious book has opened my eyes on the love and compation between a boy and his own fawn. This wonderful novel will go by very fast and you will feel like you are right in the story. I highly recomend this book to all who enjoy nature and animals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Linz

    !!! I think you are awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    To Molly

    I think you are awesomer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! P.S. sorry that i didnt responed last night. How about 2:30 today?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Hhh

    I am just know reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Awesomeness!

    AWESOMENESS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Touching

    So sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    U

    G

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Awesome book!

    I wouldnt read the first comment. Sh gives the ending away. I read the full version and enjoyed it very much. It was a really sweet story with humour too. I personally like the southern way of talking. Its interesting. But if u find it had to read that tgen dont read this book. Hop u enjoy it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Yearling is a timeless classic

    A wonderful read and re-read. The wilderness, the people and of course the yearling are all unforgetable. Even if you have seen the movie, read, llisten to or re-read the Yearling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    a reviewer

    i thought the book was extremely boring, and he didn't even get his pet deer till around page 300. i honestly thought this book had no plot and it would start going off on some other subject that had nothing to do with the book. in other words i did not like this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    this is an okay book

    This is an okay story. It is kind of hard to get through, because it is so long. It was boring in places. The end was sad because it was REALLY sad when Flag died. I hate old Slewfoot, the bear in the book. Poor Fodder-Wing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    A Book Bug, who loves animal stories and anything else!

    This book was a little tough in the beginning but as soon as I read more its was very good. I love animal books alot and if you are a challenged reader and like animal stories I would recommend this book to you. It tells very detailed things in the book whenever jody and his father penny are doing something it makes you feel like you were right there with them. Who ever takes my advice it is a wise choice. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2